We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise!”
Review of Hotel Framnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Framnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This little hotel is a real find!. It is clean, friendly and offers comfortable rooms and excellent food. The owner is friendly and is as keen to find the Northern lights as his guests, keeping them up to date on the latest forecast and even going outside himself to see if they are appearing. Not to be missed if you are in the area. One little downside - the views from the bedrooms are not the best, but the area around more than makes up for this.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Strolling_Goldfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 498 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

I wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy this hotel, however our short time was nice. We arrived late as we were coming over on the ferry which didn't dock until 10:00 p.m. Check in was extremely efficient .... asked for our names, they were located on the reservation sheet and we were handed our room key. No forms to fill out! Yes, the room was small however we knew the hotel was a former fisherman's hostel so we weren't expecting spacious. Everything was sparkling clean, the bedding comfortable, the shower hot with good pressure, and this was the first hotel on our stay that conveniently left the access codes for the free wi-fi on the desk in the room. (At the others I'd always forget to ask on check-in and then would have to chase someone down for the code.)

Breakfast was one of the best in Iceland. We particularly appreciated the pancakes and maple syrup .... a nice change from the standard fare.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emptynestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hotel Framnes was chosen for a bit of luxury after a week roughing it in the Highlands - and it didn't disappoint. And the location is actually a bonus if, like me, you want a better feel of the working "town". The food was splendid, if perhaps a bit top-end for my 2 teenage boys used to a diet of pizza and KFC: but there is always the cafe/dinery in the town. Most of all though it was the genuine warmth and hospitality of the straff that impressed us - the manager enthusiasm for the Northern Lights was infectious (they put in an August appearance for us, which I gather is unusual). After a long night I was then surprised to meet him again the next morning, at the helm of the boat he uses for fishing trips. Incidentally the Cod were nearly jumping into the hold - so easy to see where he gets his 'fish of the day', which could not be fresher!. Great Place - Great time

Room Tip: Our room was on the top floor - end of the corridor: and there was no noise from neighbours whatsoev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Framnes, using it as a base to explore the peninsula. It proved to be a good location with this in mind.

The room was quiet, comfortable, spacious & clean, with good internet and tea/coffee facilities. The staff on reception were friendly and helpful. The hotel has a popular restaurant and we enjoyed our meals there.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvianaJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel is located directly on the bay. The rooms are small and there is no elevator, however the restaurant has a very good menu and high quality food with good selection of icelandic food. Service is ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berarde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Good: Staff was friendly and helpful. Hot tub and sauna available free of charge
Not so good: It is the only hotel in town; location not so nice (fish industry all around). Rooms quite are old and very basic. You hear a lot of noise from the corridor and the rooms next door. Standard breakfast (if you want a "real" coffee, you have to pay extra). Rates too high compared to other hotels we had in Iceland. Dinner was ok (there is only one other restaurant in town). Impossible to get WiFi to work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyholzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

You would never know that this is one of the only hotels in town. Each of the staff members that we encountered were genuinely warm and engaging, and all are striving to provide the best possible experience for visitors to the area. Dinner in the restaurant was top quality, and the whale watching/puffin spotting/fishing trip that you can sign up for at the front desk is not to be missed. Our room was spotlessly clean, and Grundarfjordur is a great location for visiting the national park. We also appreciated that Grundarfjordur is a working fishing town, and does not survive on tourism alone--it had an authentic Icelandic feel, with spectacular scenery to match.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
8.1 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
727 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
514 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
18.7 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
313 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Framnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framnes

Address: Nesvegur 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Framnes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Framnes is a boutique hotel next to Kikjufell mountain on the Snaefellsnes Peninsula in west Iceland. It is ideally located for all visits to the nearby National Park and surrounding area. It is the ideal place for stopovers to West Fjords and Reykjavík ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Framnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Framnes Hotel Grundarfjörður
Hotel Framnes Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing