We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch venue”

L'Ancienne Gare de SAUVE
Ranked #1 of 16 Restaurants in Sauve
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed May 23, 2018 via mobile

Came to L'Ancienne Gare for an impromptu lunch and were lucky to get the last table for for 2 (remember to book next time!). We were welcomed by the restaurant "guard", the railway theme was evident everywhere even down to the table numbers. The outside seating area is well protected from the sun by umbrellas. Service was prompt and courteous, good choice of food on the menu plus dish of the day. I highly recommend this restaurant and will return when next in the area.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank gonlois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 430 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2018

We walked 5 minutes from the Charlotte's Airbnb to the Railway station using the old railway line trail. We had a 3 courses dinner with fresh food, original dishes (i.e scallops with boudin and apples crumble), entertaining owners explaining the history of the station and how they rebuilt it. And for railroad enthusiasts, you will love the SNCF artifacts...Then we walked through the Sauve medieval village.

Next day , back to the village, we met our restaurant host. Because he not only own a restaurant, but he is also a mason(as in masonry) where he 'restores' old medieval houses.

In short , he is in 'restauration' ,doing a great job!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Francois N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2018

On our holiday in Sauve, we decided to try a couple of restaurants and in terms of the 'finer' end of dining....L'Ancienne Gare, certainly came out on top ! A converted railway station was a fun setting and the bigger surprise was the superb quality of the food ! A great variety for the children too , it was really good food and fab hosts !! Give it a try if you are in the area, you won't be disappointed!

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017

Excellent restaurant with varied menus and a very friendly staff. There is even a maitre d who wears an old railway stationmaster's cap who shows you to your seat. Fine dining but in a casual atmosphere: great for families and groups as well.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EuroYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017

This excellent restaurant sits just off the main road and you cant miss it especially at night when its all lit up. There's inside, outside at the front or outside at the back (which is were the old platform would have been). Usually you are greeted by the owner in his guards hat and his wife fully participates recommending menus and wines, fully supported by an excellent knowledgeable staff. The food comes out fresh, tasty and leaves you wanting to return and I shall as my brother in law lives just further up the hill. Please try you won't regret it young or old.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cheapo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancienne Gare de SAUVE also viewed

 

Been to L'Ancienne Gare de SAUVE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing