We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively bar / rest - book ahead!!”
Review of Le Mahina

Le Mahina
Ranked #3 of 50 Restaurants in Deshaies
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $34
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lively bar / rest - book ahead!!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Great place to dine - cute small terrace over the bay, good menu - not typically Guad style - but good in any case - parrillada choices are excellent - fish / duck / beef - no need for a starter! Very good service, well presented, generous portions. Excellent planteurs - fresh fruit and plenty of rum! Beers on draft are imported and pricey! If you don't book for a sundowner or meal on the terrace - you won't get in - 1 day is enough! Worth a go!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    237
    40
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“OK but didn't live up to the reputation”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

This was our least favorite experience in Deshaies. We had made a reservation in person in the afternoon so we could sit outdoors but had to wait about 45 minutes drinking at the bar before we were seated. The staff was nice and kept us informed. We didn't mind the waiting part over a couple of ti' punches but the amount of cigarette smoke both at the bar and at our table was overwhelming. Having someone smoking non-stop a few inches away from your face when you're trying to eat is uncomfortable and was not a problem in any of the other restaurants here.

There is a very fancy kitchen hood and pizza oven in the open kitchen and it's clear that take out pizza is very popular here. Somehow we could not bring ourselves to come to Guadeloupe to eat pizza.

The foie gras starter was good. The marlin carpaccio was quite thick, more like sashimi thickness than what we expected from previous experience or have seen elsewhere on Guadeloupe. We were actually full after that so when the waitress offered us coffee and desert we were going to let it pass that they'd forgotten to bring us the grilled fish we'd ordered. However, it finally arrived and it turned out to be the best dish.

I would say that after the build up on TripAdvisor and the degree of popularity, we were disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent waterfront casual dininig”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had the Caesar salad topped with chicken. We expected grilled chicken, but in fact the chicken was colombo de poulet. It was delicious! Much better than we could ever have expected.

The staff is friendly and helpful, and the casual waterfront environment is perfect for lunch. If you are in Deshaies, I would definitely recommend that you eat there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Encyclia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dinan
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“favourite”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Le Mahina is our favourite restaurant on the island - and we have tried quite a few. Buzzing restaurant with lots of local diners, great atmosphere, pleasant professional service, the paradilla de poisson is superbe! one of the very few places on the island where the amazing local fish can be ordered mi-cuit, and it is perfect every time. The different tartares and carpaccios of local fish served at lunchtime are outstanding. have never tried the pizza. must reserve, particularly if you want to be on the terrasse with amazing view of Deshaies bay. already looking forward to our next visit, can't wait!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinanBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Local Favourite”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The great thing about Mahina is the variety of interesting people that make up the clientele. Local people go to both eat and just to hang out together at the bar which is a very cute 'shelf' at one of the side windows. Hotel dwellers making a break from their all-inclusive resorts. Self-caterers letting somebody else do the washing up. Sailors making a dinghy trip in from their yachts anchored in the bay. There is a terrace and if you are lucky enough to get a table at the edge, you feel as if you are floating on the ocean as you look out over Deshaies Bay. The servers know their menu and can talk you through anything you want to discuss, though it is a very straightforward menu nonetheless. Fish is their thing. Locally caught. Beautifully prepared. And nicely presented. It would be difficult for the chef to get it wrong! But the kitchen do give just a little extra to set Mahina head and shoulders above most other eating places in Deshaies. It is a tiny kitchen and it always amazes me just how the chef can produce so many covers so efficiently. I would recommend you book a table in advance as it is always busy and walk-ins can be faced with a long wait for a table.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Margie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mahina also viewed

Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 

Been to Le Mahina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing