We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
109
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 111 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We feel so very lucky to have found Chateau Valcreuse! As we drove through lush rolling countryside we wondered why, in forty years of exploring France, we had never before discovered this lovely area.

Alexander and Caroline have created the most beautiful home and together with their delightful children, Florence and Arnaud, and their superb staff they make you feel extremely welcome and special.

"I really don't want to leave here!" my husband murmured just before we went to sleep in our supremely comfortable bed after our last delicious dinner. From the moment we arrived until we left we were completely spoilt! Breakfast was amazing - beautifully presented with the freshest of ingredients. Dinner was superb - Denis is their passionate chef and seemingly by magic produced all the things we most love to eat without knowing what they were!! Each plate looked and tasted wonderful and I have only to look at the Chateau's Facebook page to see a photograph of the actual chocolate pudding we ate one night!

On our first morning sitting in the sunshine on the terrace after our delicious breakfast it was tempting to just stay there relaxing all day. But there is a wealth of things to see and do in the immediate area. We loved the little market in Preuilly-sur-Claise, the chateau at Azay-le-Ferron, and just exploring the pretty unspoilt towns that are all within a short drive. Caroline can also arrange hot air ballooning or guided tours in a wonderful 1953 Citroen Traction Avant car.

To us Chateau Valcreuse is quite perfect. We cannot thank Alexander and Caroline enough for giving us so many happy memories to treasure until our next visit.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angela5643
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Our stay at Chateau Valcreuse was excellent. We loved the chateau and its amazing garden/view. The service was fantastic. We enjoyed the wonderful breakfast and dinner. We would like to thank the whole team for the warm welcome and exceptional hospitality.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

the first thing we noticed where the details
every thing is placed, cut, painted, etc for a reason
absolutly nothing in or around the chateau feels out of place
this not in a compulsory harsch and full way
but in a relax
a perfect match between the old and the new
you really feel like walking around in high class interior magazine

then there's the owners alexander & caroline
whoom ad that extra somthing to what was already a perfect painting
there relaxed way of managing the guests
there synergie with the staff
witch you can not ever do without if you want to maintain this standard
is so respectfull and warming from both ways equal
everybody just loves what they do over there
as a guest you just do the same ...
enjoy youre perfect breakfast overlooking the hilly scenary from the terrace
listening to the hunderds of birds loving yet another sunny day
take one of the bikes and strawl threw the country
have a glass of great wine and or champagne down by the pool
enjoy the high end french cuisine in the dining room
and end of with youre thee or cofee by the fireplace in the lounge

as you can see i can talk for hours about everything that makes this place so special
but i shall leave it to you to discover

without a doubt one of the most relaxing holidays
i've ever experienced!

Room tip: the back of the castle offers a stunning view!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bram l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Although B&B are not our cup of tea friends advised us to settle in a few days in Chateau Valcreuse and wander around the countryside. We experienced a wonderfull mid week in this small castle which felt like coming home. We really enjoyed the hospitality of this Belgian couple in France. No hassle, no obligations to other residents just relax and be overwhelmed by this beautifull region and this superb location. Even if you don't want to visit the surroundings the stay in the chateau itself is worth the destination More than 100% value for money. Put it on your to do list.

Room tip: 3 rooms have a spectacular view over the valley and the river.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We could only stay one night in this beautifully maintained and stunningly decorated chateau on our way through the Loire area. We have stayed in many chateaux on our travels through France on previous trips and this is the very best we've encountered. Caroline and Alexander and their fabulous team treated us like family friends and we felt very cossetted indeed! We shared a 4-course dinner which was magnificent, went for a ramble through the beautiful gardens and orchard and visited the old town of Le Roche-Posay, just a 10-minute walk away. We can absolutely recommend this wonderful chateau. Thanks again, everyone, from Lee and Gary.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews