We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly wonderful place, great value for money!”
Review of Fleurs des Iles

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Fleurs des Iles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in june 2013 and absolytely loved it. It's charming, nice, well laid out, clean, great staff, amazing beach, great pool, it's all just fantastic. And very affordable too! When we had to change our plans and canceled the last night orginally booked that same morning : no problem whatsoever, very helpful, very understanding. These people make you feel at home, it's just amazing to sit on your own veranda, with your own ourdoor kichtenette, looking at the lush gardens (flowers everywhere!!) or at the zillion stars at night. It's the best ever and nt jsu worth the detour, but worth the trip, as the Michelin-people say. In short : highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: All rooms (cabins actually) great as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc-Reina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2013

Staying at Fleurs des Iles was THE highlight of our trip to Guadeloupe. The garden is wonderful, the swimming pool area very comfortable and the bungalows are very well equipped. We were welcomed warmly and got great advice on what to do and where to go.

We spent a lot of time driving around chasing for good beaches (typical postcard ones with white sand, turquoise water and palm tress) but realized pretty quickly that we had the best one at our doorstep!

I absolutely encourage anyone visiting Guadeloupe to stay at Fleurs des Iles.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed at Fleurs des Iles for three weeks in high season with our toddler and were happy with our choice. I endorse all the positive things previous reviewers have said, in particular the practically furnished bungalows (the kitchen is good to prepare breakfast and snacks/pasta/salad, probably not sufficient to cook a full meal) and the lush tropical garden they're set in, including the pleasant pool. Direct access to one of Guadeloupe's best beaches is definitely a bonus.
Another bonus: the atmosphere is most enjoyable - very relaxed and convivial. The weekly cocktail invitations by the pool are a great opportunity to get to know other guests and staff. In season there are also table d'hote dinners by the pool twice a week. The food is good and the price okay, the service very nice - recommended.
Altogether, the staff is friendly and very helpful in all matters and speaks English, which - be warned - must not be taken for granted on Guadeloupe. They will launder and dry a machine-load of clothes for you for € 5,-. We forgot a precious flute in our room and it was kept and mailed to us very promptly.
For breakfast, to get your croissants and baguette walk to the gas-station or drive to the nearby village of Deshaies. For groceries, there are two supermarkets in and just before the village Sainte Rose. Beware: dairy products are expensive on Guadeloupe, go for the heavenly local fruits and avocados.
There were plenty of interesting sights within an hour drive to keep us busy for three weeks. In particular, we liked the La Grivelière and Vanibel plantations and the Maison du Cacao. Deshaies is a great place to stay on Guadeloupe. And don't miss the spectacular diving.

On the downside, I have to report that one night, a thief entered the property AND our bungalow (in which we were sleeping!!!). Other guests had been more cautious than us from the beginning and kept their bungalows locked at night.
Actually the perpetrator used the beach-entrance, which - contrary to what was indicated in the room - was not locked at night. As I learned at the police, such incidents (as well as thefts on the beach while people are swimming in the sea - be wary) seem to be relatively frequent in the area and the unlighted and unlocked beach-door obviously is an attractive opportunity.
The manager Olivier was very helpful after the incident. He was at hand within five minutes of the incident at 1 am with a shotgun and a searchlight (!) and communicated with police for us.
The only suggestion I have is to put a reminder in the rooms that guests should properly lock their bungalows when away and for the night for their own comfort.

Otherwise, our time at Fleurs des Iles was a thoroughly positive experience. We warmly recommend this property and will definitely consider staying there again if we return to Guadeloupe.

Room Tip: Some bungalows face the pool in the middle of the garden and some face the sea, but the layout of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This excellent place has comfortable and well equipped bungalows set in idyllic sirroundings - ideal for a very relaxing holiday. We liked it so much last year that we came again for two weeks this year! The attractive bungalows are set in beautiful tropical gardens, round a pleasant pool and it is only 50 metres walk through the palms to one of the best beaches in Guadeloupe. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the place is professionally run. Convenient for exploring Basse Terre and only a few minutes drive into Deshaies for shops, restaurants etc (in addition to those close by).
Thanks to Olivier, Manoëlle and co for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AandLGolfeJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

The hotel is quite simple, but very, very nice. The bungalows are quiet, set in a lush garden, only a minute from the beach.
The rooms have everything one needs for a relaxed beach holiday and the owners are very friendly and helpful, hosting a cocktail evening for their gusts once a week.Don´t expect any luxury, but for the price of the hotel, you get an amazing place to stay right at the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have been in this wounderful place in April: everyhing was perfect! The bungalow was very nice, not small, clean and it has a patio with a little kitchen where You can eat surrounded by amazing flowers and lovely small birds!
In front of the bungalows there is a marvellous beach, almost desert, where You can rest under the shadows of the many palms (the beach is really quiet and silent)... and at noon You can eat mrs De Marco's tasty and very very cheap bouquits (You will find her camper at a few minute walk).
The only negative aspect is the fact that without a car You can't even eat at evening, since the closest restaurants and markets are accesible only by car (there is a very little market at the close petrole service station, but the service is quite unpleasant).
The island is a real paradise both for the enviroment and the sights!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank siuxsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

We stayed here Jan 5-16 in Bungalow "Alpinia". The grounds were even more lush than on our last trip-July in 2006-It was too hot then, so we decided to come here in the Winter-w just bit the bullet and payed the high- season rates-it was well worth it, not to have to be sweating constantly. We used their Lascar car hire services-they had rates much lower than Europcar, and they were local-office was in Deshaies-they had no branch office at the airport. The Lascar driver picked us up at the airport-2 hours late, and we had two people call them on their cellphones for us-The American cellphones(we have T-mobile) do not work there. This was the only annoyance on our trip. You must speak fluent French or Creole to get understood. We muddled through with basic French and a few Creole words,but this is not for everyone. The bungalow had all we needed-you bring your used towels to the reception, and they give you fresh ones. Nelly cleas the cabins-she is a smiling, happy young girl who brings joy to the place every morning. The birds/flowers/singing frogs/ are all delightful. At sunset, the frogs start chirping-that's when everyone is back in their bungalows having their first cocktail. Some couples prefer to spend sunset sitting on the beach. Even in Winter, there were mosquitos!(and no seeum bugs!) We had to use citronelle candles every night and anti-mosquito coils on our plastic outdoor dining table every night. But, that's part of the Caribbean. Still, we thought the bugs would not be there in January. We have no complaints-Olivier/Bridgitte/Nelly/everyone was very helpful-I just wish we could have understood the Creole Patois. We will return as soon as we get some more money!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sneepy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Deshaies hotels
2.9 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
244 reviews
0.3 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 29 in Deshaies
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Au Jardin des Colibris
Au Jardin des Colibris
#2 of 29 in Deshaies
896 reviews
0.7 mi away
Les Reves d'Or
Les Reves d'Or
#1 of 8 in Deshaies
254 reviews
1.9 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleurs des Iles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleurs des Iles

Address: Plage Grande-Anse, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range: $85 - $646 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fleurs des Iles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fleurs Des Iles Deshaies
Fleurs Des Iles Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing