We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Amalia Apts in Super Stoupa!”
Review of Amalia Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amalia Apartments
Ranked #33 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Amazing Amalia Apts in Super Stoupa!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Absolutely amazing apartments with gorgeous views of the Messianian Gulf - if you are reasonably fit and enjoy a good stroll to work off those evening meals than one of these four apartments could be ideal for you!
Each one has a fully furnished kitchenette (full-sized fridge/freezer and oven, filter coffee machine, iron+board - no microwave or teapot though!) we did a large shop on arrival at Katerinas Supermarket (20min walk on the main rd - free delivery) and cooked the occasional evening meal which we ate on the balcony watching the sun setting - very romantic! There are two good sized bedrooms with plenty of storage (free air-con), the bathroom is roomy with bath/shower and has a very efficient wall mounted hairdryer. All towels are provided - just bring ones for the pool/beach. There is free Wi-fi access and a very good Information folder with just about everything you need to know about the area and excursions available. Don't bother bringing any books as there are plenty in the lobby. Sunvil provides a well provisioned Welcome Hamper and Lorna the lovely cleaning lady bought us little treats as well as doing a fantastic cleaning job!
Now all this sounds great but the selling factor for us was the huge balcony which is accessible from 2or3 of the rooms depending on which apartment you had and the views were just amazing: such perfection is hard to come by and we found it hard sometimes to tear ourselves away and actually go out into Stoupa! Another big plus is the large swimming pool which we mostly had to ourselves - plenty of tables/parasols/sunbeds available but the pool is quite deep so not really suitable for children - there is a washing machine situated near the pool for guests to use also a brick built Barbeque.
The 15-20min walk to Stoupa sea-front was not a problem (bring a torch for night-time) but I would agree that car hire would be a good idea if mobility is a concern (off road parking at rear of Amalia apts) or if you were visiting in the hotter months. Most evenings we would stroll down into Stoupa: plenty of places to eat and drink with, in my opinion, the Pefko Restaurant giving overall best value for money and the Akrogiali being the most efficient but our favourite place was the Dionysis Taverna (just up the side lane from the 5 Brothers Restaurant) where there was such a lovely ambiance and where I ate the best chicken souvlaki that I've ever tasted! After our meal we would enjoy a drink or two at Patrikos: it's easy to overlook this place but their micro-brewed beer and fabulous Mojito's makes it a must do!
Most days we would stay around our pool but we did spend the odd day at Kalogria or the Towns beaches: beautiful clear water. We paid 5Euros for 2sunbeds, table+parasol at Kalogria beach but used the free ones at either Patrikos or neighbouring bar on the town beach. If you decide to do the paved walk to Agios nikolaos (really pretty village+well worth doing) avoid the heat of mid-day as the suns heat reflects off the concrete path making it a real killer.
We only did one Sunvil excursion and that was to Ancient Ithomi and I would thoroughly recommend it: Mary the tour guide was very knowledgeable and the whole site with its on-going archaeological dig is simply mesmerizing.
We have travelled to Greece for many years normally preferring to stay on one of the many Islands and have enjoyed some super holidays but I think that Stoupa and the Amalia Apartments have emerged as our all time favourite and we certainly will be returning.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
bIRMINGHAM ENGLAND
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday in the Amailia. Amazing apartments by any standard never mind Greek! Balcony was enormous and had views all round of the sea mountains and the olive groves. Lorna the maid was lovely and made sure everything was ok for us. Lovely clean pool which was often empty and we quite often had the place to ourselves. There are only 4 apartments and all are lovely with great views. Bit of a walk into Stoupa 20 mins. Ok going in but a bit of a hike back in the heat. I wouldnt recommend it for anyone with walking difficulties or with young children as part is on a busy road! However Stoupa itself is fantastic. A beautiful authentically greek harbour with plenty of lovely tavernas not an english breakfast in site! Perfect for us greekofiles! Lovely beach sandy and lovely swimmimg. A fabulous hol all in all. Bit disappointed in Sunvil rep who was not very helpful but that could be due to the large area she covered. There is also no Taverna within a 100metres as claimed in some brochures and the nearest supermarket is a good 20 min walk. Having pointed that out would not hesitate to go again a truely lovely place and accomadation.

Room Tip: They are all excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GABRIEL50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

What a fantastic place, we were there in June 2012, and had a two bed apartment for the two of us. The balcony is so large what ever time of day you could always find shade. The pool area is great and was so quiet as there usually was only the two for most of the day.

We did not find the walk a problem in the evening, we had a torch but is was mostly lit and met with very little or no traffic on the walk back.

Stoupa is lovely there are some really good greek taverna's, and everyone is really friendly.

Would go again, but the cleaning service and linen change could be a little better for the 4 star accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ElaineWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 412 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

We had a family holiday at the Amalia Apartments in Stoupa in August. The apartment was exceptional, with a beautiful full length balcony which overlooked the swimming pool. It was spotlessly clean and the pool was fantastic. But.............. It was a real hike to get into Stoupa to eat at the Tavernas or go to the beach. We used to call it the walk of death, which we had to do 4 times a day. It's a good 20 minutes each way walking briskly and in the heat of the August sun it really was a killer. More to the point, the walk back at night (uphill and takes longer)was downright dangerous when you got to the main road which was completely unlit. I would advise any families with children to consider hiring a car, or if you don't, take powerful torches and some kind of reflective clothing or suchlike. It really is pitch black!

Stoupa is a fantastic holiday resort which I have been to on 3 occasions. Full of fantastic tavernas and restaurants. The beach is perfect.

To sum it up, The Amalia Apartments are perfect in every way and highly recommended, but in my opinion a car is needed to avoid the long walks to and from Stoupa.

Room Tip: Seriously consider a hire car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

I'm reluctantly writing this review. Why? If the secret that is Amalia gets out, then the wonderful holiday accomodation we enjoyed via a "last minute" booking from a well known .com website means it will probably be swamped with folks and the chances of us getting back to it will be severely compromised.
So, why review it then?
Listen (and I'm only going to whisper this), it is fantastic. No really. It is that good. There are four apartments (twin bedrooms) that want for nothing. They all have massive balconies that look across olive groves to the Mediterranean. Watching the sun set as you sit down to enjoy dinner on your own private balcony is an everyday occurrence here.
If you've been self-catering before in Greece then you'll know that facilities are often just about okay for cooking. Not here. Fully fitted kitchen with built-in oven and four ring cooking. Check. Large built-in fridge freezer. Check. Kettle and toaster. Check. Sufficient crockery/cutlery/glassware and cooking utensils/pots & pans. Check.
Alright, we've established that the food prep side of things is sorted.
Bet the bathroom lets it down?
Err, no.
There is a bath and a shower-over-it with strong and consistent water pressure.
Temperatures are also constant.
Bet they don't have a washing machine?
Not in your apartment, but there is a utility room descretely screened off from the pool that has one.
Whats the pool like?
In a word: Awesome
Super clean and the surrounding area has plenty of sunbeds and tables beneath parasols to shelter from the sun.
What I haven't mentioned is the satellite TV and DVD provision.
Or the library in the entrance hall (all the books are in english).
Or the fact that the pool area is lit up at night and looks amazing.

Downsides.
Okay, its a 20 minute walk/stroll into town.

So to sum up...please I beg you don't stay here, its terrible and you will have the worst holiday of your entire life. You will be doing me a massive personal favour by avoiding this place. Avoid at all costs. It is horrible. The worst place to stay in Stoupa.

Phew, think they bought it.
Result.

Oh forgot to mention, no WIFI.
Not a deal-breaker for me but might be for some :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PG64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beds UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2010

For our first visit to Stoupa we chose to stay at the Amalia Apartments, so pleased we did. Of the four apartments we stayed in one on the upper floor which had 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen-dining area and a huge balcony with panoramic views of the sea and the most spectacular sunsets. The apartments are an easy 15-20 minute walk from the main village of Stoupa and there is a supermarket and bakery en route.
I had the large swimming pool to myself most days as it was so quiet..........heavenly. Katerina the owner was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
We ate in most evenings, or should I say ‘out’ on the balcony watching the sunsets, but on the occasions we did venture into Stoupa, we found many restaurants to choose from and the ones we tried were very good.
If you like peace and quiet the Amalia Apartments come highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Donkeytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoupa hotels
0.0 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Apartments Kleopatra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kolokotronis
Hotel Kolokotronis
#1 of 36 in Stoupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lighthouse Apartments
Lighthouse Apartments
#13 of 36 in Stoupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aiolos Hotel Apartments
Aiolos Hotel Apartments
#5 of 36 in Stoupa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amalia Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amalia Apartments

Property: Amalia Apartments
Address: Stoupa 24100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Stoupa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Amalia Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing