We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Coolangatta / Kirra Beach YHA
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nirvana By The Sea(Coolangatta)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Plaza Resort(Coolangatta)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveler rating
20
35
33
17
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
35
33
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspizza nightfree shuttleairport accessearly morning flightbed dormfrom gold coast airporttable tennistop bunkpremium wifiswimming poollight sleeperwithin walking distancelounge areaper daysurfer's paradisemin walkcoolangata
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 126 reviews
Reviewed December 9, 2013

1st late check in was polite :)
Room was very small for double dirty dust I guess from roadworks next door window crap hard to open sheet was stains. :( kitchen was like fithey rubbish overflow microwave not spin an had to clean before I use
Beach was great airport great
man in morning not friendly I ask about car rental for day another guess was more help
If u need as last resort than stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindyloo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

the room is very, very basic. metal bunk beds, crap bedding, old and worn furniture. won't say it's spotlessly clean, but it isn't grotty either. one problem when I was there was that the bath water wasn't draining fast enough in the communal shower so there was a bit of ponding ankle deep. isn't exactly value for money because it's so basic.

location is good only if you have an early flight out from gold coast and not in the mood to hustle in the morning; you can literally walk to the airport. and if you like quiet beaches. not much in terms of anything else. staff is polite and helpful enough. so I guess verdict is stay only if you need to fly out from the airport in the morning.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divermel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

As others YHA, it has good quality standards :
- Clean double room
- Clean facilities (showers, toilets and kitchen)
- Nice dinner area
We tested the laundry and it was working fine
The only negative aspect was that this is a little far from Coolangatta itself, you have to take a bus which is quite expensive or to take the YHA bus but they don't run a lot per day.
Apart of that,you pay for a good quality hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemouss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed here twice now (July last year and currently stating ATM) I must say the hostel is excellent value.

Down to earth reception folk, Cooly the dog running around, 500m away from Gold Coast airport, and close to an awesome tavern that does awesome meals.

Can't fault these guys, excellent value and would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xxSjayxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have travelled Australia for 7 months and this was one of the worst hostels I have stayed in. First we had to wait just over 2 hours for the shuttle bus to arrive from the bus stop. As the shuttle only runs 4 times a day. Mattresses in bedroom were so thin you could feel the metal frame, and you back felt it the next day. On a airport runway so you have the noise all night, it would be ideal if you are flying to the airport, couldn't be any closer. It was my fault I hadn't researched the hostel as didn't realise how far it was from the town as if I had know I would have stayed at the Coolangatta Sands. Everywhere was clean, but the where the kitchen cutlery was kept I pulled out a knife and it was covered in I assume ants, it was literally crawling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews