We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Oasis off the Hulme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Aussie Holiday Park
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Oasis off the Hulme”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014

Stayed at this park for 1 night Feb 2014. Booked as a stop off during a motorhome holiday after the great ocean road en route to the Big 4 Sydney. The website looked good in comparison with the others in the area if a little off the highway. So after a long days drive with a grumpy 3 year old we arrived at the site. Wow it was lovely, very open with panoramic views to the lake and country. The pool and waterpark was exactly what we needed after the drive, and our little one came to life when she saw the play area and jumping pillow. All the facilities were spotless and in great order, loved the big outdoor kitchen. There were a school group in while we were there but they were well behaved/supervised, so were noisy during meal times etc but quiet from 6pm onwards. After our swim, walk to the lake, play in the park then dinner, a couple of cold ones watching the amazing night sky appear topped of a beautiful all be it too brief break at a wonderful park, maybe next time i might get to try their pizzas!

Room Tip: Get a site facing the lake and watch the sunset over the lake, worth the camp fees on it own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison E, Owner at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Thank you for your fantastic review, we are so glad your family enjoyed the park and we look forward to seeing you again sometime soon. We are currently building a walking/bike track up and around the park past the boat ramp, which we are very excited about! Thanks again for your stay and review. Kind Regards, Melanie Diffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    26
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
92
8
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

So much for the kids to do and friendly staff; that's what sets this place above the others we've been to. A lovely layout and relaxed atmosphere. We met up with friends from Canberra so we'd have a roughly equal travel time from Melbourne. We'll be back same time next year!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortTripMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

As a stop over half way between Melbourne & Sydney it was a lot nicer staying here than at a motel on the highway that's for sure. Great spot on Lake Hume with activities for the kids including water park & cosy cabins with good parking for boat/caravan. Remote feeling is lovely, worth the little drive off the Hume.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

Found this place by chance. Totally stoked we stayed the night, thoroughly impressed with the staff, the location, the atmosphere and the range of activities available, and the cost.

It is obvious there has been a lot of hard work put in recently. The fireplace in the communal camp kitchen area is great food warmth and a chat.

We will definitely stay here again when passing this way

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gumgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have had our first camping trip as a family (two young children) and had the best time! We thorougly enjoyed our stay. The kids had plenty to do and explore, the facilities were well maintained and the staff absolutely brilliant! I have never been to anywhere and was able to say all staff were always friendly and helpful! We can only recommend this caravan park...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hennyq B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

My extended family and I have stayed here a few times now and have seen the changes brought about by various managers.

Overall, the park offers good activities for kids (during school holidays) and is close to Lake Hume for those who like skiing, kayaking and fishing.

Despite a few maintenance issues (trouble with showers in our ensuite site and broken shower door in my cabin), Allison & Geoff (assistant managers) were extremely friendly and helpful - ensuring our 2 week stay was pleasant.

The undercover fire, BBQ and eating area is still a great feature of the park and we enjoyed a few night nights toasting marshmallows with the kids and enjoying a glass of red with fellow guests.

One word of warning if thinking about visiting - ask if there are any school camps booked in for the dates you're looking at.

We had two during this stay - first school was only 50 kids and had great teachers than ran a tight ship.

Second school brought 150 kids that used all amenities (meaning we couldnt) and were left to roam the park.

Both schools only stayed 2 nights so it didn't impede too much on our overall visit.

The pool, splash ground, jumping pillow, daily animal feeding and expansive grounds are great for kids young and old (which is why this place is so popular with schools).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison E, Owner at Great Aussie Holiday Park, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review and thank you for staying at our Park. We are glad you had a nice stay with us and we apologise for the maintenance issues and we do our best to keep on top of these day to day jobs, it is very important to us for our facilities to be clean and in good working order. We do try to let guests know when we have a school group in and unfortunately the 2nd school in during your stay is our biggest we have throughout the year.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future! Regards Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed 4 nights. My booking was for a caravan ensuite site, however it was changed by staff AFTER I paid my deposit (deposit was paid 3 months prior to our stay, and I had a receipt for my booking).
During 4 days of 40+ heat the pool was closed on 2 consecutive days for 4 hours for cleaning after someone opened their bowels in the pool on both days - obviously no supervision by parents or staff poolside.
My request to pre-order a particular newspaper at the kiosk was answered with 'we don't get that paper delivered'. If we weren't staying in a group with friends I would have left.
I'm local to this area and have enjoyed staying in other caravan parks bordering Lake Hume.
margareth

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowna
9.6 mi away
Lake Hume Resort
Lake Hume Resort
#1 of 1 in Lake Hume Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
12.3 mi away
BIG4 Albury Tourist Park
9.7 mi away
Lake Hume Tourist Park
Lake Hume Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Lake Hume Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Albury All Seasons Tourist Park
9.1 mi away
Thurgoona Country Club Resort
20.5 mi away
Holbrook Motor Village
Holbrook Motor Village
#1 of 1 in Holbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Aussie Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Aussie Holiday Park

Property: Great Aussie Holiday Park
Address: 14 Hore Rd, Bowna, New South Wales 2644, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Bowna
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bowna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Great Aussie Holiday Park 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Aussie Holiday Park is your outdoor adventure playground - situated on 2kms of private Lake Hume foreshore, just 35km's from Albury/Wodonga. We have accommodation to suit all budgets, from unpowered and powered camping/caravan sites (dog friendly), comfortable budget style cabins, country style cedar wood Squatters Huts and deluxe poolside villas, through to Dormitories for sporting, community groups and school camps. We offer endless activities for the family all year round, including a giant jumping pillow, solar heated pool, waterspray park, games room, BMX track, Recreation bush track 2.2kms and fishing & water sports on the Lake. At Peak times, why not try abseiling, rock climbing, or a run on the flying fox. The Lake View Cafe is open seasonally for dine in or take away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Aussie Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing