We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always Good”

Restaurant Le Mouillage
Ranked #38 of 49 Restaurants in Deshaies
Price range: $33 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

Le Mouillage has been in Deshaies for as long as we've been going there. The food is good, it's on the water, and the service is always excellent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank sharonannie22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    79
    54
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Authentic Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

We just dropped in one hot afternoon and ordered fish sauteed in a red sauce. It was delicious and we shall definitely go there again, whenever we stay at Deshaies.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good food for affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Together with my wife we had diner at Le Mouillage. You'll find typical Antille dishes. Accras were nice, grilled fish was excellent, staff was a bit slow but very friendly...

Helpful?
Thank Jean_Richert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges, France
Level Contributor
184 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

Excellent...........with a rustic atmosphere and a really varied menu. The tagliatelli with smoked fish and the crevettes are to be recommended.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jennifer1983187159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Don't go on a Wednesday”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We chose Le Mouillage because most of the other restaurants in Deshaies were shut (it was a Wednesday) and there were good views across the harbour. When we arrived, the restaurant was empty so we had our pick of the tables and chose Table 1 at the edge of the sea. We were given the menu and were left to read it and make our selection. So far, so good.

The restaurant began to fill up and two tables had their order taken before we did, although we were the first there. When the waitress came to take our order we asked for a glass of white wine, a Carib beer, a steak and (I think) the duck. Shortly afterwards the waitress returned to ask which white wine we wanted a bottle of! Now, I admit our French is rather basic but "verre" and "bouteille" really don't sound very similar even the way we say it. A few minutes later she returned again to ask how the steak should be cooked. I'm guessing it was her first week in the job.

Our drinks arrived and that was the last service we had for an hour and a quarter! We were not alone, as a number of other tables were sat with empty plates for this long, and some even longer, but certain tables appeared to be getting a decent service. The occupants of two tables walked out before being served.

When the food did eventually arrive it was unremakable, so much so that I have forgotten what I had, and I ended up eating half of my companion's steak as it was too tough for her.

We walked past Le Mouillage again the following night at a time when, during our visit the previous day, it had been fairly full. It was empty. We surmised that it only gets any custom on Wednesdays when other restaurants close, and then it can't cope.

There are several better restaurants in Deshaies, and we won't return to the Mouillage

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank etlddfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Le Mouillage also viewed

Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
Deshaies, Basse-Terre Island
 

Been to Restaurant Le Mouillage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing