We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy tale place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guesthouse Gosausee
Ranked #2 of 28 Gosau B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When you see the picture from the internet site, you might ask yourself - is it real? YES it is real! Fantastic place to spend the vacation. Hiking, trekking, walking, landscaping... the location is giving you lots of opportunities to move around. Food is very good. Staff is nice and hospitable. Sleeping conditions - incredible quiet.

Room Tip: balcony to the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Călin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 30 of 51 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

The hotel is located on the roadend from Gosau on the very shore of Lake Gosau. The view over Dahshtein mountains is scenic and beautiful. There`s snow on the mountain top even in summer, despite of their altitude is a bit more than 3000m. Altitude of the hotel and Lake Gosau is about 900m.

Very nice place, with the excellent value for money and where you can take a rest only during one weekand. Rooms are quite normal, I ranked it with 2 european stars. Better, but more expensive rooms have a balcony and a view over the lake.

Staff is friendy, breakfast is good, but food in a restaurant for lunch and dinner is much better! I liked some dishes so much, that ate only them.

But I do not recommend to visit it in winter, as I could notice, main places to skiing are worth accessible from the ropeway starting near this hotel. Probably, it`s better to stay somewhere lower. But in summer it`s the best choice.

Room Tip: Rooms with a balcony are more expensive, but have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boris_agafontsev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I have brought many guests to Gasthof Gosausee and recommended it to many more--probably more than 40 of their guests were a direct result of me taking them there or suggesting they go on their own during the past three years. While the hotel itself is far from fancy (it could use some updating and decorating advice, better beds and towels) I have encouraged others to go simply because it is in a fantastic location and on a clear day the hotel's view of the lake and Dachstein glacier is surely one of the world's best views. Further, on a clear night the stars over the lake can be phenomenal.

However, on my latest visit I reserved and received a written confirmation that I would have two rooms overlooking the lake. When I arrived my reservation and request was acknowledged but I was told I could not have a room with a lake view (my whole reason for staying there). Instead, without any apology or explanation, I was told we could have one room overlooking the lake but not the other. They said they had only had one room available for me and when I went to it, the room had not been cleaned and the beds were unmade. I was then given another room facing the parking lot. It is extremely disappointing that the hotel staff failed to honor my reservation and their written confirmation. It was a very unprofessional thing to do and to offer no apology or explanation or a discount or free drink or help with my luggage--or something--is just rude. I don't expect any special treatment but when a hotel makes a mistake I do expect the courtesy of an apology or explanation at the very least. Sadly, in the future I'll probably stay in Hallstatt and just make a day trip to Gosausee and will tell my friends to be aware that when they make a reservation at Gasthof Gosausee it may or may not be honored.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank hamishvienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosausee, Leiter Front Office at Guesthouse Gosausee, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2016

Dear hamishvienna,

thank you very much for taking the time in order to rate our guesthouse. It is a long time ago that you wrote this message, but we want to take the chance to answer you appropriately.

I am not sure what really happened to your reservation, because at that time, I was not working with Gasthof Gosausee and the person who did your reservation is no longer in our company. However I really want to apologise for the fact that there was obviously a problem with the reservation.

In the last 4 years that I am now working for this company we have invested a lot of time and energy in order to make our guests stay here memorable and exciting - we have renovated many of our rooms and introduced some changes in our menu. We now have our menu in English, French, Italian, Czech and Hungarian language. Additionally we introduced a menu with pictures so that our guests can imagine how our dishes look like.

We would be very happy to welcoming you again to Gasthof Gosausee in order to show you that we have improved a lot of things.

All the best,

Katharina for the Vierthaler family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Sebastian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosausee, Manager at Guesthouse Gosausee, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cspengler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Blick auf den Gosausee
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808sonnenblume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Nicht Nr. 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christianmolderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gosau hotels
3.9 mi away
Landhaus Koller
Landhaus Koller
#2 of 6 in Gosau
140 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Sommerhof
Hotel Sommerhof
#4 of 6 in Gosau
6 reviews
3.8 mi away
Brandwirt Gasthof
Brandwirt Gasthof
#3 of 6 in Gosau
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Vitalhotel Gosau
Vitalhotel Gosau
#5 of 6 in Gosau
60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Elfi Pension
Elfi Pension
#4 of 28 in Gosau
11 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anni's Hotel-Restaurant Gosauerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guesthouse Gosausee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Gosausee

Address: Gosau 395 | 4824 Gosau, Gosau 4825, Austria
Location: Austria > Upper Austria > Gosau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Gosau
Price Range: $107 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend your holiday in one of the world's most beautiful mountain area in the Alps in "Salzkammergut"!Our inn is situated at the base of the „Dachstein“ mountain directly at the lake „Gosausee“ and has been managed for decades by our family. Our commitment is always to offer our guests a pleasant and relaxing stay at attractive prices.The unique location with a view to the spectacular scenery is perfect for nature lovers to relax and escape the daily stress.Whether summer or winter holiday, our inn is the perfect base for activities like scuba diving, hiking, skiing and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Guesthouse Gosausee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing