We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed here last year on return from Greece. We loved it so much that we drove 550 miles in one day, just to get here before catching the eurotunnel train.
If anything it has improved. The reception has been completely renovated in pale oak panelling and is stunning. We were welcome by a charming woman who speaks excellent English, and who escorted us to our room and helped to carry our luggage. The room is beautiful, with some lovely antique furniture, a huge bed with lovely linen and a very modern bathroom.
Dinner in the beautiful dining room was excellent and restored my faith in fine French cuisine. The wine list was extensive, with many fine wines at reasonable prices. There were several other British couples staying, who seemed equally impressed with this hotel, and who had stayed before. Having spent six days driving back from Greece, our stay here was the highlight of the trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiatross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

We thank for taking time to write your comments.
We are most happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Chateau.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you.
We look forward to welcome you again at the Chateau.

Best Regards,

Marie-laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 505 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

No arguing that the building looks amazing but there is much room for improvement everywhere.
Rooms have been refurbished and are as comfortable as you would expect but the staff shortage was obvious. Receptionist was also Bar Lady, etc.

Room products were basic and, once used, not replaced. I find that totally unacceptable particularly when you have run out of tissues.

As for the restaurant dreadful hardly covers it. It's pretty enough, for sure. But an illustration of how French food is slipping from the expected wonder that it was to the sort of meal we were served.

I started with scallops sat in a truffle infused cream sauce with a potato something? It was simply awful. The scallops were grey. Old and over cooked. The sauce had congealed and there was no taste of truffle. The potato something was tasteless and unidentifiable. I left it.

My husband had Fois Gras which was so hard it barely spread. Either straight from a tin or the coldest part of the fridge. He left it.

For mains we chose steak. Apart from the fact that it was ordered medium (and served well done) the meat was high in flavour, very stringy and tough. I'd question that it was beef. Again we left the meals.

Cheese was delicious but slopped on a plate and served with no emotion whatsoever.

We had to ask if a child menu was available. It was not. But they could offer baby pizza or some pasta. We were obliged to take baby pizza and split an adult meal of grilled salmon between the children.

Add to that we were not asked what was wrong with our food.

Wine choices were 'average'. The experience, however, was awful.

We would not return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Further to your comments, I will appreciate that we phone me because I do not understand it.
I was there on that evening and we have got no comments about your menus.
About the children menus, I do not understand why you say that you have to have only one salmon for 2 children because you have asked me one pasta alone for the little girl and one pasta with salmon for the little boy.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best Regards,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Wonderful setting and a quiet peaceful hotel within easy striking distance to the Calais ferry terminal Those are the positives. The negatives start with our arrival, it was certainly not the warmest or friendliest we have experienced, and we were escorted down a mouldy smelling corridor to a room that was adequate, but certainly not equal in quality to the cost. This is a lovely old chateau with lots of character which unfortunately has not been successfully transformed into a modern hotel. We were on a touring holiday in France and we stayed in several 'chateau' hotels, value for money this was easily the worst.
Worst of all was the dinner. Several other reviewers have praised the meals, unfortunately I have the opposite view. The menu was unexciting, and the food was about gastropub quality and presentation. Four boiled potatoes on a skewer will stick in my mind for a long time. Value for money this was our worst experience during our whole time in France.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tuchenclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

I have read with a lot of attention your comments about our Château. Please be assured that I review the different points with the team concerned so as to take immediate action.

Best Regards,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Helpful, friendly staff and a comfortable night in a spacious, clean and well thought out room. What more could you want? A splendid old chateau in rolling parkland, tasteful furnishings and 20 minutes from the ferry? Yes, and more. It's a great old building that has an interesting history, the odd creaky floor board and a faintly distressed feel that's not at all shabby but just right for the building. You could swing a cat in our bathroom, sleep three in our bed with room to spare and everything spick and span. You pay a little bit more for a room here, but you get a whole lot more. Whoever remembers a motel? (Except the one I flooded once).

Room Tip: View the photos. I imagine the attic rooms are smaller and darker but the staff are friendly - tell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking time to write a kind comment on our Hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoed the room and our situation near Calais and you had a lovely stay.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon.

Best Regards,

Marie-laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We ate two dinners here and stayed one night. The rooms are lovely and look out onto parkland. The food was top class - you could soften the hit of the 48 Euro menu with good wines at very sensible prices e.g. a Tariquet at 17 Euros. When we asked for a red, the waitress recommended a decent Rhone at 18. The menu included a very good cheese board including a comte. The staff from reception through bar to the waitresses were all friendly, efficient and fun.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulNCKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to post a comment on our Hôtel Restaurant..
We are most happy that you enjoyed your room and also the restaurant.

We look forward to welcome you very soon at the Château.

Best Regards,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

We have stayed in the Chateax Cocove on two occasions now, once two years ago and again on the 29th September 2013 enroute to Italy. We have thoroughly enjoyed our stay on both occasions, however it is now even better than before after a big (but sympathetic) renovation project to update the exterior, reception area and rooms.
Having had a wonderful dinner on our last visit we decided to book again and were not disappointed - it was delicous and very good value.
The Chateax remains quirky with lots of old fashioned charm.
Our worst mistake was to fail to book a night at Chateaux Cocove on our way home, choosing instead to stay at a chain hotel near the Channel Tunnel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Further to your trip to Château de Cocove, we would like to thank you for taking the time to to post a kind comment on Tripadvisor.
We are most happy that you enjoyed your stay .
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the Château.

Best Regards,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Having been to this hotel several times a year for the past 15 years we were saddened by its decline. It had always been 'faded grandeur' but the food had been good and the staff very pleasant. We have just spent two separate nights there late September 2013 going to and from a race meeting at Spa (the extensive car park can easily accommodate our large trailer).The recent facelift and change of management have transformed the place. OK, there is still quite a bit of 'faded grandeur' but the things that really needed updating have been done. Our meals in the restaurant (menu saisonnier) were well cooked, nicely presented and tasty. I thought the price very reasonable: 2 beers in the afternoon sunshine, aperitif, 3 course meal with wine and coffee, breakfast and single room for less than 150 euros. We will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank historicracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Many thanks for your kind comments about our Hôtel restaurant.
We are most happy to know that you enjoyed our changes about the rooms, bathroom and facilities. We try to renovate it to offer the best to our clients.
We hope to have pleasure to welcome you very soon at the Château.
Best Regards,

Marie-Laure Ducrocq

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
765 reviews
20.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
631 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
21.7 mi away
Hotel  La Matelote
Hotel La Matelote
#3 of 16 in Boulogne-sur-Mer
416 reviews
18.7 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range: $109 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing