We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem”
Review of Caraibes Bonheur

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Caraibes Bonheur
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“little gem”
Reviewed August 2, 2011

The service was fantastic, the manager picked us up near the marina (we'd arrived by sail boat), and even borrowed us his car for the evening so that we could get around..! He also helped us with chartering a plane the next day, and everything ran smoothly and with no problems whatsoever. The majority of the guests were French couples and families, but the hosts and several of the staff spoke better English than my French. They were well informed about island activities, and local restaurants which met our needs. The term "duplexes" does not adequately describe the spacious two-story apartments with kitchenettes and solar-heated showers. The rooms were meticulously painted and decorated in bright colors, with attentive housekeeping staff who keep them tidy. The beds were clean and comfortable, and the folding laundry rack on the veranda for beach towels was a nice addition. The air conditioning worked quickly, when needed. The kitchenettes were well stocked with pots, plates, and cutlery. The tropical landscaping is mature, so that you can barely see the other units. Songbirds in the trees serenade guests day and night, and the resident chickens bring their broods by to find baguette crumbs. We could see the ocean from the hotel, and once in the distance, Monserrat.The breakfast buffet was plentiful, with attentive, pleasant service. The heated milk for coffee and organic jams and preserves were nice touches. The bar served great rum drinks, including a wicked Ti punch. The pool was clean with good afternoon sun, and the grounds were well-maintained with good night lighting of the paths. Even the bird feeders got regular attention. Parking was available on the gated property, rather than out on the street.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lutzinch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    109
    44
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
208
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2011

We had a wonderful stay in Guadeloupe and Caraibes Bonheur. Our apartment had a very nice porch were we spend many wonderful evenings. Location is good, a very nice view at the sea from the apartment and nice beach nearby.
The apartment is very well equipped with all the necessary kitchen supplies and also our apartment had a large bathroom. Every 3 days you could collect fresh towels at the reception (drapes once a week).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vangeldrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2010

We had a marvellous honeymoon on the island of Guadeloupe. Caraibes Bonheur located at the northwest side of the island on the top of a hill. The view from each apartment is brilliant because of it. There are many small villages all along the beach near where you can go for scuba diving, snorkeling, fishing, or you can go to the Cousteau by a boat with glass bottom. There is an active volcano in the island, and there are several very nice waterfalls. It is recommended to rent a car so you can go around the island easily. The nearest supermarket from Caraibes Bonheur is 5 minutes by car. There are many small restaurants around also. The nearest beach is 6-8 minutes on foot, but you also can go by car.
In a few words we hardly could find a better place for our honeymoon than Caraibes Bonheur

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigyo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zweibruecken, Germany
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2010

Really nice hotel, clean, calm, with splendid garden and beautiful view. Nice environment and close to many small towns, away from the "tourist ghettos" in the east of Guadeloupe, but still a good infrastructure. Well equipped kitchen for every apartment and last but not least a very friendly and helpful staff, that takes care about all your needs and trips on the island.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PPirro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2009

I'm coming back from a 10 day journey in Guadeloupe, especially in this marvelous that is Caraibes Bonheur.
Even if the island is still paralized with massive strikes, I had a wonderful time there.

Our tour operator told us we had a room there, and it was not the case. They lied to us knowing that there were no room in Caraibes Bonheur at the dates we had booked, as the manager told them many times during their mail conversation.

We arrived ...and there was no free room. Awyway, the manager is a geat person, he helped us out with a bungalow from the second day to the end of the journey.
He even found us a place to sleep for the first night.

The staff is simply amazing, and the sight from the bungalows is unique. It is definitely a place to journey at.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Odrizzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
4.6 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
426 reviews
20.1 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel
La Creole Beach Hotel
#1 of 23 in Le Gosier
1,281 reviews
20.0 mi away
La Maison Creole
La Maison Creole
#3 of 23 in Le Gosier
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Habitation Grande Anse
Habitation Grande Anse
#8 of 29 in Deshaies
377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
0.2 mi away
Caraibes Royal
Caraibes Royal
#5 of 8 in Deshaies
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caraibes Bonheur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caraibes Bonheur

Property: Caraibes Bonheur
Address: Fort Royal - Petit Bas Vent, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Caraibes Bonheur 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Caraibes Bonheur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caraibes Bonheur Deshaies
Caraibes Bonheur Hotel Deshaies
Caraibes Bonheur Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing