We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recommend Cabane dans les Arbres”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Jardin des Colibris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recommend Cabane dans les Arbres”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We experienced warm hospitality from the owner, Matthieu, and his staff - a wonderful ambience! I recommend the Cabane dans les Arbres for a true nature experience - it really is a treehouse in the forest, but still has modern amenities, and even the central pool! While my husband went diving, I enjoyed watching the hummingbirds, sugarbirds, and finches at feeders hung on our front porch. It was amazing to me to see a dozen sugarbirds at a time in the feeder, eating the grains of sugar I had set out. We would definitely return and stay here again - it was a very positive experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k-wren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    728
    93
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
327
429
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Corvallis, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2011

My wife and I travel to different Caribbean Islands every December and Au Jradin fit our needs perfectly. We look for a private, CLEAN, safe, beautiful, spacious place to stay that has a kitchen and porch (or veranda), is on an interesting part of the island, near beautiful beaches and away from the crowds, but with services. This is what we found at Au Jardin.

Matthieu greeted us in English on an island where few Americans go and fewer locals and visitors speak English. He was exceedingly helpful in making reservations at the best French restaurant in Deshaies (the BEST town on the island) on our anniversary, gave us insight into snorkelling sites, gave us discount tickets to get into the Botanical Garders very close to Au Jardin (and totally worth the visit), arranged a kayak at a discount, answered our questions about the French language and gave us excellent driving instructions (you MUST rent a car). He set up the car rental for us ahead of time at the airport and arranged our prepaid ferry tickets to Marie Gallante. We came back from our anniversary dinner and found a card, flowers and a botttle of local rum punch sitting on our table! Incredible!

Guadeloupe is France! The food is spectacular, the markets well stocked, the people polite and friendly and it is very safe. This rates as one of our best ever trips...and there have been many. I had the entire trip booked by the end of February and everything went as planned. Au Jardin was the PERFECT place to start and have as a home base on Guadeloupe.

Room Tip: Red room was perfect for two, but you could put a kid or two in as well. There is no air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeewolde, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at the creole hut and were very glad with our choice. Perfect hosts, very nice cabin (the outdoor kitchen and shower are top notch!) and beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CLMB10122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Châtel-St-Denis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in the red gîte for 2 weeks with our 3 kids (ages 6,9,11) and had a great time. The kids had a great time exploring the garden and catching frogs, lizards, hermit crabs. Every morning the chickens would pay us a visit, as would Zouzou the cat and all the hummingbirds.
It was a great place to come back to and relax every night after exploring the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a really a message to say thank you to Matthieu and his team for creating such a wonderful place for people to stay.

We had never visited Guadeloupe before, and I found Jardin de Colibris via the internet.

The gite that we stayed in was the perfect size and well equipped with everything we could need. It had a beautiful terrace, surrounded by fruit trees and bright flowers. The garden is well landscaped to allow privacy for each little house. There is also a lovely swimming pool with decking and access to a wifi network.

Matthieu and his team were brilliant! Organised, welcoming, and very helpful. Renting a car is useful in terms of getting around in Guadeloupe. Despite a very last minute email from me, there was someone from the car rental company that they have links with at the airport to collect us.

On our first morning we awoke to a lovely breakfast of fresh juice, yogurts, bread and passion fruit and mango jam. We then wandered down to the reception hut where Matthieu talked us through the many options of places to go and things to do.

We visited golden sand beaches with warm sea, kayaked through the mangroves with an expert on the ecosystem/wildlife in the area and swam in a waterfall pool on a tropical forest walk. Matthieu even managed to contact a fisherman friend, who bought us fresh lobsters for our BBQ!

In summary, do take a chance and go to Guadeloupe. It is beautiful, and above all one of the friendliest places we have ever been. Jardin des Colibris is a truly special place where you can relax and soak it all up.

Thank you so much for contributing to such a wonderful holiday!

Jasmine and Paul

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Arriving here for our second week of holidays, and all what happenend before, during our first week, was forgotten!

We discovered a beautiful site with an excellent welcome!
Colibris everywhere, little frogs singing in the evening, a small but comfy pool, kind people giving you tips and hints about the environment, nothing was too much. Thanks again to the colibris "team" for that!

It was just a perfect stay where we enjoyed the gite and the tree house. The "red" gite was cosy and nice. Very pleasant and well equipped.
The tree house was stunning and very comfortable. A real sensation of living in the trees. We really recommend you to stay in this special tree house for some time, if you can, and enjoy the shower outside.

We were very happy with our stay overthere and we are sure that if you decide to go there, you will join "the club" of "people who had a great stay"!! It is a perfect place not only because of the site and the service but also because there are all kinds of activities within reach: wonderfull hiking trails, diving, snorkling, canoeing, beaches etc...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repelsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

First of all, the most important fact is the personnel: really friendly, nice, good advice on the places to see according to your interest, makes you feel home, and do their best to comfort you. Then the environment is amazingly beautiful: you are in the middle of the tropical forest, as the name says it is really a garden of humming birds (colibris), there are lot of them and they make your vacation and you can almost touch the birds. Last, the swimming pool (not to big to stay in accordance with the nature) is really cute, almost like your private pool.
Pretty close to all the stuffs you need: 5mins drive to the beach, near by town (where you can find very nice resto for good price), supermarket etc., If you like to live with a nature, far from the crowded tourists everywhere, peaceful holidays, this is the place to go!
We rented a "gite de charme" (which is perfect, just the A/C is missing in the bedroom), and just like that the "cabane" looks really cool to us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaunty_thetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
1.2 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#1 of 2 in Deshaies
415 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 22 in Le Gosier
1,246 reviews
1.9 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 30 in Deshaies
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Piton Bungalows
Piton Bungalows
#1 of 30 in Deshaies
288 reviews
3.6 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
1.7 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#4 of 30 in Deshaies
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Jardin des Colibris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Jardin des Colibris

Property: Au Jardin des Colibris
Address: Viller, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of a luxurious tropical garden, Au Jardin des colibris is a boutique hotel right next to the botanical garden and a few minutes from the most beautiful beaches. Charming bungalows, cottages, incredible hut in the trees, lodge and villa with an amazing sea view nested inside the tropical forest close to quiet, calm and nature ... With a pool 24/24 open. "One of the best address in Guadeloupe," wrote the famous Hachette Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Au Jardin des Colibris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Jardin Des Colibris Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing