We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but poor service”
Review of Chateau de L'ile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Chateau de L'ile
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but poor service”
Reviewed June 9, 2012

The resort is beautiful, has a nice garden, the rooms are OK, clean, the wellness area is sufficient (if there are not to many visitors). Close to Strassburg, but Ostwald itself is nothing to be visited. Even the chlorine smell some Tripadvisor users were complaining about was not there.
But the restaurant service was able to get me very upset:
- unprofessional, because they don't know how to be kind to customers;
- nothing about French "haute cuisine";
- half board to forget. The second dinner I was there, I became exactly the same menu as the evening before, with a choice between the identical 3 dishes). The unfriendly waiter confirmed, they don't use to change the menu. I tryed to say something, but the waiter just went away, didn't want to listen. I wish, my friends had let me go to the Italian pizzeria 200 meters away...
- bad organised serving breakfast, even if they just serve tea or coffee (the rest is on a buffet table for self service). You can see 6-7 waiters just looking around, doing nothing. It happened to me to wait half an hour before the only really working girl found the time to come, ask and serve hot water for tea.
- inconsistent, you ask for example for a drink, the answer coulb be negative. You ask 10 minutes later another guy, of course it is possible to have the same drink!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benedetto16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de L'ile, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on Tripadvisor.
We note your feedback. However, we are very surprised by your comment. Our customers are usually satisfied with the quality of our staff. It is probably relating to language misunderstandings.
We will do our best so that this situation never happens again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    168
    66
    25
    10
See reviews for
101
255
9
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Lucia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great place to stay in the Strasbourg area when you want to be able to visit Strasbourg but also meander through the Alsace countryside. Rooms are well-appointed and there is a good size indoor swimming pool and spa. There are two (2) restaurants on property and a bar. It is in an extremely quiet area and has a wonderful setting with the grounds and the river flowing by.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaribbeanDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateaux_hotels_gef, Responsable relations publiques at Chateau de L'ile, responded to this review, June 8, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for your kind comment.
Our location is ideal for a relaxing and enjoying Strasbourg and its region.
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked this charming chateau near Strasbourg for a three nights stay over Easter holiday 2012 together with another family with two kids. Both families were happy to have stayed in this lovely hotel with its nice park. Their Easter egg hunt for the kids was really good and all of our 4 girls just loved the chateau. Their winstub was very nice and family friendly. Their indoor swimming pool was o.k but I would not call the whole a "Spa". Indoor pool with jacuzzi, little sauna and steam-box would probably be the better naming. But with the nice rooms on the third floor, the quality of food, the friendly reception and their overall hospitality we would recommend the Chateau for a nice stay with kids.

Room Tip: With a family we recommend 316 or 318 on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akyol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Booked in for new years eve and had the fancy room they show in the pictures! was the top of the tallest tower, with private terrace huge room and was lovely. The staff were super friendly and very helpful.

So whats wrong ... We'll it's just that they miss on so am other things - the basic things. Like why dos the whole hotel have to smell of chlorine because it has a spa? Why s thee no exercise equipment for a health orientated cliente? Why is the wall paper magnolia everywhere? In the spa why is the jacuzzi, steam room and sauna for a two people - i promise you would need to be on very good terms to share these facilities with another couple!

So, if you like Spa's or you like really nice weekends away, why would you stay here. Perhaps if you can't find somewhere else ... That is the only reason we would go back.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Selfation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We spent a long week end with my wife at the Chateau de L'Ile and we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very well located, 15 min drive from Strasbourg city center, in a beautiful park and very quiet atmosphere. The room was very cleaned and in line with high class standards with flat screen TV, bathroom with bath and shower, seperate toilet and a very appreciated terrasse.
We had a dinner @ the Brasserie of the hotel, the dishes were very good quality but we would have appreciated more local specialités of Alsace.
The hotel is offering a Spa which is fine but is not the best one we've seen. If you are going for a little swim and relaxing time in jacuzzi and hammam, that's ok but that's not really a high class Spa, we prefer l'Hostellerie des Chateaux in Ottrot.
The best point is the service and especially the staff who is very smily, helpful and guest oriented. They ensure guest satisfaction along the stay. Only the 2 ladies in Breakfast were less smily but they were professional.
We recommend this hotel for romantic week-ends and fans of Alsace region.
Congratulations to the team and see you soon!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stanley_Seba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

We had intented to eat at the Winstub at the Chateau de L'ile for a while but somehow never managed to book in time. This time my sister managed to secure a table for 10 and we were looking forward to eat there as we had enjoyed it very much many years ago. What a difference this time. The waiter we had was incredibly rude and snooty and the food was quite poor! We had to ask time and again for missing dishes which arrived eventually without an apology. The waiter even doubted us when we asked for one of the children's desserts which had not been served. Altogether a very poor experience which we are in no hurry to repeat.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeatriceCSandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

I spent 3 nights in this hotel thinking that by paying close to 500 euros per night would be enought to treat my family to a nice break. Little did I know that I woyld be spending my nights in the worst bed ever, in a very small room, not terrebly clean, and certainly not new. The bath was very old and not nice. The lighting in the room was horrendous. The room was only reachable by staircase as the elevator did not reach second floor. Not only I will not go back, but I decided to take a few minutes and write this review so maybe no one else will make my mistake. To be fair the food in the restaurant (but only one open and tow) was good. Do not go there. Regards

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Teti2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostwald
Petite France Centre
Regent Petite France & Spa
Regent Petite France & Spa
#6 of 129 in Strasbourg
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Athena Hotel & Spa
#5 of 129 in Strasbourg
539 reviews
Hotel Les Haras
#4 of 129 in Strasbourg
374 reviews
Petite France Nord Est
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
Hotel Le Bouclier d'Or
#2 of 129 in Strasbourg
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de L'ile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de L'ile

Property: Chateau de L'ile
Address: 4 quai Heydt, 67541 Ostwald, Strasbourg, France
Location: France > Grand Est > Bas-Rhin > Strasbourg > Ostwald
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ostwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chateau de L'ile 5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the gateway to Strasbourg, come and discover the Château de l’Ile and its 62 rooms. Enjoy the charm of its service, its restaurants and its spa, in the heart of a beautifully preserved natural area.The Château de l’Ile also hosts your professional and private events in its 12 reception rooms and outdoors in its delightful grounds.Comfort and tranquillity in the heart of the European capital ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de L'ile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De l`Ile Hotel Ostwald
Chateau De l Ile Ostwald
Chateau De L'Ile Strasbourg/Ostwald, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing