We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic from the welcome to departure - one NOT to be missed; Top tip - do book in for the Table d'hôte!!”
Review of La Maison Verte

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jouillat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Maison Verte
Ranked #1 of 1 Jouillat B&B and Inns
Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic from the welcome to departure - one NOT to be missed; Top tip - do book in for the Table d'hôte!!”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Sharon & Jason are natural hosts providing a rare combination of a genuine welcome, fabulous cuisine and superb rooms in this tastefully restored mas. Having stayed on a number of occasions we look forward to each visit and visibly relax when we arrive.
Sharon ensures that the guests are warmly welcomed and shown to the rooms which are spotless, chic and comfortable.
Jason's attention to detail and love of food show in every meal that he prepares and presents. Dining with them is a fabulous experience.
We have no hesitation in recommending Maison Verte wholeheartedly and are now planning extended stays.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

During a week in France we spent every night in a different chambre d' hote and I must say this was by far the best value for money! The place is an old farm that they have turned into a beautifull spotless clean place. Modern and new on the inside but it has kept all the charm of the original place. Big swimmingpool, comfortable beds and a great 4 course dinner (for just 25,- including wine and an aperitive!) which was delicious. We have not found the same quality during that week in any other chambre d' hote. Note: the price of the room was 90,- instead of the 70,- that the Michelin guide had mentioned, but they did directly inform us about that when we called.
Sjaak

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjakiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

We went there to spend 6 days with two young kids. Well, just arriving, the warm welcoming was waiting for us. After a long trip, we felt just like on holiday. The rooms are like 5 stars top hotels. Sharon and Jason made the utmost for us to feel comfortable, in a very relaxing way. We can only recommend the fabulous Table d'hote where Jason cooks a top class set of dishes. We enjoyed sharing our dinner with them where the ambiance was really great. Kids enjoyed the swimming pool while we could relax in a very calm area. We can only strongly recommend you to discover and stay at "La maison verte", simply beautiful!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scuderia-Ferrari-09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

The title says it all.. Jason & Sharon have a very relaxed but hugely welcoming manner and the accomodation is fantastic. We stayed for 5 nights so really got a chance to see how things work. The swimming pool is great and the service second to none. Jason is a fantastic cook and loves to please. Overall a fantastic holiday and the best place we have visited in France in many years. You will not be dissapointed... Go there for a week or even overnight the standards and welcome will be the same.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jouillat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

Very rarely do we ever return to a location or accommodation, but this was so good last time that we had to!
Jason and Sharon greeted us like retruning friends, nothing was too much trouble - we were spoilt. Our teenage son gave them the biggest compliment - there are only 3 places he would return to (one was Richard Bransons Morrocan Hideway) and La Maison Verte is one.
Given the opportunity we will return again, and again.
Many thanks for making our holiday such good fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravilious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

Very dissapointed with proprietor. She refused to return our deposit of 80 euros even though we had to cancel several weeks in advance of our arrival. Deposit policy was never stated.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mystic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2008

Wow, location, location, location.
Rooms fantastic, felt like staying in a five star hotel, and found it hard to beleive we were staying in a bed and breakfast in middle rural France.
The hospitality and food what second to none.
I would recomend this place to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StephenPhilpot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jouillat
7.0 mi away
Campanile Gueret
Campanile Gueret
#2 of 5 in Gueret
201 reviews
3.1 mi away
Le Moulin Noye
Le Moulin Noye
#1 of 1 in Glenic
32 reviews
10.7 mi away
Domaine de la Jarrige
Domaine de la Jarrige
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vaury
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
Maison Voliere
Maison Voliere
#1 of 6 in La Souterraine
119 reviews
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Verte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Verte

Property: La Maison Verte
Address: 2 Lombarteix | Jouillat, 23220 Jouillat, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Creuse > Jouillat
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jouillat
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
La Maison Verte France/Jouillat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing