We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been better..much better...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Habitation Grande Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Could have been better..much better...”
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed at the HGA right after the Christmas holiday season. The accomodations are fair, but very basic. The furnature inside the unit looked as if it was used furnature from the 1970's put on a ship from the old country and installed into the apartments at the club. Very spartan, and I would say 1 starish..

The biggest problem we found was the air conditioning. Non existant.. The unit could only be set at "fan" mode as the air conditioner did not at all cool down the room. It just moved the air a bit, as I think the owners of the residence could somehow block the temperature of the air and you could not get the room cooler than 27°C. It was very humid and almost impossible to sleep each night. There are also lots of mosquido's that linger on the kitchen balcony, and each night right after dinner you have run into the hot non air conditioned room to get away from them.

In addition, there were also rats that would hid in kitchen cupboards and get into your food and garbage at night. The idea of an outside kitchen is also not practical at all, as finding rat feces in your cookie box does not make a great breakfast..

The beach is nice, but be very aware who and what is happening around you. The locals are not friendly, and at times the young men and boys on the beach were intimidating. One day on the beach a few local children approached our 8 year old child that was playing in the water, only to knock him down and run off with his snorkling mask. We tried to run after them to get it back, but 5 very large shady characters came out from no where and advised us to let the boy have our sons mask. We did not want to argue with them, but that was last time we went on Grand Anse Beach after such intimidation. So be very careful on this beach.

One last thing to mention is the weather.. On this side of the island it rains each day and for many hours. In 2 weeks time we only had 2 days of sun, as if you want sun, hit St. Anne and Club Med and there you will find paradise you thought was HGA..

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
14 Thank Trilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    201
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
91
227
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 16, 2006

The vivacious and friendly owners are onsite and eager to greet and help in any way at these charming colonial style villas lening themselves to your home in the caribbean. Each villa has a fully stocked kitchen, some even on your outdoor patio with sea view. You can't beat the location, a lush garden appointed pool on grounds and a short 3 minute walk to the beautiful grande anse beach. And , it's on the island that is home to the national park for many great walks to waterfalls and of course the active volcano and black sand beach. Added bonus is the abunadance of french baguettes and pastries!
ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2005

There has been so many good things written about Habitation Grande-Anse that I just had to see it for myself! And of course when everyone says such fabulous things about a place there's always the fear of being disappointed. But fear not! Our one week stay at HGA was absolutely perfect. It was the perfect combination between hotel accomodation and independent accomodation. We were all the way up on their steep grounds and had a breathtaking view from our own little tropical garden.The studio had an outdoor kitchen that was very well equiped and was opening on the garden. The room was extremely clean and very comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly, professional and caring. The food at the restaurant was excellent, but since HGA is just outside Deshaies, we ate in the town most of the time and had excellent food there as well. I could just sit here all night recalling all the good things about HGA but I won't hold you up any longer. Just go make your reservation now before they fill up!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
detroit, mi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2005

This was the last part of our honeymoon. We stayed here 4 nights. Basse Terre is very different then Grande Terre as far as the beaches go. The beach grande anse was a 5 min walk from the hotel. there is a great restaurant, the kokoralai restaurant on the beach. The beach was nice, but the waves are rough. It's a long beach where you can walk near the crashing waves.

The hotel was our 3rd and our favorite, La Toubana ranking 2nd from that. The rooms were very clean. We had an above average room-not the standard. The bathrooms are big and clean with a stand-up shower. The covered patio area was amazing as well-so clean and the hotel really provides you with a working kitchen: salad spinner, plates, glasses, refrigerator, stove, pots, pans... everything. We could have made amazing meals every night but instead we ate at the great, cute and quite, but busy hotel restaurant. The server woman is very nice and attentive. The menu is written daily on a chalk board. The restaurant closed on Wed and Thursday so we ventured into the cute town of Deshais, which is a 5 min drive from the hotel. We went to the Piano, Piano bar which is an excellent Italian restaurant. We also ate at a creole restaurant. During the day we bought nice spices and local rums at the little shops.

The hotel is a place where a honeymooning couple can have peace and quite or a family with kids can relax as well. The pool was very nice and clean. Unfortunately it rained a lot when we were there. There are many excursions to choose from. We took a boat ride to l'ilet caret from the local boat tour. I can't remember the name... maybe the mambo something. It was amazing. The staff at the hotel helped us pick out our excursion. We stayed the whole day visiting the mangrove other little islands then had lunch and spent the afternoon on L'ilet caret.

We drove around through the route de la traversee---scary roads-hairpin turns, steep etc.

This is a great hotel and the staff speaks english.

we would love to return. Plus it's only 1 hour from pointe a pitre and 1 hour and a half from the beaches of Grande Terre.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank detroittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Draper, UT
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2003

My wife and I stayed at Habitation Grande Anse during Thanksgiving week, 2003. We more or less picked it out of the blue based on its website material, published rate and one review we found in a Carribean guidebook. We found it to be a delightful, and reasonably priced, place to stay. It is about 50 minutes driving time from the airport, on the north end of Basse Terre. There are several buildings built into a steep hill surrounded by beautiful, lush tropical plantings that are immaculately maintained. Most of the units are a substantial stair-climb from the reception/restarant/ pool area. Our unit had a sea view (about 1 km. away) from its veranda, which was private and was where our dining table was placed. We also sat out there at night to read and watch the sun go down, see Venus begin to glow in the early evening then try to pick out constellations from the myriad of stars overhead. We had a kitchenette that was adequately equipped, although the gas stove was difficult to light. We paid 86 euros per day. There were very few children staying there, mostly 30's through 50's aged European couples. There appeared to be no other Americans at HGA when we were there. We communicated mostly in French; while some of the staff made a stab at English, it might be difficult to stay there without at least some rudimentary understanding of French. The owners, Claudio and Fulvio Panero, were on site all of the time. They spoke French, Italian and fractured English faster than used car salesmen. We paid 106 euros to HGA for round trip transportation from the airport at Pointe-a-Pitre, arranged at the time we made our reservations. We would not do that again. HGA contracts with Europcar for this. They did not show up at all when we arrived, (after some heated telephone exchanges, we had to make our own arrangements with a taxi, although Claudio reimbursed us immediately upon our arrival at HGA) and they were 1/2 hour late picking us up when we left. There is a Europcar rental facility on site at HGA which we utilized, paying 188 euros for 5 days rental of a 4 door Renaut Symbol. (If we go back, which is quite likely, we would rent a car at the airport and keep it for the entire time we were on the island. Driving on the island is relatively easy if you can read a bit of French, are comfortable with a manual transmission and are a reasonably agressive driver.) HGA has a restaurant, well sited overlooking the pool. The dinner menu is somewhat limited but the food (much more European rather than Creole) is excellent. They offer a petit dejeuner for 8 euro which is only adequate. HGA is about 2 km. from Deshaies which has several restaurants, (our favorite was Piano Piano). The only beach within walking distance is Plage de Grande Anse, which is one of the nicest large beaches on the island, although there are several smaller beaches within a short driving distance. Based on value-for-price we would recommend HGA if you can speak and understand a bit of French and want to be away from the hustle and bustle of Pointe-a-Pitre/Gosier.

Helpful?
20 Thank Tritraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 28, 2003

We stayed for a week a couple of years ago, and it was the best part of our vacation. The hotel was owned by an Italian family, and it was virtually spotless. It was perched on a hill, overlooking the sea, and the most beautiful beach in Guadeloupe was a 3 minute walk away. Our small apartment had its own swimming pool behind, and our kitchen table was placed on a covered, but open air balcony overlooking the sea. It couldn't have been more delightful! The weekly rate was very reasonable, and included a car rental. Most recommended!

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
3.1 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
429 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,296 reviews
20.0 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
798 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
1.6 mi away
Caraibes Bonheur
Caraibes Bonheur
#14 of 29 in Deshaies
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation Grande Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Grande Anse

Property: Habitation Grande Anse
Address: 30 Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation Grande Anse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Habitation Grande Anse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Grande Anse Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Hotel Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing