We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely done, attention to guests”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Helvetia Hotel Residence
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morgins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My wife enjoyed our 4 night stay; quality appointments, nice sized bedrooms with good lighting; attention to detail; very hospitable and present owners. Place had a positive, warm vibe, and loved the fresh smell of wood. Sensibly laid out, even with an honesty bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TiminNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 83 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

I have never before left a review on Trip Advisor but wanted to make a conscious effort to do so this time. This hotel has an enormous amount of attention to detail and therefore ticked all the boxes for myself and my husband who sadly only stayed here for one night. The staff were all lovely and Jane, in particular was so helpful and friendly........the perfect host!

This hotel is spotlessly clean and has a contemporary look and feel to it that offers great breakfast, a beautiful spa together with comfortable, spacious and modern rooms.

A perfect choice and one that I wouldn't hesitate in recommending!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J-JRich26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Modern, stylish and roomy. Everything worked perfectly. Lovely simple breakfasts. Perfectly relaxing spa. Everything just perfect and Jane a wonderful host.
Fully recommend :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelqueen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

My husband and I, along with 6 other members of our ski group, stayed at the Helvetia for a week in late February, 2012. I had already had friendly e-mail exchanges with Jane Donnet, the owner, and we were all delighted to meet her and her husband, Martial, a former champion ski racer. The hotel is very new and stylish, built with lots of quality materials: wood, stone and glass. The rooms are exceptionally spacious and the beds are wonderfully comfortable. We loved the elegant bathroom with radiant heating in the floor and a huge walk-in shower. Americans, take note that while the towels are large and fluffy, no washcloths are provided, and there is the typical European all-in-one soap/shampoo dispenser rather than individual amenities.
We all enjoyed the breakfast, which, as noted by others, doesn't vary, but it provided everything we needed in the bright, airy dining room. The Helvetia does not offer dinner, but they put on a Raclette evening midweek, which was especially delicious, being made with good local cheese and served up by Martial with panache. We found good food choices in the village restaurants just a few minutes' walk up the street.
We ourselves did not use the spa, but many guests seemed happy with the jacuzzi and sauna.
The hotel is family-friendly and there were many children in residence during our week. As "older" travelers, we often find too many kids an irritation, but this bunch was quite well-mannered and even entertaining and we enjoyed conversations with them and their parents at breakfast. There is a small, cozy bar/sitting area where our little group liked to congregate before going out to dinner.
We liked the free WiFi and the large choice of TV channels. However, we all agreed that a few changes would make this very attractive, but "minimalist" hotel more comfortable. First of all, there is little storage space, just one smallish wardrobe, half hanging space, half shelves. No drawers are provided, just a small desk surface holding the TV, with a single straight chair. Our suitcases had to sit inelegantly on the floor: why not provide luggage racks, or better yet, a built in wooden shelf to hold them and to coordinate with the decor? We all longed for a pair of comfy chairs and small table for relaxing at the end of a busy day; there is certainly plenty of space for this addition.
The ski room, while providing boot heaters, is cramped and poorly designed for more than 2 people at a time.
But these are minor quibbles as we really enjoyed the elegant yet welcoming atmosphere of a beautiful, attentively-run hotel in a fine location.
The ski bus stops outside the door but it is also not far to walk to the first lift. We ranged over a lot of the Portes du Soleil area and found plenty of excellent skiing in both Switzerland and France. We liked having access to this vast area without long lines or crowds. The village is small and quaint and has 2 supermarkets, one of them especially well stocked. All in all, a village and a hotel that I can recommend highly.

Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Marj W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

My parents, husband and I recently returned from a 5-night stay at the Helvetia and would thoroughly recommend it as a base to explore the Portes du Soleil.

Every member of staff (including Jane, the English owner of the Helvetia) made the hotel feel like a home-away-from-home. Unlike many ski chalets, the hotel is contemporary, spacious and was kept spotlessly clean during our stay. The rooms are minimal (no safe or telephone) but are equipped with the essentials such as a hairdryer and TV (with BBC One). There's also free WIFI throughout the hotel - another major plus-point. We weren't aware beforehand that the Helvetia doesn't have a restaurant (but we had some really great evening meals at nearby La Reine Des Alpes). The breakfast buffet was nice, if a bit limited - after almost a week we were a little tired of the same food.

The spa area (with spa, sauna and steam room) is spot-on - very relaxing after a hard day on the slopes.

Morgins itself is a quaint little village with only a handful of shops... we drove the 5 miles or so to Chatel when looking for souvenirs. However, the Morgins chair lift (linking to the main skiable area) is very convenient - only 5 mins walk from the Helvetia and rarely busy.

All-in-all, a great stay... and I would definitely return to the Helvetia.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

We stayed one night at the Helvetia Hotel for a ski week end and were very pleased to find a very beautiful and brand new chalet, decorated with style. Very nice room and great bed. Nice friendly and helpful staff. Nice spa (although the jacuzzi's temperature is not warm enough to our taste). There is no room service nor restaurant, but tea and coffee warmpots are available and the breakfast self service is beyond reproach. Walking distance from the ski lift. We would recommend this place with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calutawir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Open, welcoming, and spacious. We felt comfortable from the moment we walked in the front door. We were shown to our room by the front desk clerk. The room was very spacious, almost too spacious, until we were putting on ski clothes in the morning and realized that we needed every inch with all of our gear! We loved the bathroom design, and even took pictures to remind ourselves for a future remodel in our own home. The town was lovely and quaint. The hotel staff offered suggestions for dinner every night, and made reservations for us. The location is perfect. It was five minutes walk to the ski lift, and we had access to all of Portes du Soleil ski area. A 15 minute drive had us in France at Châtel, a bigger town across the border with access to the same ski area (we preferred quiet Morgins, though). The "hot" tub was a "warm" tub, but we used it anyway, as well as the sauna and steam rooms. I can't comment on the fitness area, or whether they even had one. The breakfast was standard continental breakfast. I can't fault the Helvetia for anything, it was one of the best ski trips I've taken.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1roaming-gnomette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Morgins
4.1 mi away
Hotel National Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Chez Jan
Chez Jan
#2 of 4 in Morgins
35 reviews
2 mi away
hotel La Bergerie
hotel La Bergerie
#17 of 18 in Chatel
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant Fleur de Neige
4.2 mi away
Hotel Suisse
Hotel Suisse
#6 of 9 in Champery
52 reviews
4.3 mi away
Art.Boutique.Hotel Beau-Sejour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Helvetia Hotel Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Helvetia Hotel Residence

Address: route de Bas-Vieze 13, Morgins 1875, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Portes du Soleil > Morgins
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Morgins
Price Range: $150 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Helvetia Hotel Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Helvetia Hotel Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing