We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvellous stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airone Wellness Hotel
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zafferana Etnea
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

The staff and the beautiful facility made this a fantastic home for us for 2 nights. It is so easy to climb Mt Etna and return to this hotel for a relaxing evening at the wellness center and a wonderful dinner in their restuarant. The attention to design in the hotel
gives it an elegant but not overstated aura --- you don't feel like you are staying at a cookie cutter hotel yet this hotel has high standards. The view from the balcony is fantastic and the outdoor pool is also very attractive. We live in McLean, Va but have hopes to return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deandebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (888)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 889 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2011

We have just had our sixth visit to this hotel. The staff, the room, the atmosphere and above all the leisure centre is next to none. We wil return very soon and hope we will have the same suite. Many thanks to the staff especially Davide. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

Yes, I loved my stay at the Airone Hotel. My room was in the annex, on the second floor and the view was stunning. I was able to see the sunrise a few times and it is really one of the most beautiful moment I've lived in my whole life. It was very quiet and only the night before we left did we hear the good time a group was having in the gazebo.
The food was good and we became friends with the servers. Even though it is always difficult when you deal with a group, they were pleasant and to my knowledge, responded well to the needs of the clients with special diets requirements.
We were a group of choristers on tour and we had to rehearse. We were allowed to do so in the dining room where there was a nice piano. Apparently, it did not disturb the clients. On the contrary, there came in to hear us!
We had a concert every second day and it allowed us to visit when we had a day off. Zafferana was a good starting point for the Etna, for Syracusa etc... We were away from the big city noise and at the same time, it was not far from the touristic places we wanted to visit : Taormina, Acireale, Riposto, Catania etc...
Definitely, I want to go back and in the same room.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violetta89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

This was my first, but hopefully not last, trip to Sicily. Loved the hotel -- the rooms had lots of character and were spotless. The staff was amazing -- very attentive and went beyond in many instances, by assisting with our inquiries and needs. the food in the hotel dining room was delicious and very plentiful. Such wonderful grounds and pool, also. And, just an energetic walk (hills!) into the village. I would not hesitate to stay at Hotel Airone again.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank detection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

what can I say, we all want to go back. being one of the members in charge of the group, we had so much help from the employees and they were just great. the place is amazing with the view, the pool, the spa. We had 5 concerts in Catania and we were able to ajust our schedules with the dining room, (thank you Davide and Salvatore) and also very easy to get help from the front desk (thank you Mario, Viviana and Marilena). We all had such a good time. the food was great. (thank you Chef Mario) and the serve fast and great.
The breakfast buffet style, always ready for our creazy hours. thank you Sonia.
the night clerk always waiting for us after our concerts around 3am and always ready to serve us our last expresso. thank you Pipo.
we all mist you and thank you for your great work. i love you all. Claudia

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elvira63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

was part of a walking group
the hotel is pleasant and aI found the room in the annex clean and comfortable with a good view from the balcony
I thought the food was good though some in the group were not as keen
I can see why some reviews are negative re the wedding parties and perhaps best then avoid a stay over the weekend
the hotel is 20 mins walk from the town and is a way from other areas and not well served by public transport
overall I would recomend the hotel but be aware that it is not easy to get to other places but is well served for walking on etna

oh - some solar panels would be a good idea to heat the pool that is fabulous apart from being very cold!!

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank treboryel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

An Amazing Time


August 1st to August 15th we stayed at the Hotel Airone, near Zaffarena Etna , Sicily. We were with a choir group of over 60 people. This was our first trip to Sicily, so we were quite anxious as to what to expect. What a pleasant surprise. All of the towns of this part of Sicily are built on the side of the mountain. The town of Zaffarena Etna is below the Hotel Airone. This town was our home for two weeks. We loved it.Being that this is their summer holiday, there were families walking around. People hanging out in the main square, drinking coffee , playing cards. We went to a café for café americano and gelato as much as possible. Pizza restaurant with Sicilian pizza to die for. And in the middle of this lovely town is the church with wildly ringing bells at noon time every day. At one pm the stores all shut down for a siesta until somewhere around 5pm. Then they reopen and stay out till the wee hours of the morning. We were coming back from a performance one night through the town at 2 in the morning and it was full of people bustling about. It was quite amazing to see. One night we went to see the procession of the Maria Della Provvidenza, the patron saint of the town . That was amazing. The fireworks were great. There are numerous fruit and vegetable stores in the town plus a large supermarket. So we would head into the village, grab a quick gelato and coffee, head over to the supermarket, the caroussel express, pick up a few supplies, such as fresh cheese (amazing!) mortadella , unbelievable olives, juice, bread and beer. And a big bag of peaches and nectarines. . Then we would start to truck up to the hotel. A few times I was not up to climbing the big hill and someone from the village would offer to drive us up to the hotel. Once back at the hotel , we would drop off our things , change into our bathing suits and head to the wellness centre in the hotel for a delightful Turkish bath. .From there we would head to the pool for swim. The pool was large, slightly coolish and clean. It was wonderful. I would go for swim and then stand on the deck looking over the town of Taromina and the chestnut trees. One night we checked out some of our fellow choir members rooms. It was interesting to see the difference. We liked our room (218) It comfortable and clean. Air conditioning was not necessary, we left our patio door open, so that the cool mountain breeze would blow through the room. It was delightful. We had no problems with the front desk staff. They went out of their way to provide a quality service to all of us. I am sure that we were quite demanding being such a large group. Twice we used the maid service to clean some clothes for us. A plastic bag full of clothes came back clean and carefully folded for about 2 euros a piece . They spoiled us, and made us feel special. We were very grateful I would like to think that we now have new friends in Zafferana Etna , and that we would need to go back some day soon. Bravo to Pepo (spelling?) and his co workers. On the main floor of the hotel there is a free internet workstation, plus there is a free wifi. I was happy to bring my skype phone and use it to call home sometimes. Early in the morning I would take pleasure in drinking coffee from the coffee bar and play on my laptop. A continental breakfast was served every day in the dining room, with fresh pastries and cheese , yogurt , with hard boiled eggs. I became a fan of the warm croissants, with powered sugar. It was a good meal, and the only suggestion I would make would be to have fresh fruit available. The main meal of the day was always a four course meal with dessert. Or you could choose to eat a la carte. Either way it was good. Once in a while the chef would come out to see if we were happy with our food. We toured the region as much as humanly possible in the short time we were there. For example Mount Etna, Mardi gras night in acireale, boat tour of the Eolie islands, with a swim at Vulcan beach. We went swimming at Riposto and Maxis beaches. We went to Taormina for a day and visited the greek amphitheatre. I found out after the fact , that it was the hotel that helped us organize these tours. On our last night at the hotel we were up at 2am to finish packing to go home. The hotel had prepared a mini continental breakfast for us and offered us a cappuccino for the road. Did we love it there? Absolutely. This is a high quality hotel and I would recommend it to anyone. A suggestion would be a better shuttle service between the town of Zafferana and the hotel. Maybe the town of Zafferana could get involved. Some sort of regularly scheduled shuttle service would be a good thing.. So Mille Grazies! And arrivederci!

Im sure I have missed something. Please message me if you have any questions and I will do my best to answer them

John

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jammyisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zafferana Etnea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Esperia Palace
Hotel Esperia Palace
#2 of 4 in Zafferana Etnea
461 reviews
11.0 mi away
Airone City Hotel
Airone City Hotel
#1 of 49 in Catania
248 reviews
5.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
Grand Hotel Villa Itria
#1 of 1 in Viagrande
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & Spa
Il Picciolo Etna Golf Resort & S...
#1 of 4 in Castiglione di Sicilia
871 reviews
9.7 mi away
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
Villa Neri Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Linguaglossa
417 reviews
11.4 mi away
Castello di San Marco Charming Hotel & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airone Wellness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airone Wellness Hotel

Address: Via Cassone 67, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range: $97 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airone Wellness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airone Wellness Hotel has 62 rooms which include from the double rooms to the familiar rooms, differentiated in several typologies: standard, superior panoramic and junior suite, almost all have a balcony. Rooms are provided of the necessities for spending a nice stay, in each one there’s a private bathroom with hairdryer and toiletries, free mini-bar, TV Sat LCD with 32-inch screen, air conditioning, strongbox and tea facilities to allow to the guests to have always a hot drink whenever he want. Of the 62 rooms, 11 are placed in the Depandance, a three-storied building easy to reach directly from the parking, and enjoy a panoramic view on a grassy patio overlooking the eastern shore. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airone Wellness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airone Hotel Zafferana Etnea
Airone Wellness Hotel Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing