We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Jardin Botanique de Deshaies
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Deshaies
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: A Spectacular Botanical Garden and Wildlife Park Open to the public since the 1st April 2001, the Botanical Gardens at Deshaies are a recent creation. This park, whose youth is imperceptible, has very quickly imposed itself as the place to be for nature enthusiasts and lovers of tropical plants. Situated on the windward coast of Basse-Terre, 100m in altitude up above the town of Deshaies, the garden stretches out over 5 hectares of sloping mountainside. Its favourable location guarantees beautiful views over the coast and an unrivalled vantage-point overlooking the bay of Deshaies. The site was already home to a nursery created by Guy Blandin, a plant-lover who brought rare and unknown plant species from his travels around the world back to Guadeloupe. Many of them unfortunately disappeared when Cyclone Hugo hit and severely damaged the island in 1989. The humorist Michel Colluci, also known as Coluche, acquired the property in 1979. A few years later, in 1985, he invited his friend Michel Gaillard, an interior landscaper in mainland France, to set up his nursery there in exchange for taking care of the property's garden. A year later, the death of Coluche brought the future of the property back into question. Michel Gaillard bought back the property in 1991 to honour the memory of his friend, with the idea in mind of creating a botanical garden. This risky and ambitious project required several years of planning, of research into its feasibility and then of execution. The garden was finally brought about in accordance with Michel Gaillard's and the landscaper Samuel Craquelin's plans. Over the course of the path which snakes its way through the gardens, visitors today discover a world of real abundance: a world with 800 species of plant all brought together, with several animal species, which were introduced much to the delight of children, and with the most spectacular and unexpected landscapes following one after the other. Tourists are invited on an unforgettable walk amidst fifteen or so different scenes.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Deshaies, Guadeloupe
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place is wonderful to visit any time of the year. There is always something different to see each time. So many different varieties of plants and flowers. My favourite part is always the birds. The little multicoloured ones that are nectar addicts. They will land right on you and that makes for some great photos! and the McCaws near the end of your visit are characters as well. Because we are locals we buy the year pass and I like to get my walks in there when I have a chance. Easy access for anyone with a disability, or age related physical issues. The restaurant is pretty good as well, the view is fantastic!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mettalchic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,878
    1,010
    149
    20
    5
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An Excellent Couple of Hours”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We've been to Martinique many times but had never visited the Botanic Garden. The vegetation is, of course, breathtaking. The park is beautifully maintained and there are two nice restaurants. My husband fed the parrots in that exhibit and immediately had six or eight of them sitting on his shoulders and arms! It's a great place to see all of the plant wonders that populate Martinique in one lovely setting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharonannie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Well maintained Botanical Garden like Fairfield in Miami”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The Bird cage was crazy fun. The birds fly all over and land on you if you feed them. Great for pictures. Restaurant was nice too half way through the garden. ICe cream and Planteur.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aspendouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
247 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful relaxation”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The gardens are well set out and the colours of the flowers were beautiful. Only disappointment, not many lilies around when we were there, possibly wrong time of year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
106 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
“Expensive but a great restaurant”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

It's become something of a tradition that we go to the Botanic Gardens armed with a pocket full of 50c pieces and feed the fishes, feed the parrots, feed the goats. It's also something of a tradition that we stand at the entrance going 'HOW MUCH?' Was it that much last year? Is it REALLY that much? Isn't there a family ticket or something? Did we get a family ticket last year? Surely it can't be that much?

Every year. Same conversation.

The restaurant inside is excellent and, for Guadeloupe, good value but since a family of four is already in for something like 60 Euros entrance before you eat it does all add up to an expensive lunch.

Still a lovely spot to visit though and worth the entrance fee. Once. I think that particular family tradition will have to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jgm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jardin Botanique de Deshaies also viewed

Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 
Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
Parc National, Basse-Terre Island
 

Been to Jardin Botanique de Deshaies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing