We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
109
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
2
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 111 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2013

the first thing we noticed where the details
every thing is placed, cut, painted, etc for a reason
absolutly nothing in or around the chateau feels out of place
this not in a compulsory harsch and full way
but in a relax
a perfect match between the old and the new
you really feel like walking around in high class interior magazine

then there's the owners alexander & caroline
whoom ad that extra somthing to what was already a perfect painting
there relaxed way of managing the guests
there synergie with the staff
witch you can not ever do without if you want to maintain this standard
is so respectfull and warming from both ways equal
everybody just loves what they do over there
as a guest you just do the same ...
enjoy youre perfect breakfast overlooking the hilly scenary from the terrace
listening to the hunderds of birds loving yet another sunny day
take one of the bikes and strawl threw the country
have a glass of great wine and or champagne down by the pool
enjoy the high end french cuisine in the dining room
and end of with youre thee or cofee by the fireplace in the lounge

as you can see i can talk for hours about everything that makes this place so special
but i shall leave it to you to discover

without a doubt one of the most relaxing holidays
i've ever experienced!

Room tip: the back of the castle offers a stunning view!
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bram l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Although B&B are not our cup of tea friends advised us to settle in a few days in Chateau Valcreuse and wander around the countryside. We experienced a wonderfull mid week in this small castle which felt like coming home. We really enjoyed the hospitality of this Belgian couple in France. No hassle, no obligations to other residents just relax and be overwhelmed by this beautifull region and this superb location. Even if you don't want to visit the surroundings the stay in the chateau itself is worth the destination More than 100% value for money. Put it on your to do list.

Room tip: 3 rooms have a spectacular view over the valley and the river.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We could only stay one night in this beautifully maintained and stunningly decorated chateau on our way through the Loire area. We have stayed in many chateaux on our travels through France on previous trips and this is the very best we've encountered. Caroline and Alexander and their fabulous team treated us like family friends and we felt very cossetted indeed! We shared a 4-course dinner which was magnificent, went for a ramble through the beautiful gardens and orchard and visited the old town of Le Roche-Posay, just a 10-minute walk away. We can absolutely recommend this wonderful chateau. Thanks again, everyone, from Lee and Gary.

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherpa200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

The rooms are very beautiful, with a fabulous atmosphere. Breakfast outside with a beautiful view. Dinner at night under the trees. The chateau is walking distance to the village. The garden is beautiful and quiet. Kids love the pool, the swing, ping pong table,...
Alexander, Caroline and their team are wonderful hosts with an eye for every detail. Every object in the castle is carefuly selected. Alexander even hand picks the music playing in the background.
PS: use the pick-nick basket, they will fill it for you!

Date of stay: August 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mvanimpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had a wonderful 2 weeks stay in Chateau Valcreuse: luxury accomodation, excellent breakfast and dinners in the garden with beautiful views. Service is from a top level. Also our children had a great time thanks to the childfriendly approach and facilities.
An absolute juwel in the beautiful Loire valley of France.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iris_bruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews