We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
109
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 111 reviews
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here as part of the Le Calabash cooking school trip, and I can't say enough nice things about it. Beautiful place with elegant and very comfortable rooms. Laurence and Noel, the caretakers of the place, are so very friendly and made me feel very welcome and safe (I was the only guest, as it was off-season). I can't wait to get back here and bring my husband and sons. Very much recommend!!
(The little village is walking distance and there are so many beautiful places around)

Room tip: I honestly don't think there is a bad room!! Mine was at the back of the house, which had a beautiful view of the river and the country side beyond.
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Door211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for a week at this wonderful place. Excellent service combined with the stunning room, great breakfast and dinner we enjoyed the first week of our holliday at Chateau Valcruese! The rooms are filled with very well picked items so you want to stay there forever. The bed is hand made in belgium and from perfect quality.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

To go somewhere this good makes me feel a bit selfish. To share a dream like this is to invite perhaps too many other people, would it become too busy? Not to worry however as the chateau has quite a limited number of rooms. The rooms are simply gorgeous, the scenery and the views are to die for and passion with which the owners make you feel so welcome, so special, so pampered is beyond comparison with other hotels. Why? Simply because you are treated like an exotic cocktail of friends and family.

The chateau grounds are large,so the under crowding cocoons one in a haven of peace and relaxation possibilities. The pool, the petanque, the table tennis and the boat on the river were impeccable complements to the tranquility and then in the evening the superbly comfortable lounge was alongside the snooker room which young and old all enjoyed.

Breakfast shows real attention to detail and culinary art and the table d'hôte dinner was scrumptious and the family atmosphere and good conversation matches the food and carefully chosen wine list.

Room tip: Corner rooms at the back of the building are very spacious and overlook the valley offering breathtaking views.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caterham78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Caroline and Alexander have that rare sensitivity that makes it possible to make you feel both a privileged guest and one of the family. The tasteful furnishings and cosy welcoming touches in the rooms ooze luxury while the extensive estate with breathtaking views on offer to the lucky occupants of the five suites make for a unique hideaway - and all this just a few minutes' walk from the picturesque medieval village of La Roche Posay. The pool, gazebo, comfortable seating under the shade of the magnificent old trees, or table tennis and petanque provide sufficient opportunity for whiling away lazy days. This is indeed a place where memories are made.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValerieAlcamo_Sicily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Chateau Valcreuse is something different......
From the first moment of arrival , we discovered the warm hospitality of Chateau Valcreuse. This amazing chateau has it all ! Situated on the bank of the river Creuse, this Chateau has 5 suites.
We had the pleasure of having the suite Imagination, located on the second floor with a gracious landscape. The rooms are spacious and very nice decorated. Breakfast is an amazing experience and very well served ! During the day this unknown region of France has a lot to offer ! We especially liked the Nature reserve La Brenne, a place with a thousand lakes and a impressive nature. In the evening we had several times dinner in the chateau. Chef Dennis and his wife Alexandrine prepares you a supreme menu with local fresh products. The hospitality of Caroline & Alexander deserves a big award.
How many stars deserves this wonderfull B&B ? Look to the sky at night on this beautiful location and you will know what we are talking about !

Katty en Benoit

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katty_Benoit_Facon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews