We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired. Very tired hotel.”
Review of Ugie House Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keith
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ugie House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Keith B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired. Very tired hotel.”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Due to nature of my work a do travel a lot. I've seen lots of hotels. While Ugie is not the worst hotel i have ever stayed in i can't recommend it. Unless you're out of options :)

Shower that can give you severe burns, flaky paint, bathroom not re-decorated since 60s, decor from early 50's. No chair in the room, no mains sockets near the bed. Deserted reception.

I could clearly hear somebody snoring upstairs...

yay - Free wifi...

Judging by other reviews of this hotel i have a suspicion that quality of room varies a lot...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Noizz_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    20
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
18
18
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Organised a seminar here and stayed overnight. Bedroom was adequate with a good-sized bathroom and spotless throughout.
Dinner was generously portioned and well-presented. Ditto breakfast.
Slight issue with no projector available for seminar (although there is a screen?), and young girl who checked us out struggled to add up our bill without a calculator to hand!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlislecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craigellachie
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Ffour covers average food, well presented, good service.
Wife's Salmon not cooked properly, my Chicken roulade not bad, came with rice AND mash tatties also with veggies. Enough food to feed a small country though, between the four of us.

Room Tip: didnt stay at hotel so only commenting on the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt13teen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at the Ugie House Hotel for a friends wedding and we found the meal was the best wedding meal we have ever had. The waitresses where so polite and looked after everyone so well. The hall was amazingly decorated! They should all be very proud in how well the Ugie House Hotel hosted us all!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paula9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Lovely lunch at old fashioned hotel. Friendly service. Good sized portions. If your looking for a fancy meal then dont come here. If you want a nice home cooked style food then you would do well here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltrott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I have eaten at Ugie House on several occasions as my elderly parents live in Keith. The food has always been very tasty and excellent value. The service is exceptionally friendly and welcoming ... nothing is too much trouble. The food is unpretentious but always appetising and well prepared. Nice views from the conservatory restaurant, too.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Glaswegienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed overnight in the master bedroom which was very clean and tidy with a great view overlooking a park and church grounds. We had an evening meal and being veggie I asked for a omelette which was not on the menu and chef obliged me with a lovely cheese and onion omelette a huge side salad and chips, my wife had Haddock Morney and enjoyed it, we later sat in the cosy lounge bar area and enjoyed a tipple. Again staff were very very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grassmarketinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keith
9.6 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
193 reviews
11.7 mi away
Dowans Hotel
Dowans Hotel
#1 of 1 in Aberlour
240 reviews
15.6 mi away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Fife Arms Hotel
The Fife Arms Hotel
#6 of 6 in Keith
29 reviews
3.1 mi away
Chapelhill Croft
Chapelhill Croft
#1 of 6 in Keith
72 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Mill House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ugie House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ugie House Hotel

Property: Ugie House Hotel
Address: Church Road, Keith AB55 5BR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Keith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Keith
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Ugie House Hotel Keith, Scotland, United Kingdom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing