We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than I anticipated...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was the most expensive accommodation that I booked for our trip to Iceland. I wanted a room with a bathroom and this was the best priced that I found at the time for the area. Grundarfjordor isn't really a quaint place - rather drab except for the view. When we arrived at the little red house, I was worried. The two girls infront of us had to pay extra for towels and sheets. I was thinking that for the amount I paid - without breakfast - why should I have to pay for extras? Well, luckily if you get the private room with the private bath - the sheets and towels are included. You can only check in between 3-7pm - after that you have to call a number.

There several buildings - we stayed in a newer building by the water on the bay. The hostel rooms are upstairs. The building is very clean. There is a large kitchen, eating area, lounge. Going to the store - which is a couple of blocks away - is a good idea because there really isn't any place economical in town. The rooms are named in Icelandic after different animals. Our room was small - like most of the places we stayed - but well appointed. We had two beds and a private bathroom with a shower. There was no soap so you need to bring your own. Our room had a great view of the fjord. It was quiet - most of the people staying there seemed to be older couples. Our room was very clean and the beds were comfortable.

Good
- Clean
- Comfortable beds
- Quiet
- Views to the fjord very nice
- Middle of town

Bad
- No soap for shower
- Windows allow light - bring a sleep mask
-On th higher price range for a hostel
- No breakfast, have to make your own
- Location is kind of boring

Room Tip: Get a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IntlTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 167 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

Nice comfortable room in a warm and cozy building with good views. Good facilities, kitchen etc. Good location etc. Easy to find. Helpful staff etc. Nice that the rooms all have unique names not numbers.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

A great and comfortable hostel. We stayed in the block building by the water (it's NOT that cute structure in the picture). A very nice room which was clean and cheerful. A great view of the volcano outside. Kitchen is easy to use and a supermarket is just down the road. Bring your own soap. Most of those staying we're adults (30-60 y.o.) so it definitely doesn't have a youth-feel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank falcor1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed in a nice new looking block by the water. Beautiful views from the room and really nice, new feeling communal areas with a great kitchen. Generally really clean and good free wifi. Only two complaints - the bathroom floor was ridiculously slippy. Even if they're not providing towels, they should still put a bathroom mat in. Also, even staying in sleeping bag accommodation they should remove a bed sheet if it's obviously used.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank jimmy1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

After an excellent 10 day trip in Iceland during May 2012, during which we also spent time at this hostel, we were keen to come back to Grundarfjordur during the winter months with the chance of seeing Orcas in the bay as well as a potential Northern Lights display.

We were definitely not disappointed!!

We stayed for 3 nights at the hostel, in a double on-suite room in the new building. It's extremely clean and warm (important due to the sub zero temperatures outside!), with amazing views of Kirkjufell mountain from our room (the 'Swan' room).There's also a large and well stocked kitchen which is great for making breakfasts and lunches if you want to save on costs by having just dinner in one of the restuarants as we did.

During our stay we had two boat trips in the bay - arranged in advance by email through Lakki tours, based in the Hotel Framnes, which is very close by. The trips were amazing - during the first there were approx 100 Orcas all around us in the bay, providing a magical experience.

We were also extremely lucky to be treated to a truely memorable Northern lights display on our third night.

All in all, we will never forget our trip and I would definitely recommend the hostel and the place itself to anyone, both in summer and winter.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms with a view of Kirkjufell mountain, such as the Swan room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank SlipsWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed here on our way round the western peninsula. It was a little hard to find to begin with but that was mainly because we struggled to read the road names. We were met by a guy to check in who said he doesn't usually help out so there was quite a bit of confusion to begin with but we were soon sorted and taken round to a different building where our room was. We were in the new converted warehouse which had views right out over the bay. We even saw a fantastic northern lights display from our room which really made our stay!
The room was clean and spacious with a lovely bathroom. The shower was a little small but very powerful! The cabinet over the sink stuck out a little far so it was a bit hard to get to the sink but overall it was everything we needed for our stay.
In terms of location it was close to everything but in a town that small it's hard not to be. We didn't have to travel far out of the town to find loads of good spots to see the northern lights from away from the lights of other towns.
We didn't see many of the staff but who we did see was helpful. Overall a great place to stay!

Room Tip: Ask to stay by the water in the new building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linsey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon. Did know what to expect from a hostel but we stayed in the new block near the water. The newest cleanest hostel we've ever stayed in. Kitchen and dining area is great with perfect view for whale spotting (although we didn't see any in the bay). Was mid-October and there was only about another 2 or 3 couples during are stay. Didn't realise the museam was closed but would open if you phoned the phone number on the door! The herring history we'd heard is fascinated. If you like clean hostels which feel like a hotel with the bonus of a great kitchen/dining/living area then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Email to check if your in the older building in the town (its where you check in and looks fine, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grundarfjorour
0.3 mi away
Hotel Framnes
Hotel Framnes
#1 of 1 in Grundarfjorour
498 reviews
16.5 mi away
Fosshotel Hellnar
Fosshotel Hellnar
#1 of 1 in Hellnar
514 reviews
1.5 mi away
Grund i Grundarfirdi
Grund i Grundarfirdi
#4 of 10 in Grundarfjorour
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Kast Guesthouse
Kast Guesthouse
#1 of 7 in Snaefellsbaer
137 reviews
13.2 mi away
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
Vid Hafid Guesthouse
#1 of 5 in Olafsvik
113 reviews
18.9 mi away
Harbour Hostel
Harbour Hostel
#1 of 7 in Stykkisholmur
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel

Address: Hlidarvegur 15, Grundarfjorour, Iceland
Location: Iceland > West Region > Grundarfjorour
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Grundarfjorour
Price Range: $97 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grundarfjordur Youth Hostel Iceland/Grundarfjorour

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing