We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B & B ever !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Joue En Charnie
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Lune Lake Bed & Breakfast
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best B & B ever !”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Booked for two nights but it was so good we stayed for four. Chris and Linda made us feel so welcome it was like home from home. Lovely set up the room was very clean and had every thing you could wish for . Excellent internet access . Really lovely to have use of the kitchen to make tea/coffee when ever you fancy it. The breakfast was perfect and Linda cooks the best eggs ever . Evening meal with unlimited beer or wine was to die for ! Every meal we had was cooked to perfection and the portions were better than you would get in any restaurant. Linda and Chris are the perfect hosts. Can't wait to go to France again, just to stay there .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
24
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week in La Rochelle where we detoured to La Lune on the journey as well as the return.

It turned out to be the perfect pit-stop, all five of us were immediately made to feel at home by the wonderful hosts, Chris and Linda.

Both visits were great, food was excellent, unlimited amounts of beer and wine and Charlie, the friendliest Jack Russell you could ever wish to meet.

If you're looking for a stopover on the way south or for the racing at Le Mans then this is the perfect place with the best hosts you could wish for.

All the best Chris & Linda, from Paul, Donna, Matthew, Lisa & Clare.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelmoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just to add to the already excellent reviews , did a round the country tour & was privileged enough to get a room for the night.
Such a lovely welcoming couple and the cooking was to die for .
Just wished I had the time for more than one night.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash231169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everything that has been written about Chis&Linda's La Lune is spot on! Nothing has been overstated, excellent hosts, facilities and location. We had five days there and enjoyed every moment. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecat0_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5, with young children so rooms where we all fit in are essential, but sadly rare. We were travelling down to the southof Bordeaux and wanted to break the journey up to stop the kids going stir crazy and this was a good location for stop 1.
The B&B is like being at home with the hosts Linda & Chris there for your every need. I cannot encourage you enough to take up the chambre d'Hote evening meal option they offer. Food is plentiful, child friendly and accompanied by free flowing beer and wine (be careful if you have an early start cos Chris never let's the carafe get lower than half full !!). The location is very rural and quiet, which may not suit some, but with Le Mans 15 minutes away by car, which Is a beautiful city it suited us perfectly. We would have breakfast, fish for free on the lake for a couple of hours and as it was August used the pool with kids both days. July & August in Le Mans at 10pm there is the most fantastic light/laser show on the old walls of the city (Le nuit des chimeres), a must see.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jute1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leamington spa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

great b&b with very friendly hosts, lovely kitchen/dining room where guests can cater for themselves if wanted. Dinner cooked by the hosts was lovely, generous portions, plenty of choice.
pretty garden, pool, lake covered in water lilies.
plenty of parking.
10/10

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fatbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a fabulous place to stay. 5 nights in this superb B&B allowed our family time to relax and explore the great surrounding area. The owners are amazing, nothing is too much trouble and we cannot wait to get back to see them .... Can't give enough credit to this place, great accommodation with fabulous gardens and personal catering if you need it. A real gem !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1PBA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Joue En Charnie
3.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 1 in Cheville
74 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
8.7 mi away
L'ermitage hotel & restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Vaiges
60 reviews
19.2 mi away
Relais Des Cailleres
Relais Des Cailleres
#1 of 1 in Saint-Pavace
163 reviews
11.1 mi away
Chateau de Vauloge
Chateau de Vauloge
#1 of 1 in Ferce-sur-Sarthe
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Lune Lake Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Lune Lake Bed & Breakfast

Property: La Lune Lake Bed & Breakfast
Address: Route de Sille | Joue En Charnie, 72540 Joue En Charnie, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Joue En Charnie
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Joue En Charnie
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally 2 houses dating back to the early 1800s we have lovingly restored La Lune into a welcoming B&B. We have 4 rooms all with private facilities, including a family room which sleeps 4/5. Our private fishing lake of approx 1 acre is fully stocked with carp bream, tench and perch. We are ideally placed for touring this beautiful region of France and only 1/2 hr from Le Mans famous 24hr race circuit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Lune Lake Bed & Breakfast France/Joue En Charnie, Sarthe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing