We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Are you open or not?!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chateau des Reynats
Brackley, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Are you open or not?!”
Reviewed February 18, 2007

We stayed at this hotel while on a property hunt. The website looked good and the location was ideal so we booked. After a long drive we were amazed to be told that the restaurant was closed that evening - and so was the bar as the only member of staff on duty in the whole hotel had not been left the keys! Needless to say the website mentioned none of this.

After reading poor reviews of the Orangerie, we had booked a room in the Chateau, which was OK. The hotel, however, reports to be 4 star, but I would expect to be able to get a meal or at least a glass of wine in a four star hotel.

Did they charge less for not being properly open? What do you think?

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Travelluvas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    62
    32
    24
    16
See reviews for
17
117
3
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

We needed a place to stay in this area, and the web site looked promising. We had a good (not great) dinner, and a room that was reasonably comfortable but very oddly decorated (is/was shown on their web site -- blue, with stones and driftwood as accents???). The exterior is lovely, but it just wasn't a place we could warm up to. We are unlikely to return, as there are many better choices in the general area.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Berkeley_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 22, 2005

I arrived and was told that they did not have my reservation, however they sorted that out as they had rooms, luckily. The cost was exactly what my travel agent had been quoted so I suspect they had made a mistake at the hotel. I had a chateaux room, the ones in the orangerie ( an annex 100m away ) are simple basic rooms with some poor views. Best to stay in the chateuax. The bedrooms are plain but comfortable, except for the suites( more spiffy) which I was not allowed to see. The dining room and lounge are very nicely and traditionally decorated. The dinner , as part of package, was good but the a la carte is apprently much better. The restuarant on site is renowned in the local area and the clients I went to see were angling to get an invite for dinner , they hold it in that high regard. Breakfast simple but good. Agree that the staff are all very pleasant and helpful. The receptionist was very helpful and able to find out about the local bus that leaves from the street outside and into town every half hour for €1.25 . They will have broadband by the end of June. The swimming pool was cloudy but I suspect in summer when it is used most, it will be cleaned up. Nothing in the immediate area of any note, best to catch a cab into town or get the bus, which was just as easy.

  • Stayed May 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2005

We came one night to this castle-hotel for my daughter's birthday.
It was a pleasant surprise. A very pretty, clean hotel, gorgeously decorated and a very kind staff. Good breakfast, huge parking, swiming pool, garden. We loved staying here.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mari58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evergem, belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2003

An excellent hotel : great service and deliciuos diner and breakfast with excellent service.

For sure, we go back

Helpful?
7 Thank hendrik l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chancelade
7.1 mi away
Chateau De La Cote
Chateau De La Cote
#1 of 1 in Bourdeilles
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Etang des Reynats
L'Etang des Reynats
#1 of 2 in Chancelade
86 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Perigueux Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
256 reviews
11.1 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
378 reviews
10.2 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau des Reynats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau des Reynats

Property: Chateau des Reynats
Address: 15 avenue des Reynats, 24650 Chancelade, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Chancelade
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Chancelade
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau des Reynats 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The two floors of the castle count 13 rooms, 4 of which are « classique » rooms, 4 of which are « supérieure » rooms and 5 suites that lead to the main staircase and the elevator. All rooms have a different set-up and decoration. But each room offers you what you may expect (a large bed, a flat screen TV, a mini-bar, trendy bathrooms, bathrobes…), in harmony with an estate rich in history and regional heritage (old furniture, examples of regional themes…). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau des Reynats reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Des Reynats France/Chancelade, Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing