We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and well equiped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Habitation Grande Anse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Habitation Grand Anse for six nights in March 2012. We had one of the more basic apartments (sleeping four) which provided plenty of space. It was all very clean –but we baulked at paying 10 euros extra a day for maid service so had just one clean up in the middle of our stay. The furniture in the room is a bit sparse but we ended up spending most of the time outside – there is nowhere to sit down inside so if you watch TV you have to lie on the bed. The kitchenette was well equipped and everything was good quality – lack of a kettle and tumblers the main things we thought were missing . Bed linen and towels are good quality and bathroom was spacious and well lit. We didn’t find the bed very comfortable (foam mattress). There is air conditioning, but no fan – if you are in a downstairs apartment there wasn’t much night time breeze and there were security warnings about leaving doors open.

Negatives are the noise from the close proximity of other families – sometimes our neighbours were up at 6am and the children were pretty noisy. The air conditioning units for other apartments also generated a constant night-time hum. The tiled floors mean that you can hear furniture scraping upstairs or in any of the close by kitchens. Positives are that the hotel is a short walk from the fabulous Grand Anse beach (where parking can be a nightmare at weekends) and the gardens are lovely, wi-fi is free and hardly anyone uses the swimming pool so occasionally we had it to ourselves.
We did one big shop at Ed’s supermarket nearby and topped up from the Casino in the village. We found everything we needed and everyone was very helpful. There is a great walk from Deshaies to Grand Anse.
We didn't try the hotel's own restaurant - it was constantly fully booked!

Room Tip: As for an upstairs studio with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RandDtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (404)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 404 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

We arrived at midnight and were so happy to find this lovely spot. It smelled sweet and tree frogs were singing. I was nursing a bad knee and was happy to be in chambre 1,,,altho we missed the ocean view that come with the higher placed apartments...Ask for them at booking ! they are gone when you arrive. Loved the complete outside kitchen/patio... We had leisurely mornings cooking breakfasts, writing, feeding and photographing the birds, lounging by the pool ... people smile, but no instant friends.
The shower by the pool has a hairdryer ! Internet only accessible here by pool or office...by 11 am every day we were off and exploring Basse Terre and Grande Terre.... there are several lovely beaches besides La Grande Anse.... you can go to a different beach every day. We were here during high season, but we would often be two of 6 people on a nice stretch.... the surf can be bossy... I injured my good knee the first day there..so joy riding thru the jungle became a great sitting down kind of fun... when u go to Grande Anse, Le Karacoli restarant to the right had great food and beach chairs... very relaxing... spend the day.. restaurant here At HGA was fabulous, but a limited bar......staff helpful,evening waitress a delight...

Room Tip: If you are willing to climb stairs, ask for a room with view of the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Underhill_VTfromVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Stayed in one of a studio grand large here for four nights. It was a great stay and totally met our needs! The grounds are beautiful here and the rooms are spread out up and along the hill on which HGA is situated. The room was comfortable with a nice large bathroom. The room included bunkbeds for children, which we did not use. The patio overlooking the hotel's grounds was great and the kitchen looked very good for anyone who wishes to eat in. HGA's front desk staff was extremely friendly and attentive, answering all of our questions in either French or English (whichever we preferred) and ensuring that our stay was a comfortable one. It's not the height of luxury, but it's a great home base for anyone looking for a well-situated, clean, quiet and quality place in Deshaies. Grand Anse beach is located just across the road from HGA, so that is a big plus as well! AC in the room was welcomed; however, guests should note that room service is only once a week here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank scubafan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for the first few days of our Gaudeloupe vacation. We found the hotel to be basic, clean, comfortable and enjoyable. The outdoor kitchen was great and the bathroom seemed to have been newly remodeled. The room was small and a little dark, but comfortable overall. Closeby is Grande Anse Beach, some great restaurants, the Rhum Museum and there is scuba diving about a half hour away. When we were there it was very quiet even though it was the holiday and there was some English spoken which was not that common in Guadeloupe. On our way from the airport we stopped at the Price Leader supermarket in St. Rose which was much better than the markets we found right around the hotel. The cocktails were great, but we did not eat at the hotel during our stay.

Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
2  Thank SMcLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I have read through other reviews and have chosen to go here because of them. I felt very much welcomed and at home here. No frills and staff serving you at every turn. We enjoy the "do it yourself" vacations. Rent a car and explore the islands. It is much cheaper and driving is very easy here. You can hit alot of beaches and go at your own pace.
The kitchenette is handy. With food allergies there is no worry. The grounds are small but you go to see the country not the hotel ,Right? Some must see spots are La Grande Soufrière ( an active volcano that you can climb ),Chutes du Carbet , Cascade aux Ecrevisses ( water falls) are a couple. Surf the net and learn abit of french to make the most of your holiday. One really great resaraunt is south of HGA until you hit the round about then go inland a couple hundred yards. On the left is a small place called carib passion( i think).Food there is simple and good and ask for a rum punch. Ask them to show you how to make it.
Your vacation is what you make it ,get out and see the country.It's great and everyone is so friendly.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank buchberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We had a wonderful, sunny week in Guadaloupe in November 2008. The Habitation Grande Anse hotel served as a perfect home base for our daily trips since it was well kept, safe and cosy choice with a beautiful garden. We had the chance to cook ourselves in the room, but we rather enjoyed the breakfast served at the hotel restaurant. The staff was always friendly and able to serve us also in English. We liked the pool (very clean) but also one of the beaches is close. If you wish to exlore more the town, other beaches or night life, then it is better to rent a car. I understood the hotel has several room options from two persons' rooms to big groups or families. We enjoyed our stay and I can easily recommend the place!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lomamieli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2009

Many reviews liked Habitation Grand Anse. It just wasn't what we were looking for. Our initial room was dark and dank with an "outdoor space" just about big enough for two chairs. We asked for a new room and were given a room less dark and less dank with a slightly larger outdoor space. Since it was too late to search for another hotel we took this room and made do. Sleeping was difficult as the walls were paper thin. Our next door neighbors had a young child who did the things young children do, but they might as well have been in our room. Another reviewer marked this hotel as good for honeymooners...I can only be thankful that we didn't have honeymooners next to us. Although 300m from the beautiful Grand Anse beach, HGA is on the other side of the "highway" and as the wind blows from offshore, all the trafic noise floats up the HGA property. Many people will be happy here, but we moved after two nights, paying another night's cancellation charge. No regrets.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DonatoT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
3.1 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
476 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
20 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19 mi away
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
Hotel Fleur d'Epee
#2 of 23 in Le Gosier
857 reviews
20 mi away
Mahogany Hotel Residence and Spa
24.9 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Habitation Grande Anse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitation Grande Anse

Address: 30 Ziotte, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range: $100 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Habitation Grande Anse 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Habitation Grande Anse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitation Grande Anse Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Hotel Deshaies
Habitation Grande Anse Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing