We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but a good experience and excellent food”
Review of Hotel Framnes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Framnes
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a hotel, this is a quirky place, but let's face it, you don't exactly have a huge amount of choice in this area...

It looks like nothing much from the outside, a functional building that was once a fishermen's inn. Inside it is cosy and welcoming, although our room was a bit too basic for my liking. The beds were on the small side, and the furniture was more hostel basic than spartan chic.

The dinner made up for it though. Great seafood is pretty much a given in Iceland, and it was excellent here too, with some imaginative spicing. The staff were really friendly and efficient too, so no complaints there. I might opt for a bigger, plusher room next time, but I'd gladly come back.

Room Tip: If you want a modicum of creature comforts, avoid the cheapest category...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank food4thought4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

319 - 325 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Hotel Frames in May 2012.

The hotel is in a bit of an odd location, tucked against the harbour, but well sighposted so we had no issues finding it. Our room was a good size, with a huge bathroom and clean enough. We did have a few issues with the shower, it was a bit of an odd contraption, raised on its own legs, the door fell out of the runners the first time I used it and it didn't drain, but we managed to manhandle the door back onto the runners and avoided a wet bathroom!

The bed was okay, better blackout blinds would have been appreciated, but we were tired enough after sight seeing that it wasn't a major issue. The door to the room though was hard to lock, we worked out that the only solution was slamming it, hopefully we didn't disturb any other guests!

The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and there was free parking and wifi which was much appreciated. We ate in the restaurant both nights, the food was excellent, we'd have been crazy to have eaten anywhere else.

Overall, the rooms have a few niggles but the staff and food more than make up for it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blondie247772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We loved this hotel. Ok the views from some rooms are slightly spoiled by the workings of the village, but it is a real fishing village and the hotel from the outside shows its fishing hostel heritage and that is what made it for us! This was a real place perfect for exploring this part of Iceland.
We traveled here on 12th February with Discover the World for the whale watching and aurora trip and it was perfect! Wonderful hosts who made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough for us, a very comfortable room with everything you could ask for (including good views from room 204) and the food was wonderful! A really perfect stay!

Room Tip: 204 was fine, but 204 was bigger. 2nd floor seemed best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diane096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here on a Discover the World tour and found it to be a great hotel for the 4 nights we spent in Iceland. It lived up to all expectations with a comfortable, warm, spacious room (with small ensuite bathroom) overlooking the Fjord where we could see lots of Eider Ducks. The food throughout was of an excellent standard with the chef from Cornwall delivering homemade, tasty and generous portions and friendly staff to help serve it. Free WiFi and fairly priced drinks (for Iceland!) were a bonus. We were lucky enough to see the Aurora from directly outside the hotel and a short walk along the Fjord offered a great mountain backdrop. Killer Whales were seen on our tour thanks to the owners boat forming part of our tour as well as an informative walking tour of the town. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank whiteduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Great little hotel in Grundarfjordur. Had a nice single room, which wasn't pokey. Tea & coffee making facilites in the room and free WiFi (which I didn't get in a Foss hotel elsewhere). Run by a friendly Kiwi woman. The dining room wasn't open for dinner as I was there off-season, but there is a café in town (Kaffi 59). Great breakfast, including pancakes with maple syrup. The location isn't bad, although I overlooked a petrol tank, as it's next to the port. There are great views over the bay though, and the stunning Kirkjufell is only a few minutes drive away. The scenery in the Snaefellsnes Peninsular is beautiful - well worth a trip, and this is a great place to stay. Good value too. It also has a sauna and hot tub (which I didn't use),

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

May this hotel doesn't have the best views from the rooms, but as long yoy get out of the village streets, the landscape is one of the stunningest views in Iceland. The hotel itself seems not very new outside, but once inside you'll find yourself with a perfect staff, a cozy room, comfortable beds, really fast internet conection, and finally a breakfast of a high level of quality. Best value for your money.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Killbillxxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Framnes in February. The rooms were nice and it was a great location. Food was excellent. We had dinner when we arrived, which was a bit late, and breakfast the following morning that was included in the room rate. Both meals were excellent. The hosts were warm and friendly and gave us some great advice on what we should do in the area. We also went on the whale watching tour through the hotel's Laki Tours. The hosts did an excellent job with this too with arrangements and on the tour making sure we saw lots of Orcas! I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cllaci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
8.1 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
727 reviews
16.7 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
514 reviews
18.5 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
North Star Hotel Olafsvik
18.7 mi away
Hotel Egilsen
Hotel Egilsen
#1 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
313 reviews
8.5 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Framnes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Framnes

Address: Nesvegur 8 | Grundarfjordur, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grundarfjorour
Price Range: $109 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Framnes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Framnes is a boutique hotel next to Kikjufell mountain on the Snaefellsnes Peninsula in west Iceland. It is ideally located for all visits to the nearby National Park and surrounding area. It is the ideal place for stopovers to West Fjords and Reykjavík ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Framnes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Framnes Hotel Grundarfjörður
Hotel Framnes Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing