We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the nearest Chateau Hotel to Calais/Dunkirk and good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Le Chateau de Cocove
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Reviewed March 16, 2013

16.2.13 Just arrived at Chateau de Cocove from the Dover-Dunkirk ferry, just 25 miles away so the hotel is well placed for an overnight stop near Calais/Dunkirk, it's in the countryside but only a mile from the A26 autoroute. This is the fourth time I've stayed here in the last 6 months and I think it offers excellent value for money if you're looking for a hotel with character and ambiance rather than the modern group hotels which all too often all look the boring same. Unlike the previous reviewer in January I've always arrived to a warm room and tonight is no exception.Most of the rooms have modern bathrooms equipped with a bath rather than a shower but to a weary traveller it's nice to relax in a bath after a long journey albeit some people will miss a conventional shower. The restaurant, in my opinion does have ambiance and atmosphere and I've always found the food excellent; there is a choice of four fixed menus from 28 -45 euros for four courses as well as an a la carte menu with starters at 17 euros, main courses 18-25 euros and desserts at 8 euros. Over the winter period ,understandably ,staff levels are minimal but that's to be expected out of season, however I've always found the staff helpful, courteous and friendly. As a classic car tour organiser I use hotels all over Europe and regard Chateau Cocove as good value for money and ideal if you are looking for a hotel with character and ambiance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the chateau itself rather than the ground floor extension where the rooms lack the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCTI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marie-Laure D, Responsable réception at Le Chateau de Cocove, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Dear Madam, dear Sir,

Thank you to post a review on our Hôtel restaurant. We are most happy that you enjoyed our location, room, restaurant and the château.
Thank you very much to come back at the Château and to enjoy it at each time.
We look forward to welcome you very soon at the Château.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 492 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have not been to the Chateau for 8 years but returned as we had a lovely stay last time however it is run down and very sad. We booked their best room they escorted us to the room and turned the heating on so the room was freezing and took about 3 hours to warm up so not a pleasant start, we specifically asked for a room with both bath and shower. But the bath was so narrow that unless you are incredibly thin you would get stuck in it!. The meal was so disappointing we had a gastronomic 4 courses and the chef clearly cooked it all in one go and then put it in the oven to keep hot so everything was overcooked. The desserts did not taste as if they were home made but as is they had been purchased frozen and tasteless. Breakfast the next morning was just as unappetising a very standard continental breakfast but you could order a boiled egg. The whole atmosphere in the restaurant area was cold and miserable no ambiance at all. We booked a package room meal and breakfast for 280 euros in hindsight I would not pay 50 euros for what we received. So hugely disappointed. I can only put this down to the fact that it was boxing day and maybe all of the staff had a hang over!!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank JulesChristchurch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Let's get this straight right from the start. I'm not into wife swapping even with family. It's not clever and it's not right. What's that got to do with a Hotel Review? You ask.

Well we left it later to book than we should and got the lesser of the two garden rooms. Don't get me wrong the room was amazing beautiful decor, sensitively done but as much as I love her I don't want to watch my wife's cousin showering. With a family or for very naughty nights with swinging friends it's perfect but not otherwise.

Our disturbance was quelled by the manager who re-roomed us with no fuss. Our room was perfect with a big bathroom but that's another story.

When we got the right dining table for dinner we had a perfect evening. Good food and good company what more could you want?

So be cautious with your room choice but otherwise enjoy the ambience of a thoroughly nice French hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheHappyBritGatwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times and each time have had an enjoyable visit. Most of the rooms have been renovated but some are still a little dated. All of the rooms in which we have stayed have been clean. In most cases the bathrooms do not have proper showers, only showers over the baths. The dinners are usually very good and the wine list is excellent. The cheese board is always great. Breakfast is primarily continental, croisaants, bread rolls, meats, cheeses and juices. We will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeltonJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived at Chateau de cocove for the check in time of 3pm and were pleasantly surprised by the grandeur of the building as we drove down the sweeping driveway. The receptionist was nice but it didn’t feel like a very warm welcome as we carried our own cases up the creaky stairs to a room which was pretty and simple but cold.

We wanted to spend the afternoon reading papers and relaxing but there didn’t seem to be an inviting communal area in which to sit. The bar felt cold and lifeless with a stone floor and conference like chairs around small wooden tables. We sat and had a nice coffee but didn’t feel like we could relax, so ended up sitting in our room for a few hours before dinner. We would have liked to explore the area and grounds but the weather was terrible with torrential rain for the entire night and day.

Dinner is hosted in a very pretty dining room (ruined slightly by the gold chairs usually hired for weddings) and the food was pretty good with generous portions and lovely wine from the cellar in the chateau. The restaurant was completely packed and there was a nice atmosphere. Afterwards we had a drink in the bar but again it didn’t feel particularly cosy to finish off the evening.

Breakfast was a pretty standard continental offering which is what we expected considering it was included in the price of the room (138E).

The same lady who checked us in was also serving in the bar, at dinner, at breakfast and on call when the shower flooded and we needed more towels. She was helpful but seemed a little stretched attending to all the guests. It felt like you had to look for assistance if you needed it – there wasn’t someone waiting on hand at the bar or entrance if you needed them.

Overall we enjoyed our stay but it could have been a lot better if there was a cosy room with roaring fire to relax in. There seemed to be two rooms perfect for this but they were empty.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LondonAvA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

One gets the feeling that an injection of money or new owners have taken over the establishment. They were busy cleaning the outside, and our room had a lovely new bathroom - not quite in keeping with the feel of the Chateau. The rooms are in need of refurbishing and refreshing, but the staff were quite helpful - the dinner menus are good value for money, simple fair but lovely food and breakfast was reasonably basic but filling. Not a long stay holiday location YET but it was a very good spot for catching the ferry the next day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenwal38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel several times over 15 years and have always been impressed with the restaurant quality and the staff attentiveness. Its location is ideal for an overnight stay before returning to the UK via Calais or as afirst stop on the way into deepest France. Our most recent was a little disappointing only because the service was not as welcoming as before. Since leaving the "Best Western" hotel group the owners have commenced refurbishing the rooms notably the bathrooms which are to a better standard than I have seen at this hotel previously. The rooms are comfortable if a little bizarre in their furnishings, a mix of new and old styles which doesn't always work.. The restaurant is still excellent quality with good service, reasonable choice and price. The wine list is particularly good and reasonably priced for a restaurant of this standing, cheapest wines around £18 £25ish for a reasonable Cotes Du Rhone. I have read a few reviews refering to the musty smell in the corridors, I must say that there has always been a similar smell but I am not sure it is musty, it reminds me of old furniture polish rather than damp and I have not experienced it in the rooms

Room Tip: The hotel often offers standard room with breakfast included for around 110 Euros which is good valu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Recques-sur-Hem
7.7 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
752 reviews
20.4 mi away
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
Najeti Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
627 reviews
8.5 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
11.9 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
452 reviews
20.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantic
Hotel Atlantic
#1 of 5 in Wimereux
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chateau de Cocove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chateau de Cocove

Address: Avenue de Cocove, 62890 Recques-sur-Hem, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Recques-sur-Hem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Recques-sur-Hem
Price Range: $125 - $395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Chateau de Cocove 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Chateau de Cocove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Chateau De Cocove Hotel Recques-Sur-Hem
Chateau De Cocove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing