We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming place and great for self catering!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Habitation Grande Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Charming place and great for self catering!”
Reviewed October 15, 2008

I must say we visited this hotel in low season, so maybe that's why we didn't really bond with this hotel... Also, we are divers and this hotel is just a bit too far from the main dive site at Bouillante (Plage de Malendur), so it took us half an hour way and half an hour back... With the AVERAGE rating, also take into account that we have seen many hotels, including very luxurious. HGA IS a nice place to stay, but not to be compared to All Inclusive Riu's or Iberostars! So, if that's what you want, don't go there, and better, don't go to Gwadloup, because you won't find it there!

The hotel is not really a hotel, but more a collection of self catered bungalows. The rooms are spacious, but after a stay in the Vieille Tour, the beds were a bit hard. However, that didn't keep us up at night and we slept fine! The rooms are clean and provide everything you need, including an aircon which keeps the rooms fairly cool. Yes, the interior is a bit dated, but still charming. the outside terrace is a real plus!

The pool is nice and is cleaned every morning. Also the surrounding areas look well taken care of. The breakfast was good (bit expensive), except for the last day (sunday) when it wasn't as fresh as the other two days! Plenty of opportunities to have breakfast somewhere else though (or stack your own, as the fridge does work properly)!

The restaurant was closed for most of our stay, but after opening we decided we wanted to have one night of lobster. We asked the owner if he knew a place where to get it and he offered to cook us the lobster there. They didn't overprice and the lonster was delicious!

For people who wanna go to the beach, the mammal park, the gardens in DesHaies, it is a great place to stay. For people who wanna dive every day, like we do (and like a drink afterwards) it is a bit too far!

If you dive, dive with CIP in Bouillante, Plage de Malendure!!! They are the best!

  • Liked — Outside terrace and fully equipped kitchen
  • Disliked — Beds and the fact that WIFI didn't work on my Mac :-(
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ArtikalGial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    203
    56
    12
    4
See reviews for
93
228
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2008

A couple friends and I stayed here for 4 days in mid February. We were pleasantly surprised at how wonderful it was for the price. I wouldn't call it luxury, but the rooms were spacious and cool, with great views day and night.
The gardens are lush and immaculate.
Proximity to the beach is excellent.
The restaurant (Le Papillion) had a varying menu with a seemingly accomplished and very friendly Chef.
Not a lot of nightlife nearby, so keep that in mind... go somewhere else if you're looking to be near town.
Not a lot of Americans, but most of the staff speaks English and are quite helpful. They even made what seemed like a zillion phone calls to find us a car to rent for a day trip.
The only neative aspect for us was that it seems to be popular with families... there were quite a few children there, and seems like there were always kids in the pool. I suppose I would view this as a pro, if I was traveling with children.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — lots of kids
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mjskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2007

Me and my boyfriend just had the perfect stay at the HGA. The bungalows are really clean and neat, the staff are really friendly and the pool is just fine. Our apartement had a perfect seaview where we could watch the sunset every night. Sure, the interior decoration felt a bit old, but anyway you don`t go to Guadeloupe spend a lot of time on your hotelroom.

The fantastic beach is just five minutes away by walking. If you want to dine out you will need a car though.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We spent two nights here in June when we extended our stay in Guadeloupe by a couple of nights on short notice and decided to visit Basse-Terre. The people running the hotel - whom I believe were the owners - were friendly, helpful, and outgoing. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable - a previous traveler complained that the furniture was spartan but we disagree. It was simple and traditional and anything more plush or voluminous would have seemed fussy and out of place. The indoor kitchen had all the utensils (except for a prep knife or spatula) necessary to prepare decent meals, and a refrigerator that actually kept the food cold. We used the internet in the bar area - 2 euros for the first half hour (which was all we needed), wireless connection, no problems connecting. The air conditioning in the room was strong and refreshing. Even a power outage in the region did not inconvenience us; the hotel must have its own backup generator as we were out of power for less than a minute while surrounding towns were out entirely for much longer that evening.

We ate in Deshaies (at Au Coin des Pecheurs, which the owners had recommended; it was excellent) the first night; the second night we meant to return to Deshaies for dinner but found all the restaurants without power. We hit the Grand' Anse Pizza truck on the way back to the hotel and found the pizza delicious, better than in our East Coast hometown. We also ate at the Marco food truck on the beach - frites and accras prepared while you wait, cold beers, tasty sandwiches. We self-catered breakfasts, though, with fresh eggs from town, cheese, yogurt, ham, fruits, and patisserie -- again, the well-appointed kitchen made it possible to prepare our own meals and take them out on the balcony.

I do recommend, based on our previous trips to Guadeloupe, that you rent a car if you are staying anywhere outside Pointe-a-Pitre or Gosier, unless you are willing to take the bus (which works reasonably well but may require you to wait, and which is somewhat easier if you have a working knowledge of French). As long as you can drive a manual transmission, Guadeloupe is easy enough to travel by car, and it makes it far easier to drive among the various beaches and into town for provisions. Just be sure to budget for the fuel!

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings and friendly, compentent staff
  • Disliked — Steep inclines (without steps) to some rooms may be a challenge for disabled and older guests
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank kgirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2007

my husband and i have just come back from hga. i miss it already. if you are looking for a low-key, peaceful holiday in beautiful surroundings, this is the place for you. we rented the grand studio large, with daily cleaning. it was situated near the pool, which, was very convenient. the grounds are lush and well maintained. we had breakfast every second day or so, consisting of an assortment of crepes, croissants, fruits and much more. we had an outdoor kitchen. we spent most our evenings there. should you wish to eat out, i would highly recommend the meltipot. very romantic. very attentive to presentation of food, accompanied by a very beautiful view of the ocean. we got pizza at a pizza van situated at the entrance of grande anse beach, main entrance. grande anse pizza. very good pizza and a very friendly owner. the only thing we did not like was the walk to grande anse beach. it was not far, but, the traffic on the road was too much. we just drove to the beach each day. the beach is huge, clean and the water is warm. some days the waves were large, but, other days the water was relatively calm. we would recommend hga to couples looking for some peace and quiet. all of the guests were considerate to each other's space. very friendly to one another. very very different from a huge all-inclusive resort! please note, it is important to know some french when visiting guadeloupe. we brought an english-french dictionary and phrase book with us and got by just fine.

  • Liked — very peaceful and lush gardens
  • Disliked — walk to the beach
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank voyagevoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2006

Having stayed at Hotel Habitation Grand Anse in the summers of '03,04,and'06, we have consistently found the rooms clean, the grounds beatiful, and the management and staff very helpful. We have taken advantage of the ample breakfasts which they serve on the tree-shaded balcony overlooking the pool. A good way to start the day.

Claudio Panero and his staff have advised us well regarding beaches, snorkeling, and miscellaneous other activities. Their restaurant advice and assistance in making reservations have led us to excellent dining.

At days end, the beds are good and the rooms quiet, including the effective air conditioners (if one wants other than the breeze blowing throught the screened windows and porch doors).

The Hotel Habitation Grande Anse makes it easy to visit the most green and beautiful part of the island of Guadeloupe, where great beaches, good restaurants, scenic hikes make visits unforgettable.

My wife and I heartily recommend Hotel Habitation Grande Anse

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank 006light
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2006

We stayed at the HGA right after the Christmas holiday season. The accomodations are fair, but very basic. The furnature inside the unit looked as if it was used furnature from the 1970's put on a ship from the old country and installed into the apartments at the club. Very spartan, and I would say 1 starish..

The biggest problem we found was the air conditioning. Non existant.. The unit could only be set at "fan" mode as the air conditioner did not at all cool down the room. It just moved the air a bit, as I think the owners of the residence could somehow block the temperature of the air and you could not get the room cooler than 27°C. It was very humid and almost impossible to sleep each night. There are also lots of mosquido's that linger on the kitchen balcony, and each night right after dinner you have run into the hot non air conditioned room to get away from them.

In addition, there were also rats that would hid in kitchen cupboards and get into your food and garbage at night. The idea of an outside kitchen is also not practical at all, as finding rat feces in your cookie box does not make a great breakfast..

The beach is nice, but be very aware who and what is happening around you. The locals are not friendly, and at times the young men and boys on the beach were intimidating. One day on the beach a few local children approached our 8 year old child that was playing in the water, only to knock him down and run off with his snorkling mask. We tried to run after them to get it back, but 5 very large shady characters came out from no where and advised us to let the boy have our sons mask. We did not want to argue with them, but that was last time we went on Grand Anse Beach after such intimidation. So be very careful on this beach.

One last thing to mention is the weather.. On this side of the island it rains each day and for many hours. In 2 weeks time we only had 2 days of sun, as if you want sun, hit St. Anne and Club Med and there you will find paradise you thought was HGA..

Stayed December 2005
Helpful?
14 Thank Trilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
3.1 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
439 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,312 reviews
20.0 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
809 reviews
20.4 mi away
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
Auberge de la Vieille Tour
#5 of 23 in Le Gosier
471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation Grande Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Grande Anse

Property: Habitation Grande Anse
Address: 30 Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation Grande Anse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Habitation Grande Anse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Grande Anse Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Hotel Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing