We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great spa, good restaurant!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Deshaies
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2012

We did not stay in the hotel Tendacayou, but had dinner twice in the restaurant La Poisson Rouge, and me and my wife both enjoyed a spa treatment.

We had dinner there twice in a row, on friday and saturday (pitty they were not open every day, but that's a choice we respect)... It was very good, one of the best meals we had when we visited Guadeloupe, the only comment I could give is that the menu only had 2 appetizers and 2 main courses to choose from and the 2 main courses were exactly the same the on friday and saturday, so we did not have much choice...

The spa is superb, we do alot of spa's & massages when on holiday and I must say this is one of the most extraordinary spas we have seen when travelling around, and the massage itself was superb as well. They have this whole installation you can enjoy after the massage, a must if you ever get the chance to visit this resort.

The whole resort is quite expensive (I don't know the prices for staying there), but visiting the spa and having dinner in the restaurant really is worth the money. Try to visit the spa during the day as the views are incredible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christophe00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 233 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2012

Tendacayou is one of the very-few very-special spots, in Guadeloupe and elsewhere in the world. Their website shows very well the incredible creativity and fun the owners must have had in building a place full of vibrant colors, hidden corners and surprising decorations.

It seems like they spent years on the sea bottom recovering an stunning mix of fishing gear, Uanchors, shells, rope, steering wheels, and turning all of this into a very humoristic hotel. One thing is sure, you will not lightly nor quickly forget your stay. We stayed in the villa Pauline bungalow, it's like sleeping in a colour book.

That being said, some comments to put the above into perspective.
- you will need a rental car to get there. The view is stunning, high in the mountains above Deshaies, and involves a paved but very steep road to get there.
- the service in the hotel is somewhat " distant". Three times during our stay, we could reach no one, neither at the reception nor in the (closed) bar; and there is no phone in the rooms to call someone. Breakfast service is OK, expect to be joined by at least a hundred birds who have learned to appreciate the leftovers. Fun to see!
- the rooms are more cabana-style, and in the middle of lush tropical plants. The room is separated from the (superb) outdoor shower by a simple curtain, so in the middle of the night, the wind can come rushing in. I recommend to bring a mosquito repellent and insecticide spray with you, unless you like uninvited company ( the mosquito nets do not work all that well). And the quality of the beds is fair, but nothing more.
- we did not eat in the restaurant. Prices were substantially higher than downtown ( we had two very nice meals at the Hemingway restaurant). The Tendacayou restaurant was also closed most of the five nights we stayed there.
- the spa on the top floor is gorgeous, both for its never-ending terrace as the variety of baths
- Generally, we found Guadeloupe hotels to be pricey; and if you want to enjoy the experience, speak or understand some french

Room Tip: Villa Pauline is close to the (nice but) small swimming pool; other hotel guests have to pass at you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelPige0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

Beautiful view; very sweet cabin ('yes papa'). Fantastic dinner on Saturday night (only evening they serve dinner => book well in advance). The room is basically open to the nature and we spent all day on the balcony when we were in the hotel... strictly speaking it' s not a hotel but much more a holiday apartment (small kitchen). No breakfast served and the linen wasn't replaced (which can be a bit uncomfortable after a few days...).You definitely need a car to get there! Great experience for a few days but not for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pierre_Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
Thank etienne f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank maffrejc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Martine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Celine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tendacayou971, Responsable relations publiques at Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deshaies
2.0 mi away
Le Rayon Vert
Le Rayon Vert
#2 of 3 in Deshaies
442 reviews
19.7 mi away
La Creole Beach Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Caraib'Bay Hotel
Caraib'Bay Hotel
#1 of 3 in Deshaies
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Le Jardin Malanga
Le Jardin Malanga
#1 of 3 in Trois Rivieres
308 reviews
0.9 mi away
Au Jardin des Colibris
Au Jardin des Colibris
#2 of 29 in Deshaies
899 reviews
3.0 mi away
Langley Resort Hotel Fort Royal Guadeloupe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa

Address: Chemin Matouba, Deshaies 97126, Guadeloupe
Location: Caribbean > Guadeloupe > Basse-Terre Island > Deshaies
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Specialty Lodging in Deshaies
Price Range: $188 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The natural beauty of the island, the pristine nature and protected from Basse-Terre, the rainforest of Morne Bois d'Inde , the view of the Caribbean ... . On this exceptional site stands Tendacayou our Ecolodge , a real homecoming. No TV , no phone in the home , just birdsong . A total disconnection without pollution ! We want to give our guests the opportunity to live a Guadeloupe otherwise, to discover the hidden treasures of the Caribbean island, to stay in an area of ​​exception in harmony with nature , combining ecology, comfort and chic. On site: an organic food restaurant and a wilderness spa ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Habitation Tendacayou Deshaies
Tendacayou Ecolodge & Spa Guadeloupe/Deshaies

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing