We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Neptune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Neptune Hotel
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Berck
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Good location - right on the beach but on a sunny September weekend the resort felt tired and run down.
Hotel rooms had comfortable beds and stacks of hot water. However, rooms were cramped with poor / minimal storage space. Bathroom was clean but the layout was poor. The WC is close up against the basin making bit difficult to use especially for the less able bodied.
Restaurant was well used but staff seemed inexperienced and rushed around. Although the menus sounded interesting, much of the food seemed to be tinned / frozen / prepacked and was not good vale for money. Breakfast was poor quality for the price charged - tinned fruit, cheap jams etc.
Although the hotel was busy, it is not one which I will be returning to.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    219
    142
    64
    36
See reviews for
196
264
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chastre, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at neptune as part of family visiting for 4 nights. So we only needed a place to sleep without breakfast.
Room was quite confortable but the bathroom was small because we had not place enough for our knees when we had to use the toilet.
Reception staff was friendly and we got a secure parking for ca8.00 EURO.
I recommend this hotel for stays inexpensive enjoying a relative confort (TV, wardrobes, cleaness...) overlooking the front sea.
Berck is a beautiful place to walk and discover nature with seals, shells... Ideal base for visiting other places (Touquet, Boulogne...) and the famous aquarium: Nausicaä.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank belbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

The hotel has an ideal location facing the sea with it,s sandy beach, I booked and paid for a single room and had a double bed anyway, no question about sharing. Really helpful staff. Had a really comfortable night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuralRovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bushey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a 2 star hotel but in reality probably delivers a little more.

First the negatives:

1. Our bathroom was fitted with a jacuzzi bath and instructions were provided in the room. It didn't work. When we asked, we were told it wasn't meant to. We hadn't expected such a bath so it wasn't a problem that it didn't work but why probide instructions?

2. We only attemptyed breakfast on our last day. Our room information stated that it was served until 10am. We arrived at 09:15. There were no croissants or french bread left and they were not refilled. The staff then started clearing away at 09:30. Unacceptable!

Now for the rest. Our room was spotless as was the bathroom. Both were small but adequate. As the hotel in on the main Esplanade, our sea facing room was subject to the noise from the street but that was very effectively silenced with the window closed. However, there was no air conditioning which might be an issue in very hot weather.

Reception staff were polite and helpful and room costs acceptable for the standard and location of the hotel. The free wi-fi worked fine on my smart phone and was useful. Although the hotel offers parking, we parked for free on the street without any problem.

Berck is a small pleasant seaside resort with a lovely beach and a few restaurants. We ate in two but would not recommend either.

We stayed in Berck as part of a family birthday celebration - the rest of the family were staying in a friend's apartment which wasn't large enough to accommodate us. It's not a location I would particularly reccommend unless you just want a lovely sandy beach.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

A last minute decision to stay overnight at Berck before taking Le Shuttle back to England lead to us staying here. The beach-side location is superb (and unique), accommodation was pretty basic (we had a studio - booked a 2 person one, but allocated one for 6), but for 40 euros the value was tremendous. Quiet hotel room with the necessary facilities, pretty clean, friendly reception staff, secure parking for 5.50 euros. We did not eat at the restaurant, preferring to look for somewhere else while wandering the town (a real find in La Chantilly). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2010

The room was clean, but very small. As the bed was nearly long enough for me I had to sleep cross. No heating on and on full power, the heating was not warm. Shower was so small that I had to leave the door open in order to wash my feet. Toilet was 30cm from washingtable. My knees ware pressed in the washtable when I sat on the toilet.
Coffee was not ok. The price was not exagerated, but in that way not cheap also.
I will look for another hotel next time.
My free wifi never worked.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Euro-instruments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berck hotels

Cheltenham
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Room OK but furnishing worn, window leaked onto carpet. View wonderful. Bar deserted and we were unable to locate any staff so proceeded to the restaurant which was empty apart from one couple. The waiter groaned when he saw us and his attitude grew more surly as another couple arrived. My food very tired apart from the dessert which was profiteroles - still frozen solid. I drew the attention of the waiter by demonstrating the hardness, hitting them with a spoon. He shrugged and said have something else.
Hotel position wonderful but appears to be badly in need of refurbishing/painting inside and out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuinkCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Berck
1.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
0.3 mi away
Hotel de la terrasse
Hotel de la terrasse
#3 of 10 in Berck
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#7 of 10 in Berck
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
720 reviews
7.3 mi away
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
Novotel Thalassa Le Touquet
#11 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
1,687 reviews
1.6 mi away
Les Iris Hotel
Les Iris Hotel
#4 of 10 in Berck
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Neptune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Hotel

Property: Neptune Hotel
Address: Esplanade Parmentier | Berck-sur-Mer, 62600 Berck, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Berck
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Berck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Neptune Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Neptune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing