We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An organic oasis in Sicilia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An organic oasis in Sicilia”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at Monaci delle Terre Nere. It was an absolute dream. Rows and rows of olive trees as far as the eye can see will take your breath away. Etna is perched on one side, and the rolling hills and beautiful sea on the other. The Suite Amabile has an incredible view of Mt. Etna and the suite's design is a high-end experience in its own right. All natural and sustainable materials are used, but you will be too busy appreciating all of the beautiful details to notice - from lighting in the natural stone walls to the cool volcano-like structure, this unique suite is a superstar yet tastefully elegant experience.

Guido and Ada are the perfect hosts. They have a very refined taste yet are incredibly gracious and down to earth. Each day we enjoyed an organic breakfast with fresh fruit and local specialties from the farm. We were fortunate enough to be there in September when Guido made grape juice from the vineyards on the property. This was the BEST juice either of us have ever tasted, and we both juice regularly. Guido is totally committed to the philosophy behind organic living and this is demonstrated throughout the management of the property and guest experience.

Nearby, we fell in love with the small fishing village of Acitrezza - the same village featured in Visconti's film, La Terra Trema. It is still somewhat frozen in time and quite charming.

Room Tip: We highly recommend the Suite Amabile!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZingaraDeyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    63
    41
    23
    7
See reviews for
63
254
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A beautiful place in the etna region: old and elegant building gently and tastefully renovated/refurbished, very stylish, quiet, well located to reach mount etna, catania, taormina, other traditional etna villages or nice fishing villages on the east coast of Sicily. Important to mention: a delicious breakfast - for sure the best the we got on the island - with fresh delights from the own gardens and self-baked bread.
Guido, the owner, is very nice and helpful and has useful tipps for restaurants and places which are worth to be visited. Very comfortable to be with.
The whole atmosphere with many plants, fresh air and a beautiful surrounding is sometimes beneficated with gentle sounds of classical music within and out of the old walls of the building - really a good experience.
By the way: if you have the chance to have dinner at Monaci - book a table! Delicious! And a great view from the terrace. And Guido is a wine connoisseur who will serve the right bottle.
At any rate a place that can be highly recommended to stay.

Room Tip: The suites are larger and located in the main building, nice furbished and spacious, we stayed in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KennaVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed during our vacation in this charming hotel, beautifully decorated wisely mixing the old with contemporary art.. The rooms are big and high decorated, the bad and the pillows were extrimley comfortable
The view of mediterranean is breath taking,especially during sunrise. we enjoyed very much from the food coming from the organic vegetable gardens, fresh and tasteful, also the homemade olive oil together with the Mount Etna vines was from the top levels!!!, the’’Ada’s Biancomangiare dessert..please give me more…
The owner, Guido Alessandro is always there for you, for any question and for any need.
we will come back again soon!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ino S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The hotel was a Winery ran by Monks. It has been redone to keep the old and blend with new. Very tastefully done. A breath taking reception room where I could have spent all my time. The Staff is very friendly and they speak good English. The rooms are clean and comfortable . Room #6 so unique, be sure to request it. The Hotel is on a 40 acre working farm where they pick fresh vegetables daily to use for the meals. Great hiking around the property and many areas to lounge. So quite and peaceful. It is located just a few miles from the town of Catania. I highly recommend to anyone who appreciates a unique and amazing local italian experience. I look forward to getting back.

Room Tip: #6 is really unique. It is featured in the pictures on the website: www.monacidelleterrenere.it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Unfortunately we only spent one night at this splendid mansion. Our host was very helpful and had some very good tips concerning the surroundings and knew some excellent restaurants to visit. Highly recommended. A little hard to find directions but one won't be disappointed once arrived.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris181-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
10.6 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
397 reviews
1.3 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
840 reviews
60.5 mi away
Masseria Della Volpe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Belvedere
Hotel Villa Belvedere
#5 of 87 in Taormina
1,806 reviews
15.7 mi away
Hotel Villa Ducale
Hotel Villa Ducale
#1 of 87 in Taormina
2,031 reviews
43.5 mi away
Algila Ortigia Charme Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monaci delle Terre Nere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monaci delle Terre Nere

Property: Monaci delle Terre Nere
Address: Via Monaci snc, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Monaci delle Terre Nere 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 2007, by chance, I stumbled upon this place, fell in love with it and decided to devote my life to its resurrection.To bring this place, previously chosen by the monks of Saint Anna’s order for his special energy and extraordinary charm, back to life. It has become the second great project of my life. The estate Monaci delle Terre Nere is situated along the slopes of Mount Etna, the biggest volcano in Europe on the border of the Etna National Park at 500mt above sea level. My wish has been to preserve the historic identity and local traditions, more than a Boutique Hotel it is a home which I hope retains its intimacy. The house which dates from 1800 is listed as one of historical importance. It is now a place where traditional Sicilian Architecture is combined with contemporary art and living. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Monaci delle Terre Nere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monaci Delle Terre Nere Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing