We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New owners struggling to cope”
Review of Le Rayon Vert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Le Rayon Vert
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Deshaies
Certificate of Excellence
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“New owners struggling to cope”
Reviewed January 30, 2010

Lovely situation overlooking sea with attractive pool and bar areas, this hotel has just had new owners who are clearly struggling. Rooms in separate chalets in the garden are roomy but let down by poor maintenance. Restaurant service at best described as indifferent and at every breakfast during a our 4 night stay something vital was missing (plates, coffee, spoons etc). We heard good things from people who stayed last year so I hope they can get it back on track.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BagmanEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    155
    26
    16
    5
See reviews for
104
231
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2009

My wife and I arrived on New Year's Day in the evening after a difficult taxi ride from Pointe a Pitre. Sylvie and Marc, the owners, immediately helped us and made us feel welcome. We were invited to sit for dinner (it was already 8:45 PM) before we went to our room. The meal that night was great -- excellent tuna. (Dinners the other nights were also excellent.)

Our room was excellent -- modern and clean - with a good view of the ocean,

The breakfast each morning was amazing (remember this is France!); a buffet of eggs, bacon, fruit, rolls, juice,and great coffee. Truly unexpected and really prepared us for each day (We stayed 4 nights).

Most remarkable though was the help that Marc and Sylvie gave us; we arrived with almost no Euros and they drove us to town the first morning to an ATM. Sylvie helped further in arranging for us to get a car with driver.

We felt very welcome and comfortable at Le Rayon Vert. All the staff, not just Marc and Sylvie, were kind and very helpful.

  • Liked — the friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — no complaints at all
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OldTravellers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPPYTIMES
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

We were two American couples with our first time visit to Guadeloupe and found this resort to be all the website promised. Very clean, beautiful grounds, exceptional infinity pool and view. We enjoyed the restaurant at the resort and highly recommend the lobster! Our friends were competent in French which helped alot in asking Q's to the owners. We didnot experience a mosquito problem, but since the resort is on the rain forest side of the island, be prepared for rain showers nearly daily. Nearby Deshaies is a wonderful village with great places to eat and shop. We did not see the Green Flash, but the sunsets are beautiful. We highly recommend this resort. Yes, it is l60 euros/nite and due to our weak dollar that does mean it costs over $200/ nite, but it is worth it in our eyes. Only drawback for us was it is not on the seaside directly.

  • Liked — Food and pool
  • Disliked — Limited english speaking staff
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginko1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The Rayon Vert is an excellent choice for a relaxing, romantic vacation. In the Northwest corner of Basse Terre (Guadeloupe), it is overlooks the Caribbean. The cottages are spaceous and each has its own private patio.
The pool is large and beautiful. As you swim, it seems as if you are in the Caribbean.
The restaurant was great too.
My husband and I had a wonderful time and were sorry to leave.
Don't miss the nearby Botanical Gardens. They were terrific.

  • Liked — Location - Privacy
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2008

We stayed at the hotel Rayon Vert earlier this week.

GOOD:The hotel had a nice pool, great views and their included breakfast was quite good. When I say 'quite good', I mean that it included eggs, fresh fruit and yogourt whereas at some hotels in Guadeloupe, it's coffee and 2 small croissants. The rooms were clean, the bathroom large and there was a fridge. The staff were efficient but not particularly friendly.

BAD: The bed was the worst we've had at a hotel at this price and the price of this hotel is nowhere near $87., it is 160 euros a night...closer to $200. There are two patio doors on either side of the room but you can't open them because there are no screens. The cabanas are set into a hill side with a great view of the ocean on one side and a great view into the cabana from further up the hill on the other side! Keeping those curtains closed greatly reduced the light inside. Other than that, there was one window in the bathroom and it also had no screen. You could not shut that window properly because it only had shutters. There were lots of mosquitos. This is more than just annoying as there are signs up at the airport in Pointe a Pitre when you arrived that indicate Guadeloupe has Dengue fever.

  • Liked — ocean and sunset view
  • Disliked — poor quality bed
Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank CanadaSusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lake norman,cornelius,nc
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2007

You feel a touch of Provence when you first enter,beautiful urns overflowing with trpocal foilage greet you.You feel like you have arrived!!Beyond the grand entrance you see this killer infinity pool melting into the horizon with couples lazily lounging drinking Rum Punch or the local T-punch.Down the hill was our private cottage 101 with yet another view of the crytal blue sea.A very cozy room with mahogany accents thur-out,huge tile bath with double vanity,huge walkin shower.Loved our room.Every morning we had a suffient breakfast of crossiants,scambled eggs,ham,fruit,etc.Enough till we ventured to find our next great meal.Most days we had lunch on the beach a Grand Anase.Our favorite resturant in the area was Cannon de Bains,it was a step up from most of the other resturants.If you want to dive or snorkel you must go with Blue Note in Deshairs.Enjoy as we did!!!

  • Liked — Size,coziness of room,bath,views
  • Disliked — Distance from beach
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lakenormandwellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield UK
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2007

We chose a 2 centre holiday spending a week on Guadeloupe at Le Rayon Vert and another on Dominica at the Beau Rive. The contrast in islands is very marked, and despite the better roads etc on Guadeloupe the quiet, undeveloped and relatively unspoilt nature of Dominica scored for us. In particular we were not expecting some of the traffic jams we met at 0620 in the morning on the way back to the airport!

That being said we were very pleased with our choice of Le Rayon Vert. The management were extremely helpful, the hotel lovely and the pool one of the best we have come across with infinity views over the carribean. The bungalow was well furnished, clean and attractive and the views from the balcony lovely. Nearby Deshaises was one of the nicest towns on the island and had some reasonable restaurants to complement that at the hotel. All however tended to serve the same range of dishes which were fairly basic. Opposite the hotel however up a short drive is the Meltipot "Le Cuisine Metissee". This small restaurant is head and shoulders above every other restaurant we sampled in the vicinity. The meal was truly French with a choice of 5 meals for each course at very reasonable prices. All courses were well and freshly prepared and served individually by the owner/chef. We discovered this on the last night but wished we had on the first. An absolute must to visit. If staying on Basse Terre, Le Rayon Vert can be thoroughly recommended.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank gandang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
20.3 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,313 reviews
22.8 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
303 reviews
19.2 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#5 of 23 in Le Gosier
472 reviews
20.2 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
4.8 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rayon Vert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rayon Vert

Property: Le Rayon Vert
Address: La Coque Ferry, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Rayon Vert 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Le Rayon Vert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rayon Vert Deshaies
Le Rayon Vert Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing