We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Place close to Eurotunnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Reviewed February 10, 2014

On recommendation of good friends we have just spent two perfect nights stay at this wonderful privately owned Chateau. Within easy reach of the channel tunnel (take exit 2 off the A26 motorway), we were welcomed by friendly and helpful staff who showed us to a quiet room overlooking the garden, just as we had asked at the time of the online booking. The room was not large but beautifully appointed and recently restored with high quality fittings and decoration. The large double bed was superbly comfortable, with excellent linen and several soft pillows. The room additionally had a small entrance lobby with an ample-sized wardrobe fitted with safe, which could be used at no additional cost. The bathroom was also renovated to high standard with hair dryer and heated towel rails, albeit the bath was rather narrow. The hotel lounge and bar were exceedingly comfortable and led to the elegant Chateau’s restaurant, believed to have originally been the stables with original stone slabs and floor tiles. The food was good, the wide selection of wine a little pricey and the service friendly. There were few staff overall ,as we were staying out of the main season with the hotel less than half full. The gardens and surrounding fields are extensive and afford plenty of opportunity for walks. We noted that there were additional buildings in the grounds, which likely cater for weddings and large parties. St. Omer is about 20 minutes drive and a worthwhile visit and restaurant Le Cigne comes highly recommended for lunch or dinner but early reservation is required. Suggest book lunch for 12:00 as parking in the streets is free between then and 14:00..finding a parking place nearby is difficult.

Room Tip: all rooms OK but those at the rear overlook gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OverseasVisitor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post a nice review on our hotel restaurant.
We are most happy that you enjoyed our Hotel in genaral: Your room and its facilities, the restaurant and the staff....
We try to offer the best to our guest and it is a reward for each of us to read your kind comment.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again at the Château.

Your sincerely,

Marie-laure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 492 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We have stayed at Chateau de Cocove many times in the past and always found it high quality - not this time, something has certainly changed!
The welcome was slightly frosty and we were marched to our accommodation which was the guard's house in the grounds.
The accommodation was very pleasing, comfortable beds, strong shower and jacuzzi baths with LED light fittings. However, hot water was limited and two baths left us with cold showers for the three others.
The restaurant in the Chateau used to be excellent, when we stayed this time it certainly wasn't - so much so that we wondered if the head chef was having a night off? We were given the choice of three menus (28e, 38e or 58e) or a la carte. Members of our party ordered from each menu.
It was displeasing to say the least and certainly not haute cuisine! A very strange combination of flavours, overly large portions and dirty cutlery. The steak was well cooked and had a beautiful flavour, however the local cheese plate which we were promised was dished up as a side plate with 4 large lumps of cheese, I could have done better by going to the local supermarket. And that Tarte Tatin was not what I expected of high quality of french dining, that could be said for all the desserts, not a nice way to finish the meal!
The refurbishment and development of this chateau is second to none there has clearly been a huge amount of well spent investment, but the service and cuisine is failing dramatically and needs to match this standard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phoebe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on tripadvisor.
I would like to present you our apologies about problem concerning the service and the Kitchen.
Note that we are going to reorganize our restaurant. I have read with a particulat attention your remarks and be assured that the necessary will be made with the team concerned.
We have made a lot of refurbishment during the last 2 years and we are happy that our guests enjoy it. Now please be assured that our priority is the service and the kitchen.
Sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I hope to welcome you again at the Château and show you that we have the same quality in the hôtel but also in the service and kitchen.

Your sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We spent one night here on our way back from Belgium and this is quite honestly one of the best places I have stayed. The whole atmosphere is pure luxury and relaxation.

Room: very spacious, classicly decorated room with fantastic modern bathroom. Our room had a jacuzzi bath. They catered for my 3 year old daughter by giving her a very beautiful wooden sleigh bed! Very comfortable beds. Bathrobes are provided and lots of soft, fluffy towels. Bathroom amenities are lovely too. Great rain shower.

Food: We ate at the restaurant for dinner and it was exceptional. Some of the best food I have had and not badly priced either. They have a lovely childrens menu as well and despite the hotel looking so "adult" they cater beautifully for children. The childrens meal even comes with a little "surpirse" chocolate afterwards which was a lovely touch. Breakfast was absolutely incredible. Huge selection and I love the fact that most items are sourced from the farm on the property.

Location: A great stopover en route the to Eurotunnel. Only a 15 minute drive away. There is also a lovely little village about a 5 minute drive away - Ardres.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only problem I had was that the free wifi didn't work.

This is definatley hospitality at it's finest. I will definately be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank globalgirlLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review of your trip at the Château on Tripadvisor.
We are most happy that you enjoed all our services: Situation of the Château, your pleasant room and our restaurant.
The team tris to offer the best to our guests and it is a reward for each of us to read your kind feedback.
It is with a particular attention that I read your remark about Wifi, be assured that we see that point.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Château de Cocove very soon.

Marie-Laure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Worth a visit, a real treat after a long journey. A great place to stop off before heading to the UK or into the rest of Europe. Stayed here three times including tonight. Looking forward to my beer at the bar with our beagle before heading to dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicola h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Château de Cocove on Tripadvisor.
We are most happy that you enjoyed our situation near Calais but also our services.
It will be a pleasure to serve you next time in the bar.

I wish you an Happy New Year.
Your Sincerely

Marie-laure

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

After a few months where I considered that the hotel had deteriorated in terms of welcome, quality and food I am happy to say that it is truly back to where it should be. My wife and I have been staying at this hotel for more than 10 years and had noticed that the quality of service had declined slightly over the last couple of years. I am more than pleased to say thet our last stay in December 2012 was truly excellent. The welcome was very good and the restaurant absolutely great with great service and great quality food and wine. The hotel is going through some changes, eg the reception area has changed. Room was very comfortable and the meal was as good as we have ever had previously. RESULT !!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post a review on our Hôtel restaurant.
It is so pleasing to read that you see the changes and that you enjoyed your last stay. We read with a lot of attention all the remarks and try to offer the best to our guests.
Happy that you enjoyed the service, restaurant and its wines.
Again many thanks for these kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Château de Cocove.
Your sincerely,

Marie-laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was last here in April when we planned our return and had, as ever, been looking forward to it very much. We aimed to relax and to enjoy lovely food - we were not disappointed! I can pay the Chateau no greater compliment than to say that everything which we always enjoy was yet better. It is always lovely to see Marie Laure who has been there even longer than I have been visiting. The success of the hotel and of its Dining room and Caves is that the staff care. After considerable refurbishment the whole presentation is of quiet and relaxed elegance. we were all very pleased with our rooms and ate in the Dining Room each evening, simply because we, as ever, thought it very good, I was so pleased with the Scallop starter I had it every evening.
The wine list is a joy to read and has the great advantage of allowing one to be able to enjoy the wines at restaurant prices in the Dining Room of to take them with you at Caves prices. as before, we did this, selecting some lovely wines, taken with us at reasonable prices. When a wine list is as both interesting and challenging as this one we ask the sommelier to choose for us, a red and a white each evening. This Frank did but on our last evening, he was off and our wines were chosen by Cindy - they were delightful..
We did not spend all our time eating, drinking and lounging! We went to Le Touquet, into Boulogne, walked at Cap Blanc Nez and had a visit to the Christmas Market just up the road in Ardres. We were really impressed with what this small town had produced from wide ranging stalls, hot food and drinks in the streets, a skating rink to skills and crafts. We enjoyed an excellent lunch a Taverne right next to the Marie - the town hall.
So another great visit to Chateau de Cocove. My friends are returning in January both to and from Skiing but, sadly, I shall have to wait until spring.

Room Tip: Frankly, I have stayed in several and enjoyed them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BirthdayBoy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of Château de Cocove.
It is so pleasing to read your kind comments on our team. We try to offer the best to our guests and it is a rewerd for each of us to read your kind feedback.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant, our wines and your room.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you next spring.

Your sincerely,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for the 4th year in a row to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It is in such a lovely setting, brilliantly located after arrival at Calais. Our room ( we have had 4 different ones) is always comfortable, with a great bed. We sleep well as it is quiet wherever you stay. Dinner and the drinks area are a treat, and we always enjoy the breakfast ( ask for boiled eggs if you want them). Nice staff and a bit of a treat, without being too expensive. We will be back next year!

Room Tip: We liked rooms 19 and 11
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert123_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable relations clients at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a good review of your trip on Tripadvisor.
It is as each year a pleasure to welcome you at Château de Cocove.
We are most happy that you enjoed the lovely setting, the restaurant and the breakfast.
We look forward to welcoming you next year.

Your sincerely,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
752 reviews
20.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
627 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
452 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range: $125 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing