We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sudur-Bar Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Good location to watch the northern lights. Well it appeared while we were there. We stayed in the studio cabin, which I would strongly recommend. Fully equipped kitchen, with 4 beds available. Lovely horses next to the cabin belonging to the owners of this hotel.

Minus 1 star because the cabin had about 5 flies/insects during the time we were there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Sudur-Bar Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 86 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our first stop on the ring road from the airport. We landed at 6:30am and arrived here around 11am. Marteinn was nice enough to let us check in early. The room is a good size with a sink. The beds were super comfy and warm. The shared bathroom had very nice hot water. The hours sits on a isolated road near the shore, so the view was gorgeous, wish we could've seen some Northern Lights though. Marteinn was nice and kept to himself. He prepared very devious breakfast every morning. We really enjoyed our stay. We had dinner at another hotel in town, it was packed with tourists, so it was nice to come back to a quiet and cozy place. I highly recommend this place, especially how reasonable the price is compared to other places in town. Enjoy Iceland!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usayhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked a room at the same day when we arrived. The owner was waiting for us till 10pm at evening. When I called him to say that we are going to be late, he said:" No problems, drive safely!". When we eventually arrived I thought that this is his private estate and he is going to lead us to the guest house. How big was my surprise, that the couzy and very pleasant area was actually reserved for us?
The guesthouse is very pleasant, and the keeper is even more! I am still surprised about my stay here - this is the best place I hvae ever stayed:
1. beds in very good condition
2. bathroom in very good condition
3. guesthouse in general is in excellent condition
4. the keeper is the most pleasant person on earth
5. this place is totally under-priced

I hope this place will get it's legitimate recognition and other keepers will learn how to make your guests feel like Sudur-Bar makes you feel.

Room Tip: We stayed in a triple room, the room was big enough for all of us.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarekLomako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We were late for our check-in time, we called the host and he was very friendly saying "you should drive carefully and the time is not the problem". When we arrived we were really tired, the host was very friendly suggested us to drink some tea before bed. The dining room has huge windows in the morning we were happy to see great views. Hotel is very cozy, owner is very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikita A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Martein is the friendliest host I've encountered and the guesthouse felt more like a home rather than a hotel... The rooms were fine - clean and comfortable.. And the breakfast room opening onto the water was lovely... Horses on this farm and a golf course..
Across the road is a marked hike up a mountain for sweeping views..
My most memorable stay in Iceland..

Room Tip: The summer cottage seems like the best pick of the rooms
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PriyankaDoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed one night on our way around Snaefellsness. The location was great as we wanted remote, and dark to see the Northern lights - which we were really lucky and did, the conservatory was great for this as you could sit in the warm and watch the sky!.

Clean, good breakfast, large room, nice communal/conservatory area

Bad Points: a LOT of flies. I removed about 10 from our room. Decor very 1980s (given the price) but the biggest problem for us was how unfriendly the owners were. On arrival we were greeted with "take off your shoes, here is your room, breakfast is at 8am". His wife (we assume) just completely blanked us when I said hello. They both then left and we were the only 2 people in the building. There were no other guests, the owner popped back briefly during the evening, but they obviuosly live somewhere else. They gave us no information about the farm, horseriding, golf, local area etc. We didnt even manage to get the internet password until he popped back at 10pm and I banged on the office door.
This place could be great if they replaced the carpet, killed some flies and were more friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank surfchickmorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

This B&B was ok but not the best.
The room was very basic but everythingyou needed was there!
Unfortunately there were many flies in our room, which was quiet annoying! Also the window was full of the leftovers from the flies which is not nice at all. But the B&B is on a horse farm so therefore the flies are ok.

Big breakfast was served and there was enough for all. But I did have the feeling that we were not really welcomed in this B&B. The landlady askes us when we would like breakfast and when we said that we weren't sure yet she said that she will serve it at 8am. When we came down to breakfast we saw that all other guests were getting breakfast at 8am as well and therefore we felt that 8am was just handier for he landlady.

Despite this the B&B is ok. And we can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Schnuk-Schnuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
3.9 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
481 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
695 reviews
20.2 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.7 mi away
Langaholt
Langaholt
#1 of 1 in Snaefellsbaer
146 reviews
15.7 mi away
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
Fosshotel Stykkisholmur
#2 of 3 in Stykkisholmur
304 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#4 of 8 in Grundarfjorour
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sudur-Bar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sudur-Bar Guesthouse

Address: Sudur-Bar, Grundarfjorour 350, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Grundarfjorour
Price Range: $112 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sudur-Bar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sudur-Bar Guesthouse Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing