We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can`t be faulted”
Review of The Hotel Stoupa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoupa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hotel Stoupa
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
whitstable
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Can`t be faulted”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just back from another two weeks in Stoupa. We stayed at Stoupa Hotel as we have previously.
In total agreement with other contributors. Spotlessly clean, linen and towels changed every other day, wonderful continental breakfast and lovely, helpful owners/staff
Would stay there anytime and have no hesitation in awarding 5 stars

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roger t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very little to add to the other reviews really and absolutely nothing to complain about whatsoever. A small (20 rooms?) "bed and breakfast" hotel run by a lovely, friendly and helpful family within yards of all the facilities: beaches, bars, tavernas etc..
We've been to Stoupa several times before so know what's there and this suited what was sadly just a 1-week "flying visit". Won't comment on Stoupa as such, just the hotel.
Notes to help people who haven't been to Stoupa and especially haven't stayed at this hotel:
Good breakfast with a typical mix of continental-style buffet, from fresh fruit and juices and cereals, through boiled eggs, cheeses, meats, olives and lovely local bread, jams etc.
Safes in all the rooms, usually €15 per week extra. Balconies of varying sizes - we could sit out on ours and watch the world go by.
Air conditioning in all rooms nominally chargeable (for the independent traveller?), but included in most package deals.
Spring water tap 20 metres from the front door, so no need to buy bottled water. Fridge in every room, with drinking glasses too. Hair dryer in all rooms.
Tea/coffee/hot water machine in lounge available all day (not just breakfast) - just ask them for a cup. Good coffee from the machine with optional "Nescafe" sachets at breakfast if you prefer and a good choice of teas (bags)!
Just less than half the rooms are on "the front" with a road outside and it does get busy quite early, but this isn't a main road, just the loop in and out of the village. We actually quite liked the morning "bustle" - we were on the ground floor, road side and could hear the goats going out to pasture early every morning, bells jingling.
Small bar, but most people will "hit the town" in the evening.

Room Tip: You probably won't get a choice. If you really need quiet in the morning ask for one at the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew-Beverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Just back from our third visit to this lovely hotel and already booked to go again next year.
We are made to feel at home immediately and are totally relaxed about everything from the outset.
Spotlessly clean, regular change of linen and excellent breakfast.
My wife and I have been to many places in Greece and stayed in other nice accommodation but rate this among the top two.
Hard to fault except to say that,as my wife was in a wheelchair this time,we would have appreciated a ramp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PARGAMAN2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peak District
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just came back from 2 weeks at the "Stoupa Hotel" The previous reviews were all correct. The hotel is spotless. Rooms are cleaned every day, with towels being changed on the 3rd day. It is family run, with Yannis on the bar giving lots of good information on places to visit or eat. Air-con was free, but the safe in the room cost 30 euros for 2 weeks.There is a fridge in the room with glasses provided. The breakfast was brill, with loads on offer. You can ask for other things if you don't like what you see. The resort is really good for kids in the daytime, with lots of safe shallow bathing. There are 4 beaches. 1 is really busy, then the main beach which is about 150mtrs down a smallish incline from the hotel. There are 2 other quieter beaches to the left of the main beach, which are great for kids. The nightlife is centered around the seafront, and is very much taverna orientated, so not as much going on for children. We ate at some good tavernas. We can recommend 100% Akrogiali (left of beach) which you will have to queue at, but well worth it. Another is the Riviera Right of beach. People have said the Pefko was really good, but I didn't enjoy my meal. I suppose you have to try and make up your own mind. Importantly: The beer is 2 1/2 euros, and the wine varies between 2 1/2-4 euros for 1/2 litre of wine. Metaxa and coke was 4 euros. If you enjoy a walk, there is a costal walk to Agios Nicholas. It has a proper concrete path for cyclists and walkers only. It is about a 6 mile round trip. You can dip in the sea on the way to cool down. This is a nice simple fishing village. Near the village is a beach where the hype seems to be on a bit of cliff jumping. To hire a push bike it cost 10 euros a day. We got a car ( be warned book in advance or loose out) We booked with "Napoleon", out of hotel door turn left 50 mtrs on left, just ask yannis. A panda car ( one step up from a dodgem car), but brand new cost 106 euros for 2 days. Paid extra 10 euros a day, but no cost to you if you have any sort of accident. Otherwise you might get charged 300 euros excess. Other car companies said you had to book for 4 days to get a full waiver of damage. In the car go to "Messini" ( amazing). This is a roman city which is massive over acres. 2 euros entry. for 3 more euros you can go in the museum. (not worth it) It takes about 2 hours drive to get to "Messini". The other was "Mystras". This is a castle and monasteries etc, which are still standing to go inside. Again is over a large area. Cost is 5 euros to get in. The road is through a long mountain pass. NO Petrol stations. The views are amazing with the road cut through cliffs. Don't go back all the way you came. Go back a mile and take the signs for aereopolis, this takes an hour off the journey with a straight road. Takes 2 1/2 to get there. The road from Kalamata to the hotel is bend after bend on the mountain, so take a travel pill if needed as it takes 1 1/4 hours to get there. All in all, this was a fantastic hotel where service was priority, along with a brilliant resort to relax in. Would go again, and would recommend to any age. There are people there that have been going for years. Look at the other reviews to help make a decision. Hope this review helps. Remember everyone has their own opinion, but it does seem in this case that most reviews are the same.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 28. It had a palm tree in front which shielded the bright sun. This meant you coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Musicman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay....have to say one of the best we've stayed in in Greece. Excellent maid service with fresh towels every two days. Very good choice at breakfast with loads of fresh fruit which one could take to the beach if needed. A first for us was free air conditioning...simply brilliant!! I've given it a score of 4 and not 5 because, as our room was at the front of the hotel, the noise from the road was on occasions was dreadful, especially early in the morning. However that would not stop us from going back as you sort of get used to it...all in all very good.....MrM99

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel and upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Having recently returned from this superb family run hotel, my husband and I felt the need to add our comments to the already impressive list of satisfied customers. Rooms are of a good size and spotless clean. The breakfast provided was excellent. The freshest bread, eggs, cheeses, cold meats, fresh fruit, fantastic yogurt, the sweetest honey, coffee and are large selection of teas were available buffet style. Beds made daily, clean sheets 3 times a week, with towels changed as and when needed. Plenty of storage space and coat hangers aplenty. Being a family run concern, the pride and courtesy shown by the family to all their guests was exemplary. There is no pool but with access to 3 fabulous beaches within walking distance it wasn't missed.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear of the property had more privacy on the balcony than those on the front which face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank niftyclifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Harwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just back from a 2 week stay in this superb hotel. One of the best hotels we have stayed in on our many visits to greece. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and it is kept very clean. The rooms are of a good size with plenty of wardrobe space. The bedding and towels are changed about 3 times a week. Everything about this hotel is perfect from the staff to the location. Must mention Ioannis the owners son who runs the bar, we had a few good drinks with him after we came back from dinner and he was very helpful with his advice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bicky23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoupa hotels
0.1 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olympia Villas
Olympia Villas
#7 of 9 in Stoupa
11 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Olympia Villa and Pool
#6 of 9 in Stoupa
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
69 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kolokotronis
Hotel Kolokotronis
#1 of 37 in Stoupa
98 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manis Rose
Manis Rose
#4 of 37 in Stoupa
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Stoupa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Stoupa

Property: The Hotel Stoupa
Address: Stoupa, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Stoupa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Stoupa 2*
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing