We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel, shame about the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, shame about the location”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The dorm was clean and spacious (we were actually given a 5-bed for the price of a 4-bed, although the beds were really uncomfortable. The kitchen was nice but a little small considering the number of people it was catering. In the main house there must have been 20+ people plus whoever was staying in the other properties, but the kitchen had a normal sized cooking area and a table with ~15 seats. We decided to cook dinner at the same time as another couple and luckily got in just before a bus full of Spaniards started as after that they took over until very late at night. There was a shared common room and nice garden. The town itself is quite lacking, not as picturesque as other places we visited, especially near the sea which is quite industrialized. Cannot fault the hostel but had we known Grundafjordur wasn't that interesting we may have stayed in Stykkishlolmur or Olafsvik instead.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilyB307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My photo tour was over the New Year and this hostel is normally closed at that time. Our trip leader somehow wrangled a deal with the proprietors, they left us the keys and we spent the night here. I haven't often stayed in hostels but this was clean and neat.

We loved, loved, loved that we had the place all to ourselves. It was more like staying in a giant house than in a hostel. I'd stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmmidwesterner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

In a town with only a couple of places to stay, I'm
So glad we picked this one. The views from the new build by the sea are fantastic and it's crisp, clean and modern. The shared facilities are great, everything you might need for a comfortable stay and rooms are lovely (ours was a double with a private bathroom). Definitely recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank haylo83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed here with husband and 2 children. Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment down by the bay.
Amazing views,amazing place.on arrival I entered the reception and dialled a number as instructed within 2 minutes we were seen to . The apartment was spotless and very warm. All the beds were freshly made and the shower room was spotless. I would highly recommend this place to stay.so much so that we will be returned (if it is not booked up) next year.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment down by the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmcken10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent two nights staying in the new building by the sea. I will be the first to admit that I haven't stayed in many youth hostels so I can't really make comparisons, but I found the bed very comfortable, the manager helpful at check in, the shower good and hot and the view from the bedroom window exceptional! We didn't use the kitchen facilities (we ate both evenings at Hotel Framnes just across the road, which was good albeit fairly pricey) but they seemed to be perfectly adequate and clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank South_Chelt_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a modern and pleasant hostel. Our room was clean and modern and although we didn't use them, the cooking facilities looked good. The bed was very comfortable and came with a pillow as we requested sleeping bag accommodation. This was a bonus! The staff member and reception was friendly and gave us advice with regards to climbing the mountain just outside town. Overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank everydayduffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed in the new building by the sea. Although located in what looks like the industrial part of town it has a great view of the mountains, the bay and the cute houses of the small town. The room is clean and with a privet bathroom. The kitchen and dinning area is big and comfortable. A nice guesthouse, the name "Youth Hostel" does not apply to the part we stayed in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasterYoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
0.1 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#3 of 7 in Grundarfjorour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grund i Grundarfirdi
Grund i Grundarfirdi
#4 of 7 in Grundarfjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel

Property: Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
Address: Hlidarvegur 15, Grundarfjorour, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Grundarfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing