We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful tropical holidays”
Review of Caraibes Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Caraibes Royal
Ranked #5 of 8 Deshaies B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 29, 2012

This stay was awesome!!! It is an apartment house, not a hotel. Surrounded by a wonderful newly designed tropical garden. It may still take a year or two to grow. The apartments are generously large and clean. Safe environment. I left the door open most of the time. I was accomodated in a 4 person apartment, with a double bed in a separate sleepig room and 2 sofa beds in the living room. In the bathroom there are definitely not enough hooks and rails for towels. The place is run by a European (French) owner, everything is fine because the place is new, it was opened in 2012. A free 24h WiFi acces is inclusive which was very useful for me. There is a long beautiful pool with nighttime lighting in many alternating colours. I didn´t use it a single time, there are so many beaches. The well equipped kitchen is outside on the balcony which is fine. Not far from the road, but there are no cars passing through at night. As on the rest of the island.

You can order breakfast from the reception for the next mornig if you wish to. I prefer a large self-catered meal to the french style breakfast. A small grocery store where you can get the essential food, drinks, soap etc. is an 8 minutes walk away and opens until 8 pm. A/C is in the sleeping room, I switched it on every night for 30 minutes before going to sleep and then off again, just to cool the bedroom a little before sleep. Very few mosquitos in this area. Staff is there during daytime. They are very friendly and help you if you ask, and if not they will be invisible and allow you the peace you need. I had booked only for the first few days of my stay by internet, and felt so pleased that I stayed in the same place for my whole 15 days.

From the airport a taxi will charge you around 60 Euros. Buses are much cheaper at 4-5 Euros, but only available from Baie-Mahault or Pointe-a-Pitre, not from the airport.
You can easily get around the island without a rented car, the bus stop is a 1 minute walk away. A car is recommendable if you want to get to the less frequented touristic sites early in the morning, and to get back to the car within daylight time.

Several fabulous tropical dream beaches within walking distance to the north and south. In the north you will find a beautiful "nat." beach which is not much frequented. Mostly by local men looking for encounters. It is the next beach cove after Anse Tillet following the coastline. A steep descent to reach it. Don´t park the car up at the road, it might get damaged there...

Advice for demanding european standard Tourists: Don´t visit Guadeloupe if you don´t wish to speak any French at all. You might not be warmly welcomed everywhere, you´ll be missing the best, and you can find a pool and alcoholic beverages in any other place all over the world too.

Merci pour les bonnes vacances que j´ai pu passer dans votre maison.

Room Tip: Apartments facing the poolside have the better view. But they get full blast sunshine throughout the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 40plustraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 139 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
81
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Loic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraibesBonheur, Réception at Caraibes Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraibesBonheur, Réception at Caraibes Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank florence m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraibesBonheur, Réception at Caraibes Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Chambres à l'étage moins d'insectes et plus calmes
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Fanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraibesBonheur, Réception at Caraibes Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: prenez un premier étage !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Thierry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaraibesBonheur, Réception at Caraibes Royal, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
4.9 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
450 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
2.0 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
835 reviews
20.5 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#4 of 23 in Le Gosier
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caraibes Bonheur
Caraibes Bonheur
#13 of 30 in Deshaies
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caraibes Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caraibes Royal

Address: ZAC Petit Bas Vent Fort, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe (Formerly Residence Bord De Mer)
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Deshaies
Price Range: $100 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Caraibes Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Caraibes Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caraibes Royal Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing