We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Au Jardin des Colibris
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Châtel-St-Denis
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We stayed in the red gîte for 2 weeks with our 3 kids (ages 6,9,11) and had a great time. The kids had a great time exploring the garden and catching frogs, lizards, hermit crabs. Every morning the chickens would pay us a visit, as would Zouzou the cat and all the hummingbirds.
It was a great place to come back to and relax every night after exploring the island.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chocomoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    95
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
334
446
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a really a message to say thank you to Matthieu and his team for creating such a wonderful place for people to stay.

We had never visited Guadeloupe before, and I found Jardin de Colibris via the internet.

The gite that we stayed in was the perfect size and well equipped with everything we could need. It had a beautiful terrace, surrounded by fruit trees and bright flowers. The garden is well landscaped to allow privacy for each little house. There is also a lovely swimming pool with decking and access to a wifi network.

Matthieu and his team were brilliant! Organised, welcoming, and very helpful. Renting a car is useful in terms of getting around in Guadeloupe. Despite a very last minute email from me, there was someone from the car rental company that they have links with at the airport to collect us.

On our first morning we awoke to a lovely breakfast of fresh juice, yogurts, bread and passion fruit and mango jam. We then wandered down to the reception hut where Matthieu talked us through the many options of places to go and things to do.

We visited golden sand beaches with warm sea, kayaked through the mangroves with an expert on the ecosystem/wildlife in the area and swam in a waterfall pool on a tropical forest walk. Matthieu even managed to contact a fisherman friend, who bought us fresh lobsters for our BBQ!

In summary, do take a chance and go to Guadeloupe. It is beautiful, and above all one of the friendliest places we have ever been. Jardin des Colibris is a truly special place where you can relax and soak it all up.

Thank you so much for contributing to such a wonderful holiday!

Jasmine and Paul

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasmineAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Arriving here for our second week of holidays, and all what happenend before, during our first week, was forgotten!

We discovered a beautiful site with an excellent welcome!
Colibris everywhere, little frogs singing in the evening, a small but comfy pool, kind people giving you tips and hints about the environment, nothing was too much. Thanks again to the colibris "team" for that!

It was just a perfect stay where we enjoyed the gite and the tree house. The "red" gite was cosy and nice. Very pleasant and well equipped.
The tree house was stunning and very comfortable. A real sensation of living in the trees. We really recommend you to stay in this special tree house for some time, if you can, and enjoy the shower outside.

We were very happy with our stay overthere and we are sure that if you decide to go there, you will join "the club" of "people who had a great stay"!! It is a perfect place not only because of the site and the service but also because there are all kinds of activities within reach: wonderfull hiking trails, diving, snorkling, canoeing, beaches etc...

Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repelsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

First of all, the most important fact is the personnel: really friendly, nice, good advice on the places to see according to your interest, makes you feel home, and do their best to comfort you. Then the environment is amazingly beautiful: you are in the middle of the tropical forest, as the name says it is really a garden of humming birds (colibris), there are lot of them and they make your vacation and you can almost touch the birds. Last, the swimming pool (not to big to stay in accordance with the nature) is really cute, almost like your private pool.
Pretty close to all the stuffs you need: 5mins drive to the beach, near by town (where you can find very nice resto for good price), supermarket etc., If you like to live with a nature, far from the crowded tourists everywhere, peaceful holidays, this is the place to go!
We rented a "gite de charme" (which is perfect, just the A/C is missing in the bedroom), and just like that the "cabane" looks really cool to us!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaunty_thetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We had four delightful days in one of the bungalows (gites), which was clean, cheerful, roomy, with good kitchen facilities. The property is designed and beautifully landscaped to provide a feeling a privacy even though the bungalows and cabins are close together. There's a roofed front porch, hammock, table and chairs, and birdfeeders for watching the numerous hummingbirds and sugarbirds. It's located in a very quiet part of Guadeloupe, but just outside the village of Deshaies and near the beach at Grande Anse, and not too far from Pointe Noire and the cross-island road.
Best of all, Matthieu was a most friendly and helpful host. All his tips about places to visit and eat turned out to be on the mark. Although he was apologetic about his English, it was quite good, and so this would be a very comfortable place for English-speaking tourists. HIghly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zencello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2010

My husband and I visited Deshaies from the US for a weeklong stay at Au Jardin des Colibris. We've traveled to other Caribbean islands, and Guadeloupe had by far the best infrastructure (particularly roads) of any we've visited. We never felt unsafe or hassled as tourists there, even when we arrived at almost 11 PM and had to drive a rental car across the island from Pointe-a-Pitre to Deshaies at that hour.

Accomodations in the French Caribbean can be a little different than what you might expect elsewhere. Au Jardin des Colibris offers "gites", which are more like renting a house, including a kitchen, than something like a hotel or Bed and Breakfast. Since this was our first experience in a gite, we didn't realize that while bedsheets, dishes, silverware, pans, dishsoap, a hammock, and 2 towels were provided, we were on our own for toilet paper, paper towels, garbage bags (and disposal of said garbage in the city), handsoap, beach towels, and food/drinks. The room is not cleaned and towels are not automatically replaced until after you leave, and you do need to pay for cleaning of your room if you don't wish to clean it yourself. We still very much enjoyed our stay, but it took us a few hours to figure out where to purchase necessities (Greg and Matthieu helped) and get settled. Also, the resort does not take credit cards (an electronic wire transfer or cash are the only options) which was a bit of a hassle. Just a heads up for Americans that might be expecting a traditional hotel experience!

Other reviews of this property have mentioned that the location is idyllic, and that is absolutely true. Deshaies is a sleepy, but friendly, town that includes a few good restaurants, a useful grocery store, an ATM/post office, and a gas station. It's also right by Grande Anse, the most popular beach in the area, and Plage Leroux, a quieter, more secluded beach. We also took 30-40 minutes to drive to the Parc Nationale de Guadeloupe for hiking, and Plage de Malendure for snorkeling and kayaking. A really big supermarket and other good restaurants were also close by in Sainte Rose.

I never saw anyone use the pool at Au Jardin des Colibris, which is probably because the beautiful beaches were so close by, but the porch of our gite was extremely nice to have. We ate a relaxing breakfast each morning there and were visited by many chickens, 3-4 friendly cats, and countless little birds and hummingbirds. Mosquitoes were almost non-existent, but there were insect repellent candles in the room for ambiance at dinner and to discourage the few insects that might have come.

Two final tips: high school level French would be very helpful, particularly away from the resort. And also, don't use Google maps to find Au Jardin des Colibris. The directions are completely wrong! Contact Matthieu directly if you need directions.

We'd definitely recommend Au Jardin des Colibris for a romantic, private, and extremely relaxing getaway. It would also be a great place to take small children due to the good infrastructure, safe water supply, and ability to set your own schedule and make your own meals. We were the only American tourists on the island for almost our entire trip, which was refreshing. I hope this review helps more of us find our way down there.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pies618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Au Jardin des Colibris may be the most charming hotel I've ever stayed in. Each bungalow (they are of varying sizes) has fantastic privacy, and a beautiful garden. The owners are very friendly and will give you all the information you need to know to have a great time on Guadeloupe (although speaking some French is helpful). Deshaies, as a base, is ideal for exploring Basse Terre. The hummingbirds, and especially the small yellow birds called "sucriers," really will visit you at breakfast each day! This is a wonderful place to relax after a day of adventure, or just the beach, on Guadeloupe.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sso617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
1.2 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
425 reviews
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,281 reviews
1.7 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 29 in Deshaies
377 reviews
2.9 mi away
Piton Bungalows
Piton Bungalows
#1 of 29 in Deshaies
298 reviews
2.3 mi away
Les Reves d'Or
Les Reves d'Or
#1 of 8 in Deshaies
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Au Jardin des Colibris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Au Jardin des Colibris

Property: Au Jardin des Colibris
Address: Viller, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the heart of a luxurious tropical garden, Au Jardin des colibris is a boutique hotel right next to the botanical garden and a few minutes from the most beautiful beaches. Charming bungalows, cottages, incredible hut in the trees, lodge and villa with an amazing sea view nested inside the tropical forest close to quiet, calm and nature ... With a pool 24/24 open. "One of the best address in Guadeloupe," wrote the famous Hachette Guide. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Au Jardin des Colibris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Au Jardin Des Colibris Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing