We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Grundarfjorour
Review Highlights
Great trip!

We went on the whale trip not expecting much knowing it was hit and miss and we may not see a... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
rachelrooj1982
,
Oxford
Amazing trip

We had an excellent experience with Laki tours! We got the chance to see a huge humpback whale and... read more

Reviewed January 8, 2020
Valepol
Read all 498 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Grundarfjorour
from $89.90
More Info
from $134.01
More Info
from $142.90
More Info
from $121.93
More Info
Reviews (498)
Filter reviews
498 results
Traveler rating
402
60
16
11
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
60
16
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whale watching sperm whales killer whales puffin tour hot chocolate herring great trip bad weather sea sickness boat trip three hours wild animals morning tour whale meat discover the world an amazing experience within minutes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 498 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

The guide was very friendly and professional. Excellent explanations. We managed to see 7 Orca killer whales for several minutes.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Meir698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

This was a great trip; nice crew and knowledgeable guides, good (originally Norwegian) boat, fantastic weather and we encountered many orcas, some of them swam under the boat and surfaced with blow hole blasts quite close to the boat. Amazing! The glacier mountain make a super backdrop for photos. No other whales this time, though.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Ole Christian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2019 via mobile

About £77 for two adults to see the puffins about 30 minutes from the port, whilst at the port there is brilliant wi fi so use it anyway we saw plenty of puffins, and other sea birds, if your on a cruise you can book at the Laki cafe, the lady on board (South African) great guide and knowledgeable telling you the different bird species, well recommended.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Clivey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2019

Our whale watching trip was such a great experience!
We saw at least five humpback whales at the same time close to Drangsnes and Grimsey. They were feeding at the surface of the water and were showing up very often. Additionally a minke whale, lots of arctic terns and puffins could be watched.
We had a very good time and enjoyed it a lot!

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 1212katharinag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2019

First - our group was delayed by flights and Laki was wonderful rearranging our tickets - thank you! Second - the tour was coming back in after a fairly unsuccessful foray looking for Orcas, and they saw a pod. They turned around and went back out to make sure that it was a great experience.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank Kathleen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews