We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“adequate”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The place is outfitted with Ikea furnishings, which is cute, but not so high-quality, but hostel-appropriate. Grundarfjordur is an adorable little town, a reasonable drive from Reykjavik, and nicely located for day trips around the Snæfellsnes peninsula. The hostel is in the midst of a quiet residential neighborhood, which is charming. Parking isn't overly convenient (perhaps my opinion on this is influenced by the gale force winds during our departure), and some things, like the shower, were in disrepair (drain issues... gross). I agree with previous posters that the walls are thin, but who stays in hostels without ear plugs on the ready?). The mattresses are summer camp cabin type wrapped in plastic, which is appropriate (frankly, I'd rather that they can be wiped down). The missing piece was the lack of a common room. The only place to sit was on your own bed. The wifi worked well. The kitchen was fully equipped for cooking and existed as a sort of common space. I was traveling with friends, but a family could easily take a whole room and have a cheap accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wagaboodlmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    61
    23
    4
    2
See reviews for
19
78
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just 22km from Snaefellsnes National Park and within walking distance to town, good choice for a night's rest if planning to explore the area.

Basic accommodation with shower. Beds were comfortable and hostel was quiet despite being quite full with guests. There is a shared kitchen with cooking utilities and living room.

However, note that check-in is at another location 5 minutes' drive away, so if booking from external website, pictures shown will not be the room you will get, unless you book an apartment with them instead.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wintryposy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

By the time we arrived in Grundarfjordur we'd been driving a long time and were hoping for a nice place to stay, which we got. The town itself was bathed in sunshine and has a wonderfully scenic backdrop with the mountains and the bay. We checked in at the main building, but like most who stay here, were then sent to the building near the water. Not much from the outside, the inside was very nice. It was modern and clean and the room, whilst a little small, had an en suite bathroom. We also had a great view of the Kirkjufell mountain . There is a decent kitchen and communal sitting area and its worth cooking your own food as the town itself does not have many options. If you are passing through the Snaefellness Peninsular then a brief overnight stop here is well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilcharlwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
426 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was the most expensive accommodation that I booked for our trip to Iceland. I wanted a room with a bathroom and this was the best priced that I found at the time for the area. Grundarfjordor isn't really a quaint place - rather drab except for the view. When we arrived at the little red house, I was worried. The two girls infront of us had to pay extra for towels and sheets. I was thinking that for the amount I paid - without breakfast - why should I have to pay for extras? Well, luckily if you get the private room with the private bath - the sheets and towels are included. You can only check in between 3-7pm - after that you have to call a number.

There several buildings - we stayed in a newer building by the water on the bay. The hostel rooms are upstairs. The building is very clean. There is a large kitchen, eating area, lounge. Going to the store - which is a couple of blocks away - is a good idea because there really isn't any place economical in town. The rooms are named in Icelandic after different animals. Our room was small - like most of the places we stayed - but well appointed. We had two beds and a private bathroom with a shower. There was no soap so you need to bring your own. Our room had a great view of the fjord. It was quiet - most of the people staying there seemed to be older couples. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Good
- Clean
- Comfortable beds
- Quiet
- Views to the fjord very nice
- Middle of town

Bad
- No soap for shower
- Windows allow light - bring a sleep mask
-On th higher price range for a hostel
- No breakfast, have to make your own
- Location is kind of boring

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice comfortable room in a warm and cozy building with good views. Good facilities, kitchen etc. Good location etc. Easy to find. Helpful staff etc. Nice that the rooms all have unique names not numbers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A great and comfortable hostel. We stayed in the block building by the water (it's NOT that cute structure in the picture). A very nice room which was clean and cheerful. A great view of the volcano outside. Kitchen is easy to use and a supermarket is just down the road. Bring your own soap. Most of those staying we're adults (30-60 y.o.) so it definitely doesn't have a youth-feel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank falcor1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
101 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in a nice new looking block by the water. Beautiful views from the room and really nice, new feeling communal areas with a great kitchen. Generally really clean and good free wifi. Only two complaints - the bathroom floor was ridiculously slippy. Even if they're not providing towels, they should still put a bathroom mat in. Also, even staying in sleeping bag accommodation they should remove a bed sheet if it's obviously used.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
0.1 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
3.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel Budir
Hotel Budir
#1 of 1 in Budir
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Olafsvik
Hotel Olafsvik
#1 of 1 in Olafsvik
3.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Post Office
The Old Post Office
#3 of 7 in Grundarfjorour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grund i Grundarfirdi
Grund i Grundarfirdi
#4 of 7 in Grundarfjorour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel

Property: Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
Address: Hlidarvegur 15, Grundarfjorour, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Grundarfjorour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld and HRS so you can book your Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing