We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful retreat, really calm and close to the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Large vine-covered terrace with sea view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large vine-covered terrace with sea view
350 Year Old. Full of Atmosphere and all you need for a Comfortable Holiday
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Large vine-covered terrace with sea view
350 Year Old. Full of Atmosphere and all you need for a Comfortable Holiday
View from our favourite Taverna. Direct Flights from London starts April 1st 2017
One of the most beautiful coastlines in Greece
Agios Nikolaos lit by the many tavernas
Pick your own Grapes in August and September
Air con, dimmed lights, satellite TV - and a nice collection of books, dvd's , travel info and maps
Half the Kitchen, with all you need to make a tasty meal
The main bedroom. Air con, large wardrobe, dressing table and Sea View (yes, the other window:)
Stoupa, 10 mins away. The area offers dozens of Tavernas. Eating out is Cheap.
A large variation of tavernas to choose from
Beautiful walks just outside our village early spring
Meet the real Greece in the mountains
The Taygetos Mountains. For the Brave, a 4x4 or very Fit Legs
The Prophet Elias, summit 2407m above the beach
Ag. Nikolaos overlooked by our village Pyrgos
Our village Pyrgos
Welcome to the Peloponnese
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stoupa, Messenia Region, Peloponnese

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sfabris
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful retreat, really calm and close to the beach”
Reviewed September 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

What a charming house. We had the pleasure to spend a week at Casa Sophia and we have truly enjoyed it. The owner are friendly and welcoming. Even if they live downstairs, they are here to make your stay even more pleasant, not intrusive at all and providing very good advice about the area. The house is well equipped, clean and confortable. The little walk from the parking to the house in the footpath between the traditional houses in the village is picturesque and nice. We will definitely come back. Thank you Sophia and Morgen.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Terrasse with sea view
Liked least: Mosquitos
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ray_S_Mid...
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Individual and charming villa located in a pretty village”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We selected Casa Sophia after a great deal of careful research - much with Trip Advisor (TA). We were seeking accommodation that would offer plenty of individual character and tranquillity. Reviews by previous guests on TA gave us high expectations and we were not disappointed! It is located in a maze of alleyways that make up the old, picturesque village of Pyrgos. Immediately outside the villa a large terrace is packed with flowering plants offered a view down to the coast. Inside, the villa is very comfortable, incredibly well equipped, pleasantly cool and really homely being packed full of objet d’art from Sophia’s extensive world travels.

The owners, Sophia and Mogens live below the villa. This was entirely positive. They are enthusiastic and very knowledgeable about the local area. We had some great conversations and enjoyed similar interests and a similar sense of humour. But almost all the time, we simply felt a sense of privacy. They got the balance just the right balance. We found Sophia’s written notes about the area are better than many guide books.

When researching accommodation options, we considered other properties that were newer, often with lovely swimming pools. But we are pleased we opted for Casa Sophia. Staying there really made us feel like travellers finding a bit of adventure rather than consumers buying something good but standardized.

We loved the surrounding area in particular the plant and insect life in the surrounding hills, the mountain villages and the beach swimming. We enjoyed having dinner every evening in various restaurants in Stoupa or Ag Nikolaus.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Individual character and village location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ian c
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just back from 2 weeks at Casa Sophia, this home from home spacious aparrment lived up to all our expectations and more. The lovely couple who own this house could not have been more helpful and welcoming, we arrived on the first British Airways flight to Kalamata to be met by press and dignaturies and even a fire tender water cannon directed over the plane.
The village of Pyrgos is so peaceful and very unique with many wonderful walks straight from the village. Stoupa is a lovely village totally unspoitl but with wonderful beach and restaurants, we walked several times along the beautiful pathway to agios nikolaos from Stoupa another fantastic village with lovely restaurants. Took the bus to Kalamata a spectaular trip over the mountains had lunch and visited the old town and harbour, a great city to explore. Once more thank you Sophia and Moggan for a wonderful stay.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BikingBob
Elmhurst, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable and quiet place to stay.”
Reviewed October 21, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is very much of an off the beaten track place, though not so much that you can be on a beach in 10 minutes, some of the finest of which we have see in Greece. The apartment was all that we could have hoped for and our host, who lives on site, could not have been more helpful. The kitchen was the best equipped that we have stayed in in the last 15 years. Having arrived late in the day, Sophia provided us with "starter" supplies so that we did not have to get provisions on our way in. A good grocery store is also only 10 minutes away in the town of Stoupa.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2015
One of our typical wonderful guests. So a very big thanks from us, we try our best to make all our guests feel really welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cbarthere
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL PLACE, LOVELY PEOPLE”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

There is no doubt you will enjoy the quietness of the mountain and you'll find the village is charming, but how not to fall in love with this lovely home and its inhabitants.
It really is a nice old house beautifully furnished and decorated and very well equipped. in addition, the kindness of Sophia and Mogens, their availability, makes you think that you are visiting friends rather than renting a house for vacation.
Starting on morning on the terrace, taking your coffee under the shade of the pergola and contemplating the sea view , this is the best way to start your day !
Then you will go down to the beach (10 minutes) or will visit one of these places recommended by Sophia and Mogens.
for the evening, dinner in a tavern on Agios Nikolaos' harbour or in a secret place in the mountain.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: view and quietness
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon K
1 review
“Fantastic apartment in a mountain village, overlooking the sea.”
Reviewed September 13, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have recently returned from a lovely week staying at Casa Sophia. We rented the upper apartment, which has a beautiful outdoor terrace. The house is in a very quiet and atmospheric mountain village, more or less untouched by tourism. Sophia gave us a great welcome, and even provided us with provisions to get us started (including oranges and figs from her orchard). Her recommendations of sight-seeing, beaches, bar and tavernas, were excellent. Staying here is like staying at a friend’s house, full of interest, books, and ornaments. Our routine was reading/writing in the morning, then driving down the hillside to one of the beaches - from leaving the house you can be swimming in the sea after a 10-15 min drive. Sophia recommended Pantazi beach, and we returned there often. There are some restaurants in the village below (Neohori) but we ended up eating most nights at one of the many tavernas on the coast, particularly in Agios Nikiolas. We retreated back up the mountain after a day on the coast, to the cool night, the terrace, and the stars. A lovely place to stay, and very highly recommended.

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katieVeni...
venice
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Early Summer in Mani”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed in Casa Sophia for one week in early summer 2013. The peaceful atmosphere of the ancient village, the beauty of the house, the kindness of our hosts, the lazy mornings and evenings enjoying meals and company on the terrace admiring the sea in the distance or in the garden...all these helped our short break to become 'a most precious and sweet memory' already. From the first moment you feel at home, comfortable and ready to enjoy your stay there. We suggest to carefully follow any information about beaches, tavernas, places to visit, local shops; Sophia and her partner are very kind, helpful and we found their advice interesting and very useful.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing