We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good appartment in a fantastic village”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stoupa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Georges Estate Villas
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
Reviewed August 30, 2010

We stayed in stoupa last october and wanted to return in high season, when we arrived from Kalamata we were given a upper level studio with a balcony looking onto a court yard and other appartments, The room had a cooking ring sink and fridge (nothing more than you would expect in greece), the twin beds were ok and the large bathroom was a real plus.
After unpacking i had a mythos at the poolbar with Pete the terible who turned out to be helpfull and informative about stoupa and the local area, he even keeps maps behind the bar to assist with directions.
We were told the accomodation was full and expected a crush around the pool but this didnt happen, most days it was lively with a mixture of familys and couples, but if things got noisy Pete would have a quiet word with the kids and expect the parents to do there bit which they usually did. Suprisingly we saw very little of our neighbours and heard even less which meant great nights sleep.
All of the night life is arround the bay with enough tavenas to change every night and lunch, but for the best traditional greek food try Angelicas next to the closed icecream parlor.

Georges are good appartments in a great resort well wrth a visit

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank dorndadornda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed for one week in the Georges in early June and really liked both the apartments and the resort. We'll definitely be going back.

Apartments

Georges is set in a side street which leads down to the town beach, it's on a slight incline and the road is a bit rugged but not too bad. Our studio apartment was large and spotlessly clean with a big balcony. It also had air con but as the windows had mosquito mesh across them we didn't bother. There was plenty of hot water and sitting out on the balcony in the evening was great, it was really quiet and relaxing. The self catering facilities were the usual basic standard and the apartments cleaned with towel and linen changed twice in the week (3 times in a fortnight). The reception staff were very efficient and friendly and spoke good English. The pool looked nice but we went to the beach each day. The only down sides were the lack of a tea towel and the check out time of 9am (although, tbh, with a collection time of 10.10 this wasn't really a problem!).

Stoupa resort

The town/village was lovely. People were really friendly and welcoming and the prices very reasonable. We ate out every lunchtime and evening and a two course meal for two with wine/beer averaged around 25e. The food was consistently good.

There are three beaches in Stoupa, the main town beach (sandy with pebbles as you enter the sea), a small sand and shingle beach if you walk to your left as you look at the sea and the bigger sandy Kalogria beach (turn right as you look at the sea, walk up the hill and it's down some steps opposite the Drs, about 10mins walk). We spent every day at the Kalogria beach which was gorgeous. Sunbeds were 7e for 2 plus an umbrella and there are 5 or so tavernas on the beach. The only slight downside was the number of locals playing ball games but this did make for some amusement!

Throughout the village there are taps with red handles, these allow you to access the local spring water which is safe to drink and saves you buying bottled water. It was lovely and we really noticed the chemical taste of English water when we returned.

Overall, Stoupa is an excellent choice for people who want a relaxing break in a friendly and small village. I wouldn't recommend it for those who want nightlife or for those with children over the age of 6 or so, too little for them to do. But we loved it and will definitely return and will most likely stay at Georges.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kathy535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

I agree with all that has been said, however I would say that the dry/wet rot in the veranda doors and windows did not look very nice.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank oldbiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2009

just returned from a fabulous week in Stoupa.Stayed at Georges apartments, great location just a few minutes walk to the beach and seafront tavernas.beach is lovely, with just a few pedaloes and canoes to play with, some natural rocks scattered, gently shelving, safe for kids.great to snorkel, saw many fish. very warm water too.
sun beds and parasols to hire were around 7 euros per day for 2 beds with parasol.
some showers were tapped at each end of beach ,which were certainly useful.
We stayed at Georges (in the Manos brochure),mainly because they offered Free kids, and had a pool. Georges,was very comfortable.Large airy apartments,but basic cooking facilities, no kettle, minimal cooking utensils. air con was charged extra, but you could hire fans cheaper. we had a nice big room,but shame the generator was quite noisey, but lucky we had good neighbours too, the noise from other rooms does travel. We had a huge balcony/terrace, had the sun allday overlooking gardens. Georges has a very appealing pool area, quiet enough to read books, and yet,welcoming for a swim or the odd game of volleyball..we met some very friendly like minded families who shared our pool-games and kids had a great time! Pete the pool-bar man was lovely. yes, he is known for keeping to the rules of the pool,but we welcomed that anyhow, it was fine. no running, no dangerous behaviour, which was fine by us. he shared a wealth of knowledge and kindly directed us around the resort, and thanks to Pete, we found some marvellous tavernas to eat in.

1. Dionysos up around the back ,up alley way between the 5 brothers and pig man,...
up the road a bit, lovely traditional stone building, courtyard terrace, with real greek food on the menu,even had a kids menu, very reasonable, 2 adults 2 kids with drinks under 30 euros for us all.fine food, lovely ornate surroundings.
2. Agelikis (this is where we had our reps welcome meeting)..it was quite un-noticeable to look at, but it is family run, and although it looked basic from the road view, it was so welcoming, and homely. we had a great choice of mostly greek authentic cuisine, and the nice touch was, they take you up to the kitchen window,and show you the specials, so you can see before you order, which was nice.they did a superb pizza, which was delicious, more like a pie..mouthwatering, and they even give you a box to take away any you cant finish. they gave our kids free ice cream, with huge smiles, and we were offered water melon, such nice people. we went there frequently, as we were on a budget, but they fed us well.even the chef shook our hands when we left.they felt like family members by the end of the week. highly recommend this to people with young children, they certainly made us feel most welcome. Voula is the lovely lady who took care of us.
we ate there for lunch for the 4 of us around 20 euros, and for dinner around 30 euros.
the house wine was lovely,and very cheap too. 2.50 euros for half litre carafe.super.they advertised happy hour specials,mythos only 1.80 euros, between 5-7pm. which we thought was a great price.overall Stoupa was reasonable, very reasonable.
we also ate at the "pig man".he was the local butcher,who cooks a pig in the oven ,in view, chops it up, and serves it with hot crackling,on a large peice of paper in the middle of your table, and you just dig in, no cutlery,just finger licking good food. what an experience. try it, just for the novelty factor. great food, great price too.kids loved it. yummy.
We walked to Kalogria beach, about 15 min walk, wellworth the walk. beautiful bay of pure sand, slightly colder water,due to the cooling mountain springs, rockpools, and caves to explore around the edges, busy though.
we also did the longer walk to aghios nickolaos, took around an hour to walk, footpath all the way,popular with cyclists, but i have to say,the harbour was pretty, but was a little disappointed, nothing much else to see,so we walked back to stoupa, which was more appealing.but a pleasant walk anyhow.nice scenery and views of the coastline and mountains.
We drank the water from the mountain spring taps dotted around resort, which was lovely.
the roads are unlit, and quite uneven, and in the evening from 8pm,the main seafront is traffic free which is nice. very pleasant to wander out during the night, meandering through the village shops and tavernas,soaking up the lovely atmosphere. the sunsets were the best i have ever seen, quite amazing.
The one supermarket, Katerinas, was superb,stocked everything you could want, and again reasonable.
1. mosquito plug in repellers,only 4 euros.must have.
2.nectarines were lovely.huge and juicey.
they also had a ATM machine outside by the Parrot. quite a talking point.

Overall we loved Stoupa,it was quaint and unspoilt, we would return again one day i,m sure.
We were surprised and delighted with how reasonable it was, we were on a budget,and yet we could afford some luxuries. How lovely.
Pure relaxation,glorious weather, fantastic food. Truly memorable.
Lets just hope it stays like this. Greek.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank loopylooKentEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2016
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016
Thank Germien1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stoupa hotels
0.1 mi away
Lefktron Hotel
Lefktron Hotel
#1 of 9 in Stoupa
204 reviews
15.5 mi away
Hotel Apartments Kleopatra
2.6 mi away
Anaxo Resort
Anaxo Resort
#2 of 9 in Stoupa
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kolokotronis
Hotel Kolokotronis
#1 of 40 in Stoupa
120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manis Rose
Manis Rose
#4 of 40 in Stoupa
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Aphrodite
Hotel Aphrodite
#2 of 40 in Stoupa
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Georges Estate Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Georges Estate Villas

Address: Stoupa 24024, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Stoupa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Stoupa
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Georges Estate Villas 2*
Number of rooms: 33

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing