We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing time and amazing views from Mt Etna to the Med”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London
2 reviews
“Relaxing time and amazing views from Mt Etna to the Med”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

The rooms are large and beautifully decorated, Alberto is a great host and we enjoyed the Sicilian lifestyle. The views are amazing and it is a great place to do lots of day trips from. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeriKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    40
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
48
139
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

They have two locations, in town and also in a vineyard about 5 minutes from town. We chose the vineyard and weren't disappointed. our room was spacious and clean with a huge shower with two spouts and a view of the sea. To sit outside at night on the huge outdoor area with a wine and the stars was awesome. Alberto is really friendly and helpful and even gave us some of his local wine to try. You get a beautiful fresh breakfast and also have the use of the kitchen. If you visit Mt Etna or just want a quiet night away from the madness with great views, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blacksteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Villa Rosa , a quiet comfortable bed and breakfast . A chalet surrounded by an orchard .A terrace with a view of Mt. Etna above and the Mediterrean Sea beyond. It can only be surpassed by its host " Alberto " You will make a new friend, and want to return . A 5 star experience . Not to be missed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank easelpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

We dind't stay at the main B&B but at the vinyard, which is about 5 minutes away by car. Alberto, the owner, ist super-friendly: He gave us advice on places to see and thanks to him we had a wonderful dinner at a nearby restaurant. The vinyard is a beautiful place! You can see the Etna and the ocean from here. The rooms and the rest of the house are nicely decorated and the deck is just the greatest place to hang out! In the morning, Alberto came by to bring us bread and pastries for breakfast, everything else we needed was in the kitchen. I would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bavaria77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We spend 8 nights in the wineyard. It was just perfect. Alberto the owner is very helpful and a very funny guy. It is a good location to make day journeys like to Taormina, Noto, Syracusa, Agrigento, Cefalu and of course the etna. There is a cheap but very good trattoria in walking distance. The pink house in the picture. I totaly recommend this BB

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Superwitti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2011

Zafferena is cleary different then the rest of the island as the mountain folks will no doubt tell you. It's only a few miles away from the sea but the climate, people, cuisine are a bit different.
I highly recommend staying at any of Alberto's B&Bs. When he was there he was in the process of opening a second location outside of town. I imagine that will be even better than Villa Rosa which is still great. We have stayed at a half a dozen places on the island and found this to be the best in terms of all amenities. The best being the hospitality of the host. We happened to arrive on a day when most places were closed and were jonesing for some wine and he gave us some that he made personally. It was great the perfect thing after dealing with the tourist trap that is called Taormina.

Great place. Great host. Great town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dakoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We are a couple that enjoy travel and turning up at unexpected yet delightful places where one can enjoy the local faire without feeling you are on a tourist route.

Our stay at B&B Villa Rosa at Zafferana in Sicily was one of these special delights. We had a small rental car, a very basic map and only four days to enjoy the delights of Sicily.

We turned up at the picturesque village of Zafferana in late March at 7pm – it was dark – and as usual we had nothing pre-planned or booked. Zafferana is the type and size of villages we enjoy – one with a heart (a town square is essential) surrounded by grand buildings, cafes and shops and of course the church bells chiming to announce our arrival. Such towns demonstrate civic pride and most importantly are on a human scale.

Signposts in Italy are never easy and finding accommodation in a one-way system of narrow streets is best done by asking a local who directed us from the town square to the B&B Villa Rosa only 100 metres away from all the action.

Alberto Casella, fluent in English and Italian, answered the door bell and showed us to a spacious loft conversion complete with its own terrace overlooking snow capped Mt Etna. After and driving through the ‘joys’ of Italian traffic (we unfortunately got caught up in Catania afternoon traffic), we ate at the local pizzeria returned and both slept soundly. Apparently we narrowly missed the ski season which is popular even with the northern Italians because of the delights of skiing on a volcano with ocean views as well!

Breakfast the next morning was in the true (but rarely found) home B&B style, where we had a filling breakfast with the company of Alberto’s parents (and also met his brother and the local painter). Breakfast was not rushed and as well as fresh breads, jams and croissants it came with freshly brewed coffee and fresh pear juice. Seeing the house and garden in the brilliant morning sunshine was delightful. For those not wanting to rush off visiting the Mt Etna or the surrounding area you can easily spend a sunny day on the terrace or in the garden drinking coffee or wine to truly enjoy a relaxing holiday break.

We can thoroughly recommend the B&B Villa Rosa at Zafferana to anyone who enjoys great company, delightful surroundings with choice of a self contained apartment or an attic style room to sleep 4 as well as another double room.

Mark & Sandra Roome
March 2011

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_roome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zafferana Etnea hotels
0.6 mi away
Airone Wellness Hotel
Airone Wellness Hotel
#1 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
813 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Esperia Palace
Hotel Esperia Palace
#2 of 5 in Zafferana Etnea
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
Cartoline dall'Etna B&B
#1 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Monaci delle Terre Nere
Monaci delle Terre Nere
#3 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Etna GloB&B
Etna GloB&B
#1 of 9 in Zafferana Etnea
149 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura
B&B Sicilia in Miniatura
#3 of 22 in Zafferana Etnea
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast

Property: Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast
Address: Via Giuseppe Garibaldi 357, 95019 Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Zafferana Etnea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Zafferana Etnea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VILLA ROSA is located in the historical centre of the village of Zafferana Etnea (Sicily). This quiet, picturesque village set on the slopes of Mt.Etna overlooks the Ionian coast offering a beautiful panorama from the famous resort of Taormina all the way down to the Calabrian coast.Enjoy one of the most stunning areas of Sicily in a comfortable, authentic Sicilian dwelling built in the early 1920s. Excellent advice and guidance on the attractions of this unique area and its particular traditions are available from the proprietor of Villa Rosa who speaks English due to his previous professional career in London. Expect a comfortable bed and a freshly prepared Sicilian breakfast. Female members of this Sicilian family are also willing to provide recipes and instruction for the preparation of traditional dishes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Rosa Etna Bed & Breakfast Zafferana Etnea, Sicily, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing