We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small zoo”
Review of Zoo Salzburg

Zoo Salzburg
Book In Advance
More Info
$27.42*
and up
Salzburg Card
Ranked #1 of 3 things to do in Anif
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Around 1200 animals and 140 species roam freely in the beautiful natural surroundings of this 34 -acre zoo enclosure, including white rhinos, jaguars and free-flying vultures. Visitors can gain a unique insight into the diversity of animal life in Eurasia, South America und Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Montgomery, Alabama
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great small zoo”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been too zoos all over the world and this one is unique. It is not flashy but our kids (5,3,1) loved it. The animals were very friendly and yu could interact with them more than American zoos. It is built In a clif and Ina straight line so there is only 1 way to go!

Ate at the food place there which was standard European cafe. The best part is that the playground was just across the sitting area so thy could play while I ordered the food!

All in all it was great. We used the Salzburg card but would have paid the entrance fee! Great thing to do with kids especially if they are a bit younger (under 10)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank AFSOONRMOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    123
    32
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holyhead
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Poor zoo...been to better pet shops. Great if you are obsessed with goats”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Salzburg zoo promised a lot, but delivered very little. On arrival we were excited to spend our annual easter Monday day out here.
5 minutes into the zoo, I realised this was going to be rubbish after hearing a few complaints about no animals being here. The bear was not in his area, instead we could hear it charging and head-butting a steel door through sheer frustration of being locked in a black hole. Though in that kind of mood that was probably a good thing.haha
The small room names 'maus haus' was a glass screen with a table inside, and no mouse. ok, move on. The Cheetah was asleep behind a rock, impossible to see. The lion was not available, though that's ok, because a sign told us 'the lion is old and does not like to go outside, so might stay inside today'...nice! that was worth the money.

On a positive note though, there are lots of goats to be seen...lots...all the way through the zoo there is goats. so if you travel all the way to Salzburg with a goat obsession you will be happy. perhaps take some goats cheese, goats milk, and goats yogurt and have a picnic.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nothing special, however not a bad few hours”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We visited the zoo after the Untersberg Cable Car as bus 25 stops here on the way. The zoo is by no strength of the imagination like London or Los Angeles Zoo. Instead it's rather small and built along side the bottom of a cliff. There are lots of animals, however it is no comparison to many other zoo's as there is nothing particularly special. There is a cafe/restaurant which we didn't dine at as it was not busy and the food wasn't prepared.

We visited using a Salzburg Card, meaning our visit was technically free. However, after visiting. I wouldn't want to pay the full entry price as I feel it is not worth it. Although I wouldn't select it as a great attraction, I still think kids would love it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“small but unique”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

the exhibits are unique and well done. take the number 25 bus from the train station. it lets you off in front of the zoo. maybe 30 minutes. 1,90 euro each way if you buy your ticket at a vending machine. 2,30 otherwise on bus. a 30 minute ride. I did this in march so it was a light crowd. since this zoo is small it might get crowded in the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasTerry_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, AZ
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just a part of the day”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Do not expect to find a large over priced American zoo here. What you will find is a nice place to walk around and just enjoy the day. Many little exibits and some are not so out in the open so make sure you hunt around and enjoy.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zoo Salzburg also viewed

 

Been to Zoo Salzburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing