We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful setting, peaceful, terrific value, great hosts.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Jardin des Colibris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We had four delightful days in one of the bungalows (gites), which was clean, cheerful, roomy, with good kitchen facilities. The property is designed and beautifully landscaped to provide a feeling a privacy even though the bungalows and cabins are close together. There's a roofed front porch, hammock, table and chairs, and birdfeeders for watching the numerous hummingbirds and sugarbirds. It's located in a very quiet part of Guadeloupe, but just outside the village of Deshaies and near the beach at Grande Anse, and not too far from Pointe Noire and the cross-island road.
Best of all, Matthieu was a most friendly and helpful host. All his tips about places to visit and eat turned out to be on the mark. Although he was apologetic about his English, it was quite good, and so this would be a very comfortable place for English-speaking tourists. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zencello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (877)
There are newer reviews for Au Jardin des Colibris
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 877 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2010

My husband and I visited Deshaies from the US for a weeklong stay at Au Jardin des Colibris. We've traveled to other Caribbean islands, and Guadeloupe had by far the best infrastructure (particularly roads) of any we've visited. We never felt unsafe or hassled as tourists there, even when we arrived at almost 11 PM and had to drive a rental car across the island from Pointe-a-Pitre to Deshaies at that hour.

Accomodations in the French Caribbean can be a little different than what you might expect elsewhere. Au Jardin des Colibris offers "gites", which are more like renting a house, including a kitchen, than something like a hotel or Bed and Breakfast. Since this was our first experience in a gite, we didn't realize that while bedsheets, dishes, silverware, pans, dishsoap, a hammock, and 2 towels were provided, we were on our own for toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags (and disposal of said garbage in the city), handsoap, beach towels, and food/drinks. The room is not cleaned and towels are not automatically replaced until after you leave, and you do need to pay for cleaning of your room if you don't wish to clean it yourself. We still very much enjoyed our stay, but it took us a few hours to figure out where to purchase necessities (Greg and Matthieu helped) and get settled. Also, the resort does not take credit cards (an electronic wire transfer or cash are the only options) which was a bit of a hassle. Just a heads up for Americans that might be expecting a traditional hotel experience!

Other reviews of this property have mentioned that the location is idyllic, and that is absolutely true. Deshaies is a sleepy, but friendly, town that includes a few good restaurants, a useful grocery store, an ATM/post office, and a gas station. It's also right by Grande Anse, the most popular beach in the area, and Plage Leroux, a quieter, more secluded beach. We also took 30-40 minutes to drive to the Parc Nationale de Guadeloupe for hiking, and Plage de Malendure for snorkeling and kayaking. A really big supermarket and other good restaurants were also close by in Sainte Rose.

I never saw anyone use the pool at Au Jardin des Colibris, which is probably because the beautiful beaches were so close by, but the porch of our gite was extremely nice to have. We ate a relaxing breakfast each morning there and were visited by many chickens, 3-4 friendly cats, and countless little birds and hummingbirds. Mosquitoes were almost non-existent, but there were insect repellent candles in the room for ambiance at dinner and to discourage the few insects that might have come.

Two final tips: high school level French would be very helpful, particularly away from the resort. And also, don't use Google maps to find Au Jardin des Colibris. The directions are completely wrong! Contact Matthieu directly if you need directions.

We'd definitely recommend Au Jardin des Colibris for a romantic, private, and extremely relaxing getaway. It would also be a great place to take small children due to the good infrastructure, safe water supply, and ability to set your own schedule and make your own meals. We were the only American tourists on the island for almost our entire trip, which was refreshing. I hope this review helps more of us find our way down there.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pies618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Au Jardin des Colibris may be the most charming hotel I've ever stayed in. Each bungalow (they are of varying sizes) has fantastic privacy, and a beautiful garden. The owners are very friendly and will give you all the information you need to know to have a great time on Guadeloupe (although speaking some French is helpful). Deshaies, as a base, is ideal for exploring Basse Terre. The hummingbirds, and especially the small yellow birds called "sucriers," really will visit you at breakfast each day! This is a wonderful place to relax after a day of adventure, or just the beach, on Guadeloupe.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sso617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2010

We just spent 2 weeks Au Jardin des Colibris with 2 young chlidren aged 3 and 5 years old. We all really enjoyed our stay. The location is quiet and nice, the village near by is small but has all that you need (shops, restaurants,...) the beaches are fantastic. From Deshaies, you can visit around (La Soufrière, Parc des Mamelles, Grande Terre, Basse Terre, waterfalls, etc...). it is also a strategic place for the one who like hiking.
The lodging (yellow one) has a nice terrasse, is nicely decorated and cosy. The kids enjoyed the tropical garden and all the animals. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful.
We can recommand the place!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carstounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2009

Really nice place to stay in Guadeloupe, extremely nice gardens with plenty of animals (especially colibris), very near to beautiful beaches (La Perle) and very nice, always helpful hosts (Sophie et Matthieu).

Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank w_usa007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

We had high expectations of Guadeloupe and Au Jardin des Colibris and both expectations were even topped. Accomodation and location are beautiful and the diversity of Guadeloupe nature, sealife, sightings etc. is great. We were serviced very well by Sandra and Mathieu. They gave very good advices in were to go and they are really doing everything to make your stay perfect! Thanks for a new number 1 on our list of holidays!!!
Edwin, Yvonne, Gijs and Koen from The Netherlands

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdwinStokman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2009

We stayed in the Case Creole, which is small, but nicely quirky with its outdoor shower (you do have enough privacy, don't worry) and has everything you need. The property is located on a hill, the village of Deshaies is in the valley and has some nice restaurants and all basic facilities. Some great beaches are north and south of Deshaies. The little houses themselves are set in a tropical garden, it's great to see and hear the birds (yes, including colibris).

Mathieu, Sophie, and Sandra provide great service and answer all your questions. They gave us good advice during our stay on getting fuel for our rental car, because there was a strike going on and all petrol stations were closed. Because of this severe strike in January 2009 I'm not entirely sure if I can recommend Guadeloupe, but if you go the Jardin des Colibris is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank joris_zwart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
1.2 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 29 in Deshaies
388 reviews
0.8 mi away
O Coeur de Deshaies
O Coeur de Deshaies
#3 of 29 in Deshaies
408 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piton Bungalows
Piton Bungalows
#1 of 29 in Deshaies
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Jardin des Colibris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Jardin des Colibris

Address: Viller, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range: $120 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of a luxurious tropical garden, Au Jardin des colibris is a boutique hotel right next to the botanical garden and a few minutes from the most beautiful beaches. Charming bungalows, cottages, incredible hut in the trees, lodge and villa with an amazing sea view nested inside the tropical forest close to quiet, calm and nature ... With a pool 24/24 open. "One of the best address in Guadeloupe," wrote the famous Hachette Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Au Jardin des Colibris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Jardin Des Colibris Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing