We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zhanjiang best Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang
Ranked #3 of 168 Hotels in Zhanjiang
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Zhanjiang best Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

My family of 3 stayed here for one night while we visited my daughters orphanage in Zhanjiang. I was nervous about what I would find for hotels in this city. Well this hotel was perfect. The staff speaks very little English but you can get by. Before I had got there I had the orphanage name written out in Chinese, this was helpful for the staff to tell and show the taxi driver. The suite had everything you could want or think of. No street noise and we believe the air conditioner at night only went off from 2am to 4am, so we were not uncomfortable at all. The food was ok, one had buffet and the other 2 a la carte, I had cod fish that was delicious.

Room Tip: Our suite faced the ocean, was a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
2
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

It's the best hotel in Zhanjiang for the present moment. Rooms are well-equiped with everything you may need - tea-pot, iron, fridge, TV entertainment system, wi-fi. Standard room is very spacious. The hotel seems quite new. Buffet breakfast is mostly Chinese, but there are some choices for non-Chinese people also, could be much better though - juices and coffee need urgent mprovement. Pools are very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
160 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

This is a new hotel in Zhanjiang and consequently not too crowded but undoubtedly will grow in popularity. Stayed five nights and enjoyed everything. The rooms are large, spacious and very clean. Bathroom is spacious with separate shower stall and a big bathtub. Plenty of amenities. Lighting in the bathroom is motion controlled, so lights go on automatically if you must get up in the night. The rooms are very quite; never heard a sound from the adjacent rooms. The curtains work extremely well--set alarm cause you won't wake up by the sunlight! If you don't want to be disturbed when they are on their regular rounds, staff will come and clean the room any time during the day that you ask. The fitness room is very nice with six Precor treadmills and a bunch of other top-of-the-line equipment, but the pool is absolutely perfect, with separate lap pool and a leisure pool, both large. One of the best pool facilities you will find anywhere. The Chinese restaurant was not crowded and the food was delicious. Best thing is the price; I paid 700 RMB/night and suspect it can be cheaper if you plan ahead and have a local book the reservation. Only strange thing was that I broke a small plate, and when I checked out it took them about 5 minutes to figure out what to do about it and how much to charge me (75 RMB!). Within a short (13 RMB) taxi ride is a plethora of restaurants and shopping, including WalMart, Pizza Hut, and KFC if you need. Foreigners are not too common in Zhanjiang; got more stares and hellos than usual; like 15 years back in Beijing and Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

When Traveling through China Tripadvisor is a must. It is very easy to become stranded without a plan in place. Transportation lacks many safety advantages that people in the US take for granted. Such as seat belts, helmets on motor bikes, and basically crossing a crowded street can become quite a chore. Remember you are one of millions, and don't speak the language. Even if you have taken a class in Mandarin the people speak a mixture of Cantonese, and Chinese slang, that makes it impossible to carry on a conversation with the locals. The same with English, if you are from the US you will have to speak the English that they speak, which is usually the British version, that is taught in the schools.
The Sovereign Hotel is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in throughout .all of China. I usually stay at the Crowne Plaza which is also very nice. Sovereign Hotel is a 5 stars and lives up to it's rating unless you are a picky eater, even the food is above acceptable. If you are a picky eater they have upgraded restaurants that maybe acceptable to you. I did not use the pool or the fitness center so I can not speak for these accessories.
They have more than enough staff to handle anything. They are over staffed and specialize in finding the person that has the answer to all your questions. Multi skilled and Multi Task was invented by the Chinese and the Japanese. Traffic moves but you take your life in your hands crossing the street as they do not believe in driving on one side or the another on their roads. Mind boggling. The rooms are not noisy air works good but the one problem they have is an energy saver system for air conditioning. It goes to fan at 2AM and comes back to cool at about 7 AM. If it is really hot outside this can be uncomfortable about 3:30 or 4AM. Beautiful building and for the money ($86 a day) it is a deal for a 5 star hotel with a few flaws. All Hotels are located on the outskirts of Zhanjiang City Proper. Good Idea because all the parks and the sights are at this location. Harbor is close also. The Navy has a base here but not for tourists.
Sincerely
Dan Studzinski
Kennett Square, Pa.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danstdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful new hotel. The rooms are clean and have great bathrooms. Problem is it is July and it is hot and humid. The hotel turns off the air conditioning after midnight so you wake up in a pool of sweat at 3 am. They don't turn the air back on until 530 am. They say they are trying to save power. The staff arefriendly and polite but not trained very well. Slow to respond and they don't seem to know what's going on. It actually took me 25 minutes to check in and another 20 to check out.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMACK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhanjiang, China
Level Contributor
94 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

I knew this hotel due to my friend's recommendation, because she knew I was looking for an indoor swimming pool to swim in winter. She recommended this hotel to me. And I like its indoor swimming pool. Afterwards when I tried its buffet, I like it very much! Recently Sovereign offers a promotion on a group-buying website. The package ONLY cost 598 RMB of one night stay and dinner sets for 2 persons in its Japanese restaurant. Although I am a local, I still ordered it without any hesitation.

Though it is a group-buying promotion, and I called the Front Desk to confirm many details first at about 23:50 before purchase, the staff still served me with platinum customer service, answering my questions efficiently and enthusiastically.

I have to say, all facilities in the room are of high-tech! The light in bathroom is sensitive. You don't have to worry about not finding the button when you go to toilet in mid-night. And the curtains in living room and bathroom are also electronic controlled. I have stayed in many hotels before, so far this is the first hotel I have found to have such facilities! Especially when Zhanjiang is not a very big city, it is more exciting.

There are all kinds of glasses in the drawer, for normal drinking water and red wine, etc.

Visitors can't reach the floors where hotel rooms are located via elevators, unless you put your room card on the sensor in the elevator, which fully protect the privacy and security of the guests.

Even though the Japanese dish sets are for free in this promotion, you can tell the chef still cooked them seriously. They won't treat you with bad service just because your package is a group-buying one. It is very yummy and the service is excellent!

If you really want me to pick up its disadvantages, it may be the amount of sockets. It is not enough. If you bring your laptop, cellphone, or even Ipod, Ipad, etc at the same time, you cannot find enough sockets to have them charged.

I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zhanjiang hotels
1.7 mi away
Sheraton Zhanjiang Hotel
Sheraton Zhanjiang Hotel
#1 of 168 in Zhanjiang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Zhanjiang
Crowne Plaza Zhanjiang
#2 of 168 in Zhanjiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hai Bin Hotel
Hai Bin Hotel
#17 of 168 in Zhanjiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bafang Chain Hotel Yingzhan Plaza
0.3 mi away
Hafree International Hotel
Hafree International Hotel
#12 of 168 in Zhanjiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
3.0 mi away
Maple Leaf International Hotel
Maple Leaf International Hotel
#19 of 168 in Zhanjiang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang

Property: Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang
Address: No.29 Leshan Avenue, Economy and Technology Development Zone, Zhanjiang 520422, China
Location: China > Guangdong > Zhanjiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 168 Hotels in Zhanjiang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Sovereign Hotel Zhanjiang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing