We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
109
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 111 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2015

We were not to know that our hearts were about to be lost to Caroline, Alexander, Florence and Arnaud and their magnificent home Chateau Valcreuse when we booked our April culinary adventure at Le Calabash through The International Kitchen. Our research to find an excellent cooking program gave a brief description of the accommodations - such an understatement! From our sumptuous room “Emotion”, and its fabulous ensuite bathroom, the view was spectacular with trees budding and flowers blooming. Every detail seemed to be designed to make us feel comfortable and appreciated. We enjoyed the carafes of mineral water from La Roche Posay and delicious handmade macaroons in our room, the amazing selection of teas and specialty Trappist beers in the lounge, and the enchanting company of the other guests and family in the beautiful sitting rooms. Poolside cocktails and a scrumptious welcome dinner even included a birthday surprise for me! Arrangements were made for us to visit the spa one afternoon, which would have been very difficult for us to manage on our own. From sun-up to turn-down our every need was anticipated and provided in a very generous and appealing way.

How amazing to have the luxury of having Caroline and Alexander as our hosts and as fellow students in the cooking program! Not only did we share incredible culinary adventures, we became special friends. We delighted in discovering the secrets of Chateau Valcreuse, seeing the results of their hard work and reveling in the dreams for their family and this marvelous place. If only we could have arranged to stay longer to enjoy more of the “chateau” life! I have tears when I look at our pictures and re-live memories that will always be treasured!

Room tip: All rooms are lovely. Ours faced the spectacular valley/river view.
Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kwhcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2014

I usually do not expected that in a B&B, but this little paradise appears to have a staff with a professional hospitality and restaurant background. The food, service and decor exceeded all expectations. Due to the local topography, the area has a micro-climate which is sunnier than the broader region, which worked out great for playing some golf on one of he several nearby golf courses. If you wonder how to get there, there's a direct bullet train connection (-2hrs) from CDG Paris Airport to the nearby Châtellerault. It's the perfect place to unplug from the grid for a couple of days!

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
6  Thank Xavier F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2014

A visit to Alexander's and Caroline's Chateau Valcreuse will change your life. It is as simple as that. Typically, we are not given to making sweeping statements such as this for fear that other readers will interpret it as hyperbole; however, we write this with all honesty and meaning. Despite being a gorgeous boutique B&B in a superb setting with all the first class amenities you can imagine, Chateau Valcreuse is so much more than that. We are firm believers that you can travel to the most striking places on earth and see the most beautiful sites and eat the tastiest foods and have a "good time" or even a "great time"... but when you travel to a striking place and eat the tastiest foods and are able to share it all with new friends that you will have for the rest of your life, it elevates your travel to "an experience" instead of "a vacation". And that is what happens at Caroline's and Alexander's Chateau Valcreuse... you are treated to an experience that you will carry with you forever and will have you immediately planning your return trip. We will refrain from the details: you need to find out for yourself. For 7 years now, they have been pouring their passion, imagination, hospitality, friendship, and excellence into Chateau Valcreuse: the result for the traveler... you are awestruck when you arrive, you experience pure joy while you are there, and you will shed tears when it's time to leave. But you will smile as you drive away... because you know you're coming back and Chateau Valcreuse will be waiting for you.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank MCsquaredDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights , and it was too short, we wanted to stay much longer.
We will go back because Chateau Valcreuse is a top location.
Very beautifull B&B, a nice garden with swimmingpool and bar,... very relaxing .
The view is spectacular and breakfast was great.
Caroline and Alexander are very nice people, you feel at home immediately.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Our first stay was 3 yrs ago and the place has only gotten better . Caroline and Alexander plus their crew make you feel like part of the family . It is like visiting old friends . Can't say enough or rate them highly enough for their commitment and caring . If you ever want to relax and feel the best , then go and stay here at Chateau Valcreuse ....

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews