We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Shores Airport Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nirvana By The Sea(Coolangatta)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Plaza Resort(Coolangatta)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
35
26
15
7
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
35
26
15
7
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorth kirrasurf clubcatch an early flightbudget pricethe gold coastfree wifiroom was cleansuited our needsoff street parkingnext morningone night stayrecommend staying heresnapper rockswould definitely stay here againacross the roadshort drivebus stop
Filter
Updating list...
78 - 83 of 93 reviews
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Location was great for a early morning flight, no air con in room, close to cafes and surf clubs for dinner, close to beach for an afternoon stroll/swim. Front light out front of room kept us awake and bed was not the comfiest! Overall the location was the only good thing about the room!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiling_travellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itzahh, Owner at Golden Shores Airport Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

All rooms now have air conditioning and we have added mattress toppers as well to improve the comfort to the bedding. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Booked this motel for an overnight stay to catch an early flight the next morning.we requested a downstairs room at the time of booking(october) upon arrival found that we had been allocated an upstairs room and the proprietor was unable to give us a downstairs room the stairs are quite steep and rickety with a few rocking when stepped on.the room we had was clean although not spacious however when we lay on the bed a loud noise emitted upon inspection the metal bars on the base were found to have been broken at some stage and had been duct taped up the proprietor was summoned and he proceeded to "fix" the problem by placing an old paint tin beneath the break!which we told him was unsatisfactory he said that he had no other rooms available, that it would be perfectly ok for the "lighter" one of us slept on the broken bed which is insulting to say the least and that he would refund us if we wanted to leave an offer which reluctantly we accepted and stayed elsewhere.we found the proprietor to be a unsympathetic and could'nt care less if we stayed or went we also could,nt seem to get the aircon going properly was very hot in the late afternoon. would definately not stay here again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Flow101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itzahh, Owner at Golden Shores Airport Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2014

Firstly you made the reservation on line via WOTIF in October for a stay in January during our peak period. You booked the cheapest room on the first floor when there were rooms available. on the ground floor. If you required a room on the ground floor you should have reserved one. You arrived at 10am to check in(normally 2pm). We accommodated your early arrival giving you early access. You had a twin single studio with two single beds. As you both laid on the bed(only for one person) it was damaged. We had no other rooms available and as it was late in the day we temporarily repaired it. As you were not happy with this you were offered a full refund under the circumstances which you accepted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Don't be fooled by the humble exterior or the tiny driveway in. Even the room size is "modest" ... but what a great place. The bed--perfect, linens--fresh, floors--gorgeous (wood & tile). It is immaculate. And if you want ANYthing, or have any question, the fellow in charge is happily helpful. Such a lovely experience to stay here! Warning: some may take issue with there being no a/c, but we're here in HOT weather and the ceiling fan did well for us. And...add to the bargain...unlimited fast good reliable free WiFi. Too bad more motels aren't like this.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itzahh, Owner at Golden Shores Airport Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

We hope to see you again on your future travels and thank you for the positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Quite far from the town area. Ideal for those who has a flight to catch the next day and if you forgot to book a cab, you can walk to get to the airport. The rate I got was high, considering how the room look and their facilities. The staffs were friendly though their reception closes at night and opens around 7+ in the morning, so if you are a tourist without a mobile and need to make emergency call, there's no way you can make that call. And it's not advisable to stay there during winter, it gets very cold even if your inside the room.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShyYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had booked for one night near to the airport as we found it cheaper to travel from the Gold Coast to Sydney rather than from Brisbane. The room 8 was bijou even though it had a double bed, 2 bunks and a cot. If I was advising potential guests I would suggest booking room 3 downstairs. We had this room on our return journey. Everywhere was clean, but the walls are relatively thin. If you arrive later in the day, make sure you have something in to eat. Otherwise, there are a number of local cafes and restaurants turning left out of the motel and a short walk away. Similarly, a longer walk turning right and crossing the main road will bring you to a garage for some groceries. This, coincidentally, is just outside the airport.
For those people who prefer, you can take your luggage the half mile to avoid taxi costs. If you are in a car and wish to leave it there, you will find no long term parking at the motel but you can walk 100 yards towards Kirra and book through EZI Parking. Included in the cost is a lift to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Choose room 3.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vernon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itzahh, Owner at Golden Shores Airport Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for the feedback

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews