We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Fouesnant
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fouesnant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Bellevue for a week in September this year. We were a group of friends in Caterham 7 cars enjoying the Brittany towns and villages. All our rooms had been refurbished in 2011 and had sea views.Very comfortable beds and modern showers. There is a large car park at the rear of the hotel and a garden with loungers. We had half board which was 4 course set meal. One of our friends is a vegetarian, she was given alternative meals without any problems. The hotel is family run and we were made to feel extremely welcome . There is a small bar which serves drinks until everyone goes to bed! Breakfast was cereals, bread, croissant, cheese, cold meats and crepes. We would all love to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathyswinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 101 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited towards the end of the season and the area was very quiet - most people who have holiday homes had gone back. The hotel is at the land-end of the Cap Coz spit in an elevated position overlooking the bay with views out to Concarneau (you can't see the walled town from this angle). Cap Coz is well signed from the main road. We booked a bit late and were unable to get a sea view but instead overlooked the rear gardens. The room was excellent, very clean and had a very spacious en-suite bathroom (large shower actually). The hotel appears to have had a major upgrade in the last few years and everything was spick and span. There is a large car-park to the rear (gardens with loungers beyond) with easy level entry to the hotel reception. There is no lift, but there are ground-floor rooms. There is a small but well-stocked bar with sea views and access to a small patio area to the front. The restaurant is large and very very good, serving from about 7:30 to 9:30 (check times). We had opted for demi-pension terms which gave a fixed no-choice 3 or 4 course meal (with Chef's taster). And it was truly wonderful. If you really do not like what's on offer, other arrangements can be made - the menu for the day is posted at breakfast. Although the restaurant is closed Mondays, there was a suberb cold buffet for the Residents. I could not fault the meals and a reasonable wine list too. Breakfast is served in the main restaurant: tea/coffee bread/croissants cereal/muesli home-made jams. We were not disappointed. Staff are all friendly and eagre to help (in French, Breton or English). We enjoyed outselves and would certainly return again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BloomfieldTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We eat here last year on a cold wet late October night, needless to say it was not over booked but we really enjoyed the meal despite the weather!

We thought we would give it a go in August, high season. To see if they were as good as we had remembered! In a word Yes.
We knew we should book for a Saturday night, good decision it was full.
The residents eat in one part of the same extended restaurant room whilst the non residents are given the most favoured seating with a most splendid view.

We were greeted by Madam, with perfect English, when she realised we were willing to speak French the rest of the evening was conducted in French.
We recognised not only M et Mme but 2 of the waiting staff (always a good sign that the staff do not change too often) who collectively gave excellent service throughout the evening, given that there was 40 people in the restaurant and approx. 30+ residents.

We had an aperitif and order the 36€ menu,
The 3 course menu is in fact 5 courses, in that one is give an “amuse bouche” before the starter and “petite four” before coffee.

The langoustines were prefect as one would expect in this part of the world, the Crab salad with Argen oil was a delight.
The Cotriade of fish was splendid with 3 different fish and a magnificent sauce, the lemon-sole was done to perfection again with a very nice sauce.
These were followed by a selection of cheese.
All washed down with a good bottle of “not too expensive” wine
The coffee was excellent.
We shall definitely return and would recommend the food to all readers

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Well what can i say? I was given the name of this hotel as somewhere special to eat by an acquaintance who lives nearby, and I wasn't disappointed.

I was warned to book, but being English, we tried our luck. We tipped-up and found we were 30 minutes early before service started. However, the owner suggested we take in the views down by the seafront until then. On our return, we were greeted very warmly.

Although we did have three children with us and thus notorisously slow in making a decision in what to eat, we had to ask the waitress twice if she could come back (a small negative), and when we did finally start ordering, and unaware of the portion sizes, asked if we could order the sweets later on, but got a testy and curt reply that the 'Chef needed to know!' (a large negative).

The food is can definitely be described as Nouvelle cuisine, but the artistic presentation is suitably supported by a superb depth of flavour. My choice, 'Sardines 3 ways' was a pure delight.
My eldest son ordered the Plate du Mare(?) which arrived in with several audible gasps from fellow diners. A huge plate of Mussels, Loster, Crab, Winkles, lagostine, clams & 4 oysters. Something he wasn't expecting.

The main meals were a decent size and was superior in quality to anything I've tasted before. The children ate everything presented, no mean task, but the visual effort compounded with the mouth-watering aroma, was hard to resist.

We were offered chilled water throughout the meal, of which we exploited greatly. The staff hovered just enough to be with you if required, but not close enough to be conspicuous.

Although we did get the huffyness earlier on, ol' frosty knickers warmed up and was surprisingly friendly and warm for the remainder of our visit.

I'm surprised at the lack of reviews currently on Tripadvisor (4 as I type) considering the standard of this restaurant.

Please please, if you do nothing else whilst in the area, please visit this restaurant. But please remember to book!! :-)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hefeweizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Nice family run "logis" hotel in good coastal location - and superb views across the bay from seaview rooms (really the only ones to go for). Food was excellent and inventive (both dinner and breakfast) and staff attentive. Shame beach not quite all it is cracked up to be but plenty of attractions in the area. Very relaxing and good size family room (with sitting area and children's room with bunk beds off main bedroom area). Overall good value for the area. Trying to be a 3 star but to get there certain things e.g. bathrooms, would want updating. Perfectly adequate as is though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank essexman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

The hotel is rated 2 star in France, but this does not tell the true story of this hotel. As the previous review said this is family run, clean, (the rooms were updated over the winter of 11/12), very friendly in a lovely location across from the long and sandy beach in cap coz. Breakfast is continental but extremely fresh with good choice, BUT if you enjoy your food then book for dinner, the chef is superb and the restaurant has a reputation beyond its 2 star rating. We will be back and as a base for exploring this area of Brittany it could not be better. The hotel rooms are spread over 2 /3 floors but does not have a lift but there are accessible rooms for the less abled on the ground floor.

Room Tip: a sea view is a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mad50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

Lovely location, lovely people and lovely food!
I was amazed no one had reviewed this place. Went there on recommendation of a friend.
Location- just over a quiet road from a sandy beach at the start of Cap Coz. Go to sleep at night to the sound of the waves.
Family- run hotel. Delightful people. Tolerant of my rather poor and stilted French but speak English too. Overwhelming majority of the clientele are French- a good sign I feel.
Nice breakfast and super evening meal, We were "demi-pension"- next time I might well try the various menus. The restaurant is light and airy.
Hope to return next year- loads to do in the area and many rivers and estuaries to explore. Didn't even look inland much!
We had to leave early in the morning so they kindly delivered breakfast on a tray the previous night to our room with a thermos of coffee! Brilliant- Thank you.

Room Tip: Sea facing, I would say, but there is a lovely quiet garden at the back too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CW_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fouesnant
5.6 mi away
Le Cornouaille Hotel
Le Cornouaille Hotel
#1 of 11 in Benodet
109 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
Hotel Restaurant de l'Ocean
#3 of 10 in Concarneau
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
Mona Lisa Cap Coz
#5 of 7 in Fouesnant
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
570 reviews
21.4 mi away
Le Panoramique
Le Panoramique
#1 of 1 in Le Pouldu
21 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel de la Pointe de Mousterlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue

Address: 30 Descente de Belle Vue, 29170, Fouesnant, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Fouesnant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fouesnant
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue 3*
Also Known As:
Hotel-Restaurant Bellevue Fouesnant, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing